NFL Sunday Supper

P1040546

Reasons why this morning was atrocious:

  1. I woke up and realized the terrible Patriots game wasn’t just a horrible nightmare- it actually happened. Like… Tom Brady got benched.
  2. My morning (outdoor) workout was accompanied by humidity and fogginess and dampness. FALL where are youuu?!
  3. Single tracking on the metro’s red line. Ughhhh. Remind me why I try and use public transportation again?

Reasons why all hope is not lost in today:

  1. I still managed to get to work on time despite metro delays.
  2. Work is going to fly by because I have so much to do- all of which I want to do and most of which is totally fun (I’m teaching a cooking class tomorrow, yes!)
  3. Dinner will be made easy by leftovers from last night.

Those leftovers bring me to a new series I’ll be doing here on the blog! I’m dubbing it NFL Sunday Suppers. {Even though last night was Monday. Monday Night Football kind of got in the way of my idea. It’s fine.}

Anyway… the premise of this series is: every Sunday, I’m going to make a meal that is reflective of whatever team the Patriots are playing that week. I figure I’ll be able to learn more about food culture across the U.S. this way and perhaps try my hand at some dishes/regional delicacies that I might not otherwise make. I also will hopefully be able to healthify some popular game day food for people along the way. Win win win.

This week, the Patriots lost miserably to faced the Kansas City Chiefs. If you had asked me a couple of days ago what kind of food Kansas City was known for… I would have had NO CLUE. When I presented the conundrum to Will thinking he’d be just as dumbfounded as me, he immediately retorted- barbecue. They’re known for barbecue.

Huh, you don’t say! Shows how much I know… To be fair, he is from the midwest. Kansas City might as well be a foreign country to me.

The more I read up on all this, I learned that Kansas City isn’t just known for barbecue… they’re THE barbecue capital in the country. I feel like I should have known this. Where have I been {on the east coast in ignorant bliss}.

I’m actually a big fan of bbq so I was totally game for this. When trying to figure out the defining flavors of Kansas City bbq, I concluded three things: it’s smoky, tangy, and sweet. The sauce is has a base of tomato and molasses- giving it the tangy and sweet flavors. And the sauce is usually slathered on smoked meats- giving it the smoky flavor.

I wanted to make a supper that was a good compromise between a game day feast and a health minded meal SO I decided to make a bbq sauce to toss with slow cooked shredded/pulled chicken. I would then pile the bbq chicken on top of a baked sweet potato. Because I wouldn’t be using the sauce on a smoked meat, I knew I could add liquid smoke to the sauce to give it that crucial flavor component.P1040518

I figured that would be a good compromise between a game day feast and a health minded meal.

Homemade Kansas City BBQ Sauce

adapted from Gina’s recipe || yields: a little over 2 cups of sauce

  • 1 14-oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tsp all natural liquid smoke (I used Colgin brand)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp chili powder

P1040517

Directions

In a large saucepan combine all the ingredients and simmer over low heat for 25 minutes stirring occasionally. Let it cool and store in the refrigerator until ready to use.P1040520Meanwhile, I crockpotted a pound of chicken thighs on high for four hours with salt/pepper and just enough chicken broth to cover them. Once they were done, I removed them from the crockpot with a slotted spoon and used two forks to shred the thighs.P1040516I divided the shredded chicken into four portions…P1040531And then tossed each with 2 tbl. of sauce.P1040533I stuffed a pulled open baked sweet potato with one of the portions + extra bbq sauce. DONE.P1040542P1040543P1040544P1040545P1040547Oh, there was a side of roasted broccoli too. Because you know… vegetables.P1040549Last night’s game ended up being terrible.

But what’s naht terrible is some good Kansas City bbq.

Also… in addition to learning that Kansas City is known for bbq… I realized last night that Chiefs fans do the SAME tomahawk chop that the Atlanta Braves fans do- what is up with that!? So weird. I really hate it. Mainly because we rightfully lost to KC last night (they looked so good and we looked awful) and it just gave me something to hate on them for. So many offensive/strange things in major league sports. Do any other teams do the tomahawk chop? Please tell me no. Two is enough.

Hopefully the Patriots can get their act together this upcoming Sunday. We’re playing the Cincinnati Bengals and I’m already brainstorming how to make their infamous “skyline chili” edible in a way that I’ll want to eat it.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

One thought on “NFL Sunday Supper

  1. Pingback: October Picks | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

