California Bound

IMG_20140731_153619[1]

I’m always excited at the start of a new month (HELLO AUGUST!) but I’m even more excited than usual for the beginning of this one because for so long August = California vacation time. AND NOW that time is finally here! I fly out to the west coast tomorrow!

This week has been a long one and I got through it thanks to implementing the successes that I had last week (mainly: meal planning + ignoring fear and just going for things).

On Sunday I made my breakfasts and lunches for the entire week- and I prepped things to make dinner wicked easy. Thanks to my new tupperware containers, I was able to pull together some great breakfasts. The star breakfast of the week was some simple scrambled eggs and frozen peas + bacon + sauteed plantains + almond butter + raspberries. Some mornings my breakfasts were eaten on the run- others at home- either way- it was nice to grab them out of the fridge in the morning and not have to think twice.Breakfast

Same goes for lunch! This thai coconut cucumber salad (that I added shrimp to instead of tofu) was da best. Cool, crunchy, light, refreshing, summery, bright.IMG_20140731_123222[1]

And dinners were either eaten at work, on the run somewhere, or at home- so I was all about keeping those simple. There were a couple of chicken + bacon + guacamole salads. Unattractive picture- delicious meal.

Dinner Salad

And then I made a dinner with a short ingredient list last night. Turbot with Mushrooms, Ginger, and Soy Broth (I used Tamari). Totally adding this meal to my regular dinner rotation though- so tasty and easy.P1040394

At work, I taught my first ever BIG class. A local group of triathletes who work out together came into the store for a “breakfast on the go” class. When they reached out to me to host the class- I was SO excited! Breakfast on the go? That’s my life! I tried my hardest to give them all my tips and tricks for eating quickly and well on the go in the morning. I gave out recommendations for things to eat pre-morning workout and post-morning workout + plenty of recipes.Breakfast on the Go

I was unbelievably nervous. I kept telling myself- get it together Allison! You know what you’re talking about- this is what you live and do every single day. No need to worry.Breakfast on the Go 2

I got out there and did it and it was a success and I was so happy to help a bunch of people with their breakfast needs. Breakfast is important, man. I’m not messing around.

And now… not much stands between me and LA!

Before getting to the rest of this post,  click to open up this song and listen while you finish reading.

Yeah that’s right Laguna Beach theme song. THROWBACK.

ANYWAY. Work is pretty much finished. Final workout done.IMG_20140801_074649[1]Final things in the kitchen cooked until I come back.IMG_20140801_074602[1]

Things planned- but not yet packed- that’s happening later.

All there is to do is to make an epic California playlist to pack to tonight! Until take off- it’s all Red Hot Chili Peppers, Eagles, Beach Boys, Dre, Snoop, and Sheryl Crow. I think Hoobastank is from LA… but they’re naht getting on the playlist.

I’m taking any other recommendations you may have.

How else do you prepare to go to a place that might as well be a foreign country to you? I’m such an east coaster and I can’t wait to see how I take the other side of the country. My knowledge of California was picked up through watching shows like, the Real Housewives, The Hills, Laguna Beach, Keeping Up With The Kardashians… so basically I know NOTHING USEFUL.

Despite my ignorance for what this place is all about- I’m flying over to the land of the rich, famous, and beautiful. All I know is that I’m BEYOND EXCITED for a real vacation with Will. I can’t wait to put my feet in the Pacific Ocean. And I can’t wait to let loose a little bit and just relax. GAH.

Let’s do it.

IMG_20140801_090940[1]

Until I’m back where I belong-

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “California Bound

  1. You and I have to talk some time via cell phones. Polly Motzko here from the blog CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com.
    I grew up in southern CA….over 30 years lived there & can be your tour guide ha ha in future trips!
    I recently moved to Las Vegas, NV and love it in spite of the heat..mucho cheaper!

    What is your name?
    Love your use of the word “wicked”….
    I shared these recipes on my blog.

    Have a fun trip. I am going back for a few days myself soon. Hope to rent a car and go with a friend of mine.

    Polly Motzko

  2. Are you just going to SoCal?? Welcome to the best coast West Coast m’dear!!! Have an amazing time! If you make it to San Francisco I have some great foodie recommendations, for LA the only thing I can think of is that in Santa Monica, on Third Street Promenade, they have a great farmer’s market a few times a week. I know Saturday for sure, but my mom hasn’t lived there for a few years so the days may have changed.
    Safe travels and FUN travels!

    • Yeah I’m staying in Santa Monica and sticking around LA. Thank you for all of your well wishes! I totally thought of you when I was planning my trip but knew you didn’t live in LA so I didn’t bother to ask for recommendations. Hope you’re recovering well from your surgery- I’ll be thinking of ya!

Leave a Reply

