The New Beachside

calamari

{Note: this post was written yesterday on my phone during my lunch break. I thought I had posted it- but apparently- due to a combination of technology failure and me being a total n00b- I totally didn’t post it. obviously. SO do your best to transport yourself to lunch time yesterday as you read the following post}

In an ideal world, on a gorgeous day like today, I would be at the beach. Soaking in the sun. Eating fried seafood for lunch. Drinking a Marylous iced coffee. Getting wicked tan.

But here in the real world, I’m working today.

I love my job so its not really a force to be here or anything- but it would be amazingly nice to spend the day outside in this beautiful weather after a string of hot, humid, and rainy days.

Instead of lamenting the day that could have been- I’m finding the positives in the day that is happening. I’m writing to you on my lunch break while sitting outside and eating some delicious dinner leftovers from last night.

It’s a calamari dish that I pulled together all on my own– with no recipe to follow! I was nervous about it- I had never cooked calamari before. I was afraid it would get all rubbery and my dinner would be a total flop. Man was I wrong. My inner New Englander came out in a big way and I mastered this bad boy.

I used to think calamari had to be battered and fried. Wrong. This fresh approach is totally killer. I hope all the calamari experts out there appreciate my homage to the Rhode Island style with the pepperocini.

Feel free to leave out the broccoli or toss in your choice of vegetable (or none at all- though- I will judge you if you don’t at least throw some spinach in this or something).

Garlic + olive oil + seafood… how could you lose?

Pan Seared Calamari Pasta

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets and steamed or cooked to your liking (I steamed mine right before making the dish and set aside)
  • 8 oz. brown rice spaghetti (or your choice of pasta)
  • 1 lb. calamari, tubes cut into 1/4 inch rings and any large tentacles halved (I used a package of frozen calamari that I purchased at Whole Foods and defrosted)
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup pepperocini, sliced
  • 1 16-oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup parsley, chopped
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Prep water for boiling. Cook pasta according to package instructions. When draining, save some of the pasta water.
  2. While the water is boiling and pasta cooking, heat 2 T. of olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add minced garlic and chopped onion. Stir to coat and cook for five minutes (or until onions are soft).
  3. Add in the pepperocini and cook for 2-3 more minutes.
  4. Add in the calamari and toss to coat. Cook for another 2-3 minutes.
  5. Turn the heat to high and add in the diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, parsley, salt, and pepper. Stir well.
  6. Bring to a boil and cook for five minutes before reducing the heat to medium low. Simmer until the sauce has reduced to your liking.
  7. Toss the sauce and calamari mixture with the steamed broccoli and cooked pasta.
  8. Divide into four portions and serve!

I might not be seaside eating fried clams- but sitting here eating these leftovers (which couldn’t remind me more of home) in the warm sun- well- it’s just about the next best thing. It’s like I can see the ocean in front of me and feel the sand beneath my toes.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

3 thoughts on “The New Beachside

  1. Pingback: Summer Favorites | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

