NFL Sunday Supper: Buffalo

P1040610

Who’s at the top of the AFC East? YOU KNOW IT! Thanks for yet another win, Buffalo. The Patriots usually can rely on the Bills for a check in our win column. Brady’s record against Buffalo is 23-2. I’m sorry, WHAT. Dude is a machine.

But the game itself is neither here nor there- this post is really all about the food. And if you even have to ask what food Buffalo is know for… I mean… I don’t think we can be friends. Now, I’m sure there is more to Buffalo than their delicious wings and hot/buttery flavor (and from a little research, I did discover some other regional cuisine that I didn’t know about), but because the Pats play the Bills again later in the season, I felt like it would be only fitting to incorporate something “buffalo flavored” for our first match up. You know, get it all out of my system.

Buffalo (the sauce/flavor) happens to be one of my favorites. I used to put franks hot sauce on everything. Back in my bar-style pizza eating days (definitely a south shore massachusetts delicacy), I could house a buffalo chicken pizza (slices dunked in blue cheese, obviously) like no other. My uncle Steve (who actually just celebrated a birthday- HAPPY BIRTHDAY!) makes killer homemade buffalo wings. They were some of the first I discovered and that led me to the realization that anything buffalo is off the hook.

In my kitchen post-college days, I’ve cooked up a bunch of delicious buffalo things. Buffalo chicken burgersbuffalo chicken salad using tessamae’s wing saucebuffalo turkey burgers– and of course buffalo chicken pizza. All of which make great game day food. But I knew I wanted to make something new for my NFL Sunday Supper concoction.

I decided to make buffalo buffalo burgers. No, that extra buffalo isn’t a typo. I wanted to make buffalo flavored burgers made with buffalo meat. If you’ve never tried bison meat, it’s delicious. Most Whole Foods sell a grass-fed version of it and its delicious. I don’t buy it on a weekly basis because it’s more expensive than other grass-fed meats, but on occasion, I splurge. And what better reason to splurge than for my blog 😉

I also went all out and made a healthier bun for these burgers. Usually I just eat my burgers sans bun and atop a bunch of veggies + sweet potato fries. For this game day grub- I wanted something I could pick up with both hands and chomp into. You can use whatever you want as a bun- I made Diane’s sweet potato pancakes. I used her recipe and made eight small pancakes (to use as buns for four burgers). I left out the cinnamon and ginger as I was using them for something savory.P1040604P1040605

And just as a significant side note, I used frank’s hot sauce because someone I know from there once told me that that was the LEGIT stuff to use for anything claiming to be “buffalo” flavored. From what I read online, the original hot sauce is usually combined with butter to get the signature buffalo taste. I gotta go with the experts on this one.

I actually hunted this bottle of frank’s down. We don’t sell it at Whole Foods and I had to go into Safeway *shudder.* It was the only one left on the shelf. SCORE.IMG_20141012_164306[1]

Buffalo Buffalo Burgers on Sweet Potato Pancake Buns

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. grass-fed buffalo meat
  • 1/4 cup minced yellow onion
  • 1 T. minced jalapeno
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 T. grass-fed butter, softened and separated
  • 2 T. Franks Hot Sauce (or your choice of hot sauce) + more for drizzling
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder

Directions:

Combine 1 T. of the softened butter and franks hot sauce till mixed together well. Mix together (without over mixing) all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Form into four patties. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add in the other tablespoon of butter. Once melted and sizzling, add the four patties to the pan and cook for 4-5 minutes per side (or until cooked through to your liking).P1040607PS- please excuse the terrible lighting in these photos… it was dark and gross outside when I was trying to cook/take pictures in my florescent lighted kitchen.P1040608P1040611Note: If the mixture appears to be too wet, add in a tablespoon or two of almond flour or cashew flour. I actually planned on adding a one of cashew flour + 1 T. of nutritional yeast (for a cheesy flavor) but in the chaos of my kitchen last night- totally forgot. I can’t vouch for this working because I didn’t try it myself- but I think it would work okay.

Serve each burger sandwiched between a sweet potato pancake and drizzled with some extra hot sauce. And with a big side of roasted vegetables- of course.P1040613P1040614P1040615P1040616P1040617I didn’t take a picture of me holding the burger- but should have because the pancakes worked just as well as regular old bread buns. They totally held up!

{I’ve blogged about bison before if you want to check out some of my older posts here and here}

Now go put some buffalo in your buffalo and eat up.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

2 thoughts on “NFL Sunday Supper: Buffalo

Leave a Reply

