Always Eat Comfort Food

P1040472

{the picture above is cod topped with The Paleo Kitchen’s plantain guacamole (amazing!) with a side of plantains sauteed in coconut oil with cumin, salt, pepper, and smoked paprika, and steamed green beans}

In the common lexicon, the term “comfort food” might as well be synonymous with unhealthy. Sure, maybe sometimes its referring to a hearty bowl of healthy soup on a cold blustery day, but for the most part, I feel like there is always a heavy, cheesy, bready or chocolately element to anything referred to as “comfort food.”

I have a problem with this. I have a problem with this because I feel like ALL of my food is comfort food- and none of it fits into that traditional definition of the phrase. My food might be pretty dang healthy most of the time, but it’s also almost always total comfort food to me. If the food I’m eating isn’t soul satisfying in some way… I almost feel like, why bother? As someone who absolutely loves food, it’s important to me to make as much of my food as possible be something that comforts me, is craveable, and that stirs up an emotional reaction.

For years I tried to sever the intense connection I have with food- denied that it existed and fought to prove that I could live without one of my greatest loves. I tried to adopt the philosophy, food is fuel and that’s it. 

Boy did all of that backfire.

Yes, food is fuel. And it matters what you’re putting into your body. And I really care about what I’m feeding myself from a nutritional standpoint. BUT food is so much more than that- and thank GAHD. Food is fuel, yes, but food is also love.

It’s for this reason that I put extra effort into all of my meals. It’s a lot of work, but its worth it to me. On days where I’m overwhelmed and stressed (which is like 24/7 these days), that extra effort feels really tiresome and I sometimes wish that I could be one of those people that didn’t care as much about what they eat. But deep down I know, I’m really really happy that I’m not one of those people.

Food is something that we all need to survive. It’s critical to our lives. Why would you not take advantage of something you have to do and make it as enjoyable as possible if you have the time? That’s just a missed opportunity!

And when you start to eat well, you find ways to turn the foods you eat into something you really want to eat all the time.

Comfort for me is a big bowl of food that I can cradle between my hands.

P1040483

pumpkin and mashed banana scrambled with two eggs and sauteed in coconut oil and with cinnamon on the stove. topped with homemade plum rose jam, walnuts, and blueberries.

Comfort for me is a warm meal that my eyes see as hearty and my stomach feels as satisfying.

IMG_20140906_120725[1]

shredded chicken + homemade tangy bbq sauce over roasted sweet potatoes- topped with avocado and served with a side of roasted broccoli and cauliflower.

Comfort for me are flavors that remind me of a time that I’m nostalgic for.

IMG_20140903_144930[1]

this is a big bunch of carrot ribbons that I sauteed in garlic and then tossed with a homemade pistachio pesto and roasted chicken.

Comfort for me is food that reminds me of a place- a time- a moment.

IMG_20140903_084600[1]

zucchini and dill pancakes topped with mashed avocado, smoked salmon, and everything bagel spice.

Comfort is bites that feel sinful but are totally guiltless.

IMG_20140903_132014[1]

plantains roasted in coconut oil with cinnamon.

All my food is comfort food. Or at least I try to make it that way. And wouldn’t dare to change a thing about that fact.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “Always Eat Comfort Food

  1. I bough the paleo kitchen and can’t wait to try some recipes. My only concern is some recipes seem to have a very high fat content.

Leave a Reply

