Homey

P1040386

I absolutely hate the title of this post. I’m putting it out there right now. But after a legit twenty minute search online for synonyms and nearly half a day’s worth of pondering- it’s the best I can come up with to explain what I’m talking about in this post.

Let me delay the writing of the actual post some more by first outlining what I’m not talking about when I use the word “homey.” Homies. As in rolling with the homies.

MAJOR SIDE TRACK but the Clueless reference reminded me- have you guys seen the music video for Iggy Azalea’s Fancy?! I love that it’s a Clueless parody! It took me a minute of watching it to be like… wait what- why does this look so familiar… OH YEAH!

Okay okay okay. We can watch Clueless later. We have a post to get to right now.

SO I’m not talking about homies. But if you want to share my blog with YOUR homies- I wouldn’t hate it 😉

I’m talking about homey as in- something that feels homelike. Something that is a little nostalgic- something that takes you back to your youth- something that is so eerily familiar that it makes you feel like you hopped in a time machine and landed somewhere in your childhood- something that without fail, makes you miss your family- something that is comfortable- something that wraps you in a gigantic emotional hug.

Hopefully you know the feeling I’m getting at. Otherwise I sound like a crazy person.

I have a recipe to share with you guys today. It’s for a recipe that gives me that homey feeling. Tomorrow I’m going to give you another recipe- but that one will be sort of the opposite of homey for me (you’ll see what I mean tomorrow- be patient!)

Homemade Mayo (used to make Homemade Tartar Sauce).P1040378

Mayo is the ultimate “homey” condiment to me. It was a favorite of mine growing up in anything from BLT sandwiches to tuna salad with elbow macaroni. It was used a lot by my family and consumed by yours truly as much as possible. I loved the stuff. And honestly, I still do. But the traditional jarred stuff doesn’t jive with my healthier eating habits.

With such a strong love of mayonnaise- it’s no wonder I also grew to love tartar sauce. Pair a love of mayo with another, deeper love for seafood? You’ve got a tartar sauce fanatic in the making right there!

Simple grilled or fried white fish will always remind me of home. A basket of fried clams will always make me think of my Mom (and more specifically, going to the beach with her and sharing a plate of fried clams and fries together). Tartar sauce will always remind me of filet-o-fishes from McDonalds (which I ate on a regular basis growing up and into adulthood- I was obsessed). My Mom also loved filet-o-fishes… making them feel that much more of a comfort food.

Whatever way you want to spin it- seafood reminds me of home- creamy mayo based sauces remind me of home- the two together gives me that homey feeling and takes me back to a summer in Massachusetts.

It being summer and all around here… I’ve been jonesing for some good fish and chips. But I didn’t want to go out somewhere and get some that would leave me feeling like crap- so I set out to make my own at home.

For the first time ever- I made my own mayonnaise following this recipe. It blew my mind. So easy. I couldn’t even believe it. How have I NOT been doing this for years? Gah.

I used avocado oil instead of light tasting olive oil (just what I had)- hence the slightly green hue you might see in the final product above.P1040377

And then I turned half of it into tartar sauce by mixing 1/2 cup of the mayo with:

  • 1/4 cup chopped sweet pickles
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbl. fresh chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. dried dill
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • Shake or two of salt

P1040382P1040383

But what’s a tartar sauce without FISH?

All you gotta do is get your hands on some filets of white fish (cod, tilapia, turbot, etc. whatever you prefer or is cheapest). And per about 1 lb. of fish you’ll need…

  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup flaxmeal
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. dried parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 egg
  • Olive oil, butter, or simple olive oil cooking spray for “frying”

You’ll mix the first five dry ingredients on a shallow plate and in a separate shallow bowl, wish the egg. After rinsing off the fish and patting it dry (make sure its really dry so that the egg sticks to it better), you’re going to dip the fish in the egg (both sides) and then dip it into the dry mix (both sides). You’ll place each filet of fish into a pan over medium heat using your choice of olive oil, butter, or cooking spray. Relatively thin pieces of fish will take about three minutes to cook per side.P1040385P1040384

I was inspired by this filet-o-fish-and-fries burger to serve the fish alongside some baked, thin cut, yukon gold potatoes, and topped with the homemade tartar sauce.P1040387

Home on a plate!

SUMMER on a plate!P1040388

And obviously there was extra tartar sauce on the side for dipping. If you’re one of those people who thinks dipping fries into anything resembling mayo is gross… I’m reconsidering our friendship. Get outta here. It’s delicious.

Now if only I were at the beach.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

7 thoughts on “Homey

  1. I have never been a fan of mayo or tartar sauce, but I just wanted to tell you that right away when I saw the title of your post I knew exactly what you meant by “homey!” I love things that make me feel that way ❤

  2. Pingback: Alli Baba | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: Summer Favorites | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: Eating Gold | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

