Mental Break Day

post2

We all have days where we feel like we really need a mental break. Where we just need to call off all of our previously made plans for the day for the sake of our mental health. And if we’re lucky enough, we have a job or we’re in a situation where we can afford to do that every once and a while.

This Monday was one of those days for me.

I’m not going to get into everything that facilitated the need for a mental break day but um yeah… life was way too much to handle this past weekend.

On my mental break days- I do the most simple, basic things imaginable. Me being me, I still make a little to do list. But instead of errands and tasks and responsibilities- the list is comprised of fun things.

It’s time I didn’t think I would have so instead of feeling the need to be “productive,” I just feel the need to do the things I do every once in a while that are relaxing and enjoyable to me- all in one epic day.

Sleeping. Until whenever my body chooses to wake up.

Proceeding to lay in bed awake scrolling through instagram and reading articles on my phone until my bladder forces me to get up.

Taking two hours to make myself breakfast, eat said breakfast, read, and drink coffee.post4

Finding when the most recent episode of Keeping Up With the Kardashians will be replaying and watch it.

Painting my nails a pretty color.

Making pesto.post3

Running without any music or sound.

Thumbing through recipe books (mainly this one and this one)

Writing messages to friends.

Eating leftovers while watching What Not to Wear.post1

Walking 20-minutes just to buy Barefoot Bucha on tap (Whole Foods, P Street whaddup!)

Sitting in the sun for no reason but to just get sun.

Stretching while watching the Real Housewives of New York.

When I really need to rewind and remember to take care of myself- these are the kind of mindless, enjoyable things that I do.

Recharging every so often is good. Wiping out the brain of any negativity with mindless activities is good. Being kind to yourself is good.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

Leave a Reply

