January First

P1040866

{Love my Whitney English Day Designer for 2015!}

Truth be told- I have approximately five drafts of posts sitting in my wordpress queue that I wrote before Christmas about the new year + resolutions + reflections on the past year. My blog should be chock full of 2014 // 2015 musings and expectations and goals at this point. Key word, should. So why are they not posted? WELL.wpid-img_20141231_070513.jpgI thought I’d want to post them while I was still home visiting my family for Christmas. I thought good for you Allison, getting this writing in before going home so that all you’ll have to do when you’re there is open up your posts and put them up online. Once I was actually home I found that I didn’t feel like being on my computer and relished in taking a break from the online world (besides instagram… because I mean, that’s my favorite). AND I found that my perspective on 2014 and the beginning of 2015 changed a little bit once I was home. My outlook on life always changes when I go home to Massachusetts. The posts I had written before Christmas didn’t sound as much like me as I wanted them to. I knew I had to write new, fresh posts- but, going back to point number one, I didn’t feel like being on my computer. Every minute on my computer was one minute not being spent with my family that I hardly ever get to see.wpid-img_20141225_095707.jpgwpid-img_20141225_092535.jpgSo. Here I am. On January first. Back in DC. Back to life here as I know it. But in a new year. Day one of 2015. Off from work today. Feeling anxious and excited at the same time about what the rest of this year has in store for me and all the things I want to do.P1040867I’ve told you guys before- I’m not really one for hard in fast, set in store new years resolutions. I’m constantly trying to better myself- not just on the first of the new year. I reflect on my progresses, successes, and failures all of the time. So it doesn’t make sense for me to make a big hoopla about specific new years resolutions.

BUT I am inspired right now by everyone else wanting to positively change their life in some way and its impossible for me not to put some expectations on my life in 2015. Resolutions come with the connotation that they’re not actually going to be carried out. Instead of resolutions, I’m into setting goals for myself- missions for myself- an overarching common theme for myself. I want to look at things that I’m most definitely going to accomplish and the mindset that I want to be in as I do them.

The number one facet of 2015 for me is going to be: moving back to Massachusetts.  In the latter half of 2015, I will move back to Massachusetts. I don’t know how, exactly when, what the process will look like, where I’ll be working, or where I’ll be living. But I know its time to be back home. I can no longer handle the amount I miss living there and being close to my family- I gotta be there. Every trip home and moment with my family in the past couple of years has just further reinforced these feelings. Will is on board and we’re working on making it happen some how. wpid-img_20141226_154323.jpgThat being said, with the knowledge that I’m going to be leaving DC sometime after summer, I feel that much more determined to make the most out of my time here. Massachusetts may have my heart, but DC has been home to me for a long time now and I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t love it too. Or that there were things here that I won’t miss a crap ton. I just want to soak up everything I possibly can and say yes to as many opportunities that come my way in the nation’s capital before I go. For example- I contemplated not running the cherry blossom 10-miler this year but then when I got in through the lottery, I was like, how could I naht run this? Cherry blossoms are quintessential DC.

Not only do I want yes to opportunities in DC while I’m here in 2015, but in general, I want to say yes more. I’m a realist and I usually approach new ideas and concepts as such- I see the limitations and the negatives. In 2015 I want to say yes more and not immediately assume that whatever it is will fail, be stupid, or be terrible.

I also want to continue to take care of my body. Being a healthy human being is still something fairly new to me. I mean, I lost all of my weight in 2012 but it took all of 2013 and most of 2014 to balance out my thoughts about my body and what I’m eating. Hell- a healthy lifestyle is exactly that- a lifestyle. It’s something that I’m always working on. I’m always a work in progress. I want to continue to make my health and well being a priority in 2015. Moving back to Massachusetts will be a HUGE change for me (location + job + home), but through it I want to maintain my mental and physical health.

In terms of mental health, I think I’m going to start seeing a counselor again. Not because I’m in a bad place or anything, but because I think I really benefit from talking to someone about my life. I thrive on having an outside person from my life helping me to talk through whatever it is that’s going on with me. It’s a release that I really like to have.

For physical health (outside of working out), I really need to find a podiatrist and have my feet looked at. My plantar fasciitis has subsided a lot in my left foot, but from years of running in the wrong shoes, walking in cheap shoes, and my supination- my feet definitely need some extra attention. I also need to find a dentist. I finally have dental insurance! SO if any of you have any doc recommendations in the area- please let me know.

I also am going to continue to make getting my hormones balanced (through food and lifestyle changes) and take seriously how much sleep I’m getting.

For physical health in regard to working out-  I don’t think I have to make resolutions to workout regularly or to be active (I want to do those things and they’re such a big part of my life now). But I will be running a little bit more after January in order to get ready for the Cherry Blossom 10-miler.

When it comes to cooking, I don’t need to make resolutions to cook a lot, try new recipes, meal plan/prep, and generally eat well (again, I want to do those things anyway). But I will say, after an indulgent holiday (that I don’t feel guilty about at all), I’m ready to get back to giving my body more of what it needs and less of what I want (i.e. all of the desserts). I know I have a slight addiction to sugar and I was only feeding the sugar beast inside from Thanksgiving through Christmas. My stomach was doing awesome right before the holidays and I want to get back to that being my normal. wpid-img_20141225_183147.jpgSO I decided last night that starting January 2nd, I’m committing to the Whole 30 program. No sugar- no alcohol for 30 days. No grains or dairy or legumes (things I already don’t eat anyway). I’m giving my body a chance to re-calibrate and for my belly to feel better after putting it through the ringer for the past couple of months. {If you want to read more about Whole 30- check out their website}. I meal prepped and planned a little bit today. I made zucchini pancakes for lunch this week that I’ll top with mashed avocado and smoked salmon- with a side of a couple of dried strawberries and figs.P1040868Also, kind of like last year, I want to spend 2015 trying to embrace myself more- to love myself more- to appreciate myself more- to allow myself to be happy and love life more. I take things so seriously and live a pretty regimented life. I want to feel like its okay to be free and happy and like someone that deserves to be loved. And I want to love me unconditionally- I don’t want that love to be tied to how much I ran that day or what size my pants are (cliche, I know, but it’s true). I want to like me for me (writing that made me sing that song Hey Leonardo by Blessid Union of Souls… she likes me for me- not because I’m tough like Dirty Hairy- make her laugh just like Jim Carrey, unlike the Cable Guy).wpid-img_20141231_082427.jpgLastly, I want to do a better job at staying connected. I think this is something I strive for every year. The relationships in my life are the most important thing to me and I want to make sure those people know that. Whether its making more phone dates with my sisters or writing cards to friends or emailing family members- I just want to do more to stay in touch.

Okay. Cliff notes.

In 2015 I will move back to Boston and take Will with me. I will say yes more and not take living in DC for granted while I’m still here. I’m going to give equal attention to calibrating my mental health and physical health. I will find a counselor, work on rebalancing my hormones, and make sleep a priority. I will find the right doctors to make sure my feet and teeth are feeling and looking their best. I will continue to work out and in February, train for the Cherry Blossom 10-miler. Starting tomorrow, I will commit to the Whole 30 program and get my eating + stomach issues back on track. I will appreciate all of these things that I’m doing for myself and use them as reminders for how much I’m trying to be the best me possible. I will try to forgive myself more and not judge myself so hard for all of the choices I make. I will try to trust myself and love myself. I will stay better connected to the people I love and make sure they all know just how much they mean to me.wpid-img_20141229_143237.jpgIn 2015 I’m going to keep doing my best.

2015 is going to be my best year yet. I’m sure of it.

HAPPY New Year, everyone!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

8 thoughts on “January First

  1. Happy New Year best friend!! Love reading about your 2015 plans, they inspire my plans 🙂 can’t wait to see what the year has in store for both of us!!

  2. Upon reading you resolutions/goals/ideas… I am going to attempt a Whole 30. I don’t know if I am more said about bread or booze.

    Also – are you making Will do it? I feel like the hardest part will be my roommates eating things I want!

    • I’m definitely the saddest about booze and all forms of sugar. Wah.

      Will and I usually eat different things for breakfast and lunch- so he does whatever he wants there. But by default he’s doing Whole 30 for dinner because that’s how I cook haha. Healthy by association.

  3. The Dental Bug team in DC is great! They take most insurances & they have multiple dentists, so I’ve never had to wait too long for an appointment. They also have 2 downtown locations.
    Happy 2015!

  4. Your meal prep has me so motivated/intrigued but I have zero idea where to start. I’d love to have yummy dinners prepared for the week – those zucchini pancakes look delicious. Any resources/recipes to help put me on the right track? Thanks lady!

Leave a Reply

