Maca and Whole Foods Market Fun

Maca BallsAs most of you know, I’m a grocery store guru. I know a lot about what’s in the aisles of Whole Foods Market and the food we all should be eating to feel our absolute best.

But there is one section of WFM that I’m not as acquainted with… and that’s the Whole Body aisle. You know, the big section of probiotics, supplements, protein powders, body care products, and all that jazz. It’s not that I don’t want to learn about all of this stuff, it’s more so that it’s kinda intimidating. Straight up food I can handle- the things beyond food? That’s where I start to get a little overwhelmed. There’s just so much to learn and know! Luckily for people like me, there are team members who work specifically in Whole Body who I can talk to whenever I’m looking for something. They’ve always helped me in the past to find things like essential oils, chap stick, magnesium powder, and hair products made of all natural ingredients.

When the Whole Foods Market on P Street reached out to me about trying some of their Whole Body products that already curated and made for summer fun- I couldn’t say no! All of the WFM’s in this region (including the three I work at: Tenley, Friendship Heights, and Bethesda) are going to be offering these awesome bags of trial products for only $12 on Saturday, June 27 starting at 10am. We’re calling them, Ready for Action! bags and they’ll have everything from aloe to deodorant to energy boosters to super food blends to keep you safe, energized, and healthy this summer. They’re a $50 value… for only TWELVE dollars! Plus you get a cute little bag to boot.wpid-20150610_150237.jpgBecause the bags aren’t  available quite yet- not even to VIPs like me 😉 – the Whole Foods Market on P Street gave me a mix of the products from the bag and other things from Whole Body section that I might like to try out and report back to you all about what I think! Super awesome, right?bag stuffThe one product I was most excited to use was the Maca powder (not in the summer bags, but always available in the Whole Body aisle). I was literally just telling someone that day how I’ve never experimented with it, but that I wanted to. And then I got some at Whole Foods that day! The universe was clearly picking up what I was putting down.maca powderWhat is maca you ask? Just the latest superfood craze is all! Although, the Incas could’ve told you that hundreds of years ago. It’s a root in the cruciferous vegetable family (yep- its a cousin to broccoli) that has a earthy flavor to it. It tastes slightly nutty so its delicious when added to smoothies. It’s low in calories, but high in potential benefits. It supports a healthy immune system, fertility, well balanced hormones, and general energy levels. Aka all things I’m in need of help with.

I’ve seen maca added to “energy bites” or “snack balls” with other ingredients like nut butters, nuts, and dried fruit- so I tried my hand at creating my own version. I’m trying to reduce the amount of nuts I’m eating so I used coconut butter as the base of mine!

Here’s my recipe (makes 20 balls)

  • 1/2 cup raw maca powder
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao powder (could use cocoa or carob)
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 cup coconut butter (melted/softened)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tbs. honey
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • Dried, unsweetened coconut to roll the balls in

maca balls 5Directions:

  1. Mix together the dry ingredients (maca, cacao, sea salt, and cinnamon).
  2. Add the coconut butter, vanilla, and honey to a food processor- and add the dry ingredient mix on top.
  3. Pulse and blend together in the food processor until combined. If the mixture looks too crumbly- slowly add water to the mix. I added about 1/4 cup + 2 tbs. of water (I added it one tbs. at a time).
  4. Shape the mixture into small balls and roll a little bit in your palms. It’ll be pretty sticky and kinda messy.
  5. Roll the balls in dry ingredients to keep them from sticking to everything and for better storage. I used unsweetened coconut, but you could also use cacao powder or something like hemp hearts or chia seeds.
  6. Let them sit in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  7. Store in the fridge for up to a week (maybe even a little longer). You could also freeze them.
  8. Because coconut butter hardens at cooler temps, if you prefer these little balls of goodness to be soft, take them out of the fridge and let them sit for 10 minutes to come to room temperature. I personally love that they harden up- I like them cold!

maca balls 4maca balls 3maca balls 2I’ve been LO.ving. these as a mid-afternoon snack. I tend to ride my bike home (which can take anywhere between 30 minutes and an hour) so these are the perfect pre-bike ride home fuel. I’m not hangry when I get home and can make dinner in peace!

Moving forward… I’ll be popping in here and there this month to share how I used some of the other products- so stay tuned! And if you’re interested in the cool bags- remember- they go on sale June 27 at 10am. Get em’ while supplies last!

Again- BIG thanks to Whole Foods Market P Street for all of the amazing products. I’m loving the test run process!

Keep it wicked healthy.

Leave a Reply

