May Day 20: Need

wpid-20150520_075237.jpgPostin’ for yesterday (because I’m a slacker).

Today is rainy and chilly and gloomy.

Yesterday though- it was sunny and bright and perfect outside. I woke up a little tired, but the weather made me so happy and I instantly felt the need to have an acai bowl for breakfast.

I used to eat them more often for breakfast, but now that I’m trying my best to adhere to the aip as possible, they just don’t make sense for me to have. My breakfast these days is usually some sort of homemade breakfast sausage (mix ground turkey thigh with chopped dates and tarragon and s&p… so good) sauteed dark leafy greens with onion (kale, collards, or chard), and roasted sweet potatoes. Yum.

But yesterday, I wanted a big bowl of smooth, fruity goodness. Want isn’t a strong enough word- I needed it. 

So I blended up a frozen acai pack with a 1/2 a frozen banana, 1/2 tbl. collagen, 1/2 cup of coconut water, 2 tbl. of coconut milk, 1/2 cup pureed sweet potato, and 1/4 cup of frozen coconut meat- and I topped it with some shredded coconut and blueberries. I ate a couple of my breakfast sausages on the side for some protein.

Eating as many nutrient dense foods as I can on a regular basis is what gives me the freedom to cave into my craving needs when I want to and not feel guilty about it. I definitely couldn’t eat an acai bowl for breakfast every day nor would it be the healthiest thing for me right now, but it is the healthiest thing for me mentally when I’m reaaaaaally craving it and I let myself have it.

Keep it wicked healthy.

Leave a Reply

