Morning Moment

IMG_20140914_092326[1]

On Sunday, I took a walk by myself after eating breakfast. I can’t even believe the weather we’ve been having here in DC. It’s my all time favorite. It’s cool, it’s comfortable, and it’s the beginning of the transition to fall (the greatest season).

Lately I haven’t been in the best place mentally, but its been the moments I’ve spent outside- just me, the weather, and my thoughts- that have reminded me of how good life can be and how lucky I am to be alive (despite feeling frustrated/annoyed/angry/stuck etc). It sounds cheesey and stupid but these moments have made all the difference for me in the past week. I’ve forgone multiple morning workouts just to have the time to walk the hour and a half to work instead so that I can soak up the weather. Because you know- if the rest of 2014 is anything like how the year has been, winter will be here in the blink of an eye.P1040502

Anyway. When I was walking on Sunday, the only thing I had on me was my phone. I wasn’t listening to anything in my headphones and I wasn’t reading anything on the screen. I just had my phone in my hand. At one point I looked down at it to check the time and I realized I had  forgotten to put the screen on lock, thus accidentally opening my google drive app and some document I had written in November of last year. I barely even recognized the document and was sort of like, wait what is this when I saw it.

It was a document that I had planned on saving quotes that I found and liked to- but had only managed to put one in there (never to have updated it again).

As I was feeling really grateful and at peace with the world, I found this quote staring back at me and it was a perfect moment. One that I couldn’t have scripted better myself:

I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual. It is surprising how contented one can be with nothing definite- only a sense of existence.

Henry David Thoreau

Sometimes its crazy just how true that is.P1040501Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

3 thoughts on “Morning Moment

Leave a Reply

