What’s Cooking

fooood

What’s cooking? Not much. That’s what.

Well. That’s not entirely true.

So I ordered some meals to make my life a million times easier for the week I got back from Louisiana (I go with Power Supply- love those guys) and I accidentally set up a recurring order for the following week (whoops)- this past week- SO I had someone else making my lunches and some of my dinners these past two weeks. It was sort of a blessing in disguise though because I had a busy weekend and had too much the right amount of fun at a bottomless brunch (not just drinks, but unlimited brunch food) on Sunday so I wasn’t in the mindset to meal prep like I normally do.

Whenever this happens, I find myself craving my own home cooked meals. That’s where I’m at right now. The whole planning and prepping shebang (can I use that word?) is something I miss after a while. I’m SO excited to make dinner today (cah-ray-zee friday night plans, obviously!)

But I’ll talk about all those eats next week. What few things have I been cooking this week? Well…

Breakfast has been this smoked salmon and egg bake with roasted sweet potatoes on the side (that I usually lightly toss with some berries or all-fruit jam… or both). While the bake is good, I think I’ve decided that I don’t really like smoked salmon cooked or warmed all the way through. I like it straight out of the package. I think I’m going to make this egg bake again, but just top it with smoked salmon. And mashed avocado- like I did this week.egg bake(I broke my little egg bake square into MORE squares so that it could heat up faster)

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve made a couple of dinners. One was this epic B.L.A.T. Salad with TACO BACON (to which I added mini chopped and roasted sweet potatoes, roasted veggies, and hardboiled eggs). I also made this jerk shrimp with crispy plantain noodles recipe. My plantain noodles ended up getting a little too crispy and turning into more like plantain hashbrowns- but it was still good! I’d reduce the heat next time… because I’m a baby when it comes to hot foods.

I think I’ve actually cooked more at work lately then at home…. I made these skillet greens with cumin and tomatoes (perfect on a cold day) for a demo. I showed the kids in my cooking class how to make this chickpea curry with coconut rice, spring rolls with peanut sauce, and this chickpea pizza skillet. 

But my favorite thing I worked on this week was a “snack around the world” event. Kids could do crafts themed after activities from five different countries (India, Argentina, Brazil, Morrocco, and Thailand) and I made snacky food to represent all the different countries. It was wicked fun. Any yummy (obviously). It was $5 to participate and all of the proceeds went to the Whole Planet Foundation.MenufooooodnaaaaanIt was all pretty tasty if I do say so myself 😉

That’s what I’ve been firing out these days. Next week I’ll have a more solid round up for you all with lots of good recipes- I promise. Trust me, I’m just as excited as you are.

And it’s FRIDAY. WAHOO FRIDAY.

My plans involve… going to the gym, cooking lots, speaking at a women’s leadership summit at Georgetown on health + wellness, sleep (hopefully), watching Parenthood, celebrating my grandfather’s birthday (from afar) anddd…? Who knows. I’m game for anything at this point. Well not anything. You know what I mean.

Keep it wicked healthy.

5 thoughts on “What’s Cooking

  1. so two things…. 1. HOW COW that Power Supply thing sounds awesome, I just went to their site and that is kind of so freaking cool, what a great idea for you and your schedule, plus the meals look yummmmyyyy 2. that popcorn. I need a direct shipment of that please, you know my addiction to popcorn oh and a third because… if you are around easter weekend and feel like getting coffee let me know, I would LOVE to see your beautiful face

    • 1) Power Supply is goooood. Great food and the people behind it are even greater. 2) Search: toasted coconut curry popcorn deliciously ella- and you’ll find the recipe for that popcorn!!! 3) I am here Easter weekend and I’m working at the Friendship Heights store on that Saturday at 12:30pm if you want to meet before hand at like 11 to grab coffee and walk together- we totally can! 4) I STARTED WATCHING THE LEAGUE. I knew you’d be proud.

      • that actually sounds like it would work, I could totally head to that area around 1230, I will text you as it gets closer. I love that whole foods too so a nice treat (helps world market is right there too lol), i am very very happy to hear about the league, like so happy. Looking up this recipe now

  2. I didn’t cook at all this week either! I have been really busy at work and so when I get home, I just want to burrito or sandwich. As the weather warms up, I tend to get more creative in the kitchen. Even if it’s just a smoothie, I feel much more inspired all day if I take the time to cook something 🙂

Leave a Reply

