April Picks

wpid-img_20150422_195311.jpgThat beauty up above is a Rhubarb Upside Down Cake courtesy of a recipe I found on Foraged Dish. It’s grain + gluten free and made with really simple ingredients. Including two of my faves: strawberries and rhubarb.

Tis the season.

This is what it looked like in the pan…wpid-20150422_162232.jpgAnd then when it was flipped out…wpid-20150422_173156.jpgVOILA!

Anyway- so about the month of April being almost over… yikes! Wowza. April- where’d ya go?! I haven’t listed my Picks for you yet!

Have no fear, Allison is here.

Grocery Store Find: The three different Whole Foods Market locations I work at are selling ZOODLES (and other vegetable noodles)! Have you seen them? Isn’t that cool?! I make my own with a julienne peeler- but for when you’re in a hurry and want to make a quick veggie noodle dish? These are so perfect! I was so proud of WFM when I saw an email announcing them.wpid-20150424_112437.jpgSnack Savior: I’m going old school with ants on a log! I had to buy celery for a soup I was making and needed a way to use the leftover stalks. Celery stalks + cashew butter + my favorite raisins from TJs. They are jumbo sized, juicy, and multi-colored! So fun.wpid-20150423_145954.jpgFoodie Freak Thing: this Living magazine has been inspiring me ever since I laid eyes on it at work. All of Martha’s magazines that feature food on the front just make me want to be in the kitchen. I look at this one on my coffee table every day and it makes me want to cook all the spring vegetables. I love it. Everything I’ve been making has had either asparagus, peas, or mushrooms in it.wpid-20150422_140529.jpgwpid-20150422_122619.jpgBook: 1,000 Food to Eat Before You Die by Mimi Sheraton. I already feel like my life’s goal is to eat all the things. This book just gives me some direction. But seriously, this index is wicked cool. It goes through different countries/areas/cultures in the world and names all the foods you should eat (and in some instances, where you should eat them). I still need to go through and see how many of them I’ve already eaten.

Look: If you don’t know, I love sleeveless shirts. For so many years of my life I was too embarrassed to show my arms and wore sweaters to cover them up. And now that my body and body image has changed a lot, I’m all for kicking body shaming in the butt and having my arms out all the time in the sunshine. I get hot really easily and sleeves annoy me (they’re always in the way). I recently got a couple of new sleeveless shirts and LOVE them.wpid-20150421_095740.jpgI also love these jogger pant-ish jean like things… I don’t really know what they are. They look like they’re jean material… but they’re soft and have a tie waist.wpid-20150421_095945.jpgI’M SUCH A FASHIONISTA, GUYS!

I also got these new sandals from Ahnu and am obsessed! They’re made for people who live an active lifestyle and that’s just perfect. I can’t buy sandals if I know they can’t take me walking serious miles in them.

Cookbook: Paleo Lunches and Breakfasts on the Go by Diana Rodgers. I picked up this little bad boy last week and I’m so glad. I tend to get in the habit of making my meals harder than they need to be (way too much cooking involved- too much putting together- too much time in the kitchen) and it takes a book like this to bring me back down to earth about how simple things can be. Protein, carb, fat, portability, deliciousness- that’s it. I’m so pumped to try out the tangy roast beef and beet wraps this week.wpid-20150422_090748.jpgwpid-20150422_091047.jpgAnticipated Meal: TONIGHT! I’ve been craving steak frites for over a month and I’m finally going to get some tonight at this new French bistro in Goergetown, Maxime.

DC Restaurant Adventure: Because Will and I had a vacation this month where we #ateallthethings, we haven’t gone out to a restaurant restaurant in DC. But we have stopped by some fast casual places. ShopHouse has been our latest obsession. We both had bad first experiences with ShopHouse a couple of years ago, but when we revisited recently, we were like omg this place is amazing. I’m also enamored by Beefsteak– Jose Andres’ new veggie-centric fast casual restaurant. There’s a second location opening up closer to where I live and I can’t wait!

Smart Choice: So I’ve been detoxing my liver (something I’d never thought I’d say). Your liver is one of the hardest working organs in your body. And this whole “detox” thing is one of my latest attempts to help cure issues I’m having like: (trouble digesting fats, itchy skin, weight gain in my mid-section, and acid reflux). Simple ways to help boost the health of your liver include: drinking lots of water with LOTS of lemon, eating lots of cooked crucifers (broccoli, cauliflower, kale, brussels, cabbage), and doing castor oil packs. It seems to really help my digestive system!

Next Best Thing to Water: Bone Broth! I’m sure you’ve ALL heard about bone broth at this point… and I’m one of those obnoxious people who will shout about it’s amazing health benefits to the world. I had a discount to Pete’s Paleo and used it to order some of there ready made bone broth. I made soup with it and it makes me happy knowing that I’m giving my body something its craving.

New Song: It’s not a new song to the world, but I can’t stop listening to Rollercoaster by Bleachers. That band, man. I started listening to some of their other music and really love it.

Old Tune: Don’t judge me. But I was listening to a nerdist podcast interview with Ben Gibbard and they started talking about Smash Mouth and their love/hate relationship with the band. All the talk of Smash Mouth had me wanting to listen to All Star and Walking on the Sun soooo bad! So that’s what I’ve been listening to a lot.

And Once in a Lifetime by the Talking Heads. That song man. It comes in and out of my life and hits me so hard. I love it.

Work Thing: I’m currently planning a little summer challenge for the beginning of June and it’s fun to do the planning work for it. It’s called Gimme 5! and it pushes participants to complete five goals every day for two weeks. The five goals are: drink 8 glasses of water, eat 5 servings of veggies, eat a solid breakfast, don’t consume any artificial or added sweeteners, and get in 30 minutes minimum of activity. June seems far away- but it’ll be here before you know it. Craziness.

Workout Thing: This past week I didn’t pay for the metro ONCE in all of my commutes to work! I either walked or rode my bike and it was so awesome! I love how nice the weather has been- it has made my life so much easier and happier. The three stores I work at are: 4 miles (walking or biking), 4.7 miles (walking primarily), and 9 miles (biking- I use the capital crescent trail).

Keep it wicked healthy.

2 thoughts on “April Picks

Leave a Reply

