New Sneaks For New Adventures

P1040151

A couple of weeks ago I looked down at my sneakers and thought that I saw a piece of black fuzz on them. I keep my running shoes near my closet so it was a logical thought. I bent over to pick it off and discovered that it wasn’t fleece or fuzz- but it was a big hole in the side of my sneaker.P1040148

Wut.

I had no idea when or how it happened… but I was annoyed and upset. When I looked at the other sneaker, I noticed there was a hole in the same exact place! Apparently my toes just rubbed through the material? Gah. Sigh. How I did not notice this sooner- I have no clue.P1040147

I continued to workout in them for a week after discovering the holes (not smart but I couldn’t afford new ones just yet and didn’t have time to hit up a store for some better ones) and ran my last ever race in them (the Susan G. Komen 5k Race for the Cure). I only had my Asics for five months- but man have they seen a lot of action in the form of miles. I gotta give them credit for carrying me through my first half marathon.P1040149

While I wasn’t expecting to say goodbye to my second pair of sneakers since becoming a “runner” so soon and I wasn’t too excited about spending money on new sneakers- I have to say, I’m quite fond of the new friends I acquired. I went back to Brooks because they were the brand of my first sneaks and I liked those a lot.P1040146

Plus I mean… hot pink, fuschia, and dark blue? Great colors. Super girly but also with a touch of neutral. I like em. And my body seems to like them so far!

On Monday I tested them out with an incline walking workout + some strength training. Tuesday they got put through a spin class. Wednesday they powered a 2 mile run + a bootcamp class. Thursday they lived to tell the tale of a different spin class. And Friday they managed a treadmill run plus some strength exercises. No soreness outside of the normal stuff- so I think its safe to say that these lil guys are here to stay.

In addition to new sneaks- I’ve gotten myself involved in some new fitnes thangs that I feel like I should mention to you all.

1. Tabata HIIT Timer App- I downloaded this app so that I could do some short at home workouts (now that I have a better phone) and I’m loving it! You can set how many rounds you want to do, how long the rest/work intervals are, and set your notification settings. I used it to do this 20 minute ab workout I made up:

  • 20 rounds (10 different exercises, done twice) 45 sec. work // 15 sec. rest
  • Plank
  • Russian Twist
  • Right Side Plank
  • Right Side Plank Dips
  • Left Side Plank
  • Left Side Plank Dips
  • Shoulder Taps
  • Up and Down (elbow plank to full arm plank)
  • Side to Side (body in plank position, rotate feet to the right so the edges of your foot are resting on the floor, rotate to the left, and continue with a stable core)
  • Supermans

P1040152

2. Fit Foodie 5K Weekend The people behind this awesome weekend of events asked me to be an ambassador for them and I just couldn’t say no! C’mon- a weekend jam packed with a 5k, yoga, and bootcamp MADE for people who LOVE food?! It’s like my ideal weekend excursion. It’s sponsored by Cooking Light and Health and they’re already doing a great job at getting me WAY too excited.cooking light

There are going to be parties and brunches and experiences with local DC chef R.J. Cooper (!!!) soooo yeah. It’s something you don’t want to miss.

The weekend is June 20-22 and there are events Friday-Saturday at their location in Fairfax, VA. Check out their website for the full list of their events and sign up for some if you can! Use the code WICKEDHEALTHYDC to get 10% off any/all events!fitfoodie

AND not only will you get to take part in really fun activities- but 10% of all of the proceeds from the race entries will benefit City of Hope- a leading treatment and research center for cancer, diabetes, and other life-threatening diseases.

Food? Win. Exercise? Win. Fun? Win. Good cause? Win.

3. Ride DC You can never have too many spin studios in one city, right? Well there’s another one here in DC! It opened up in the same space that Peloton used to reside in on 14th street and I’ve been trying out some of their classes. It’s so close to where I live so I figured it was worth a shot to take a few rides there and see how I like it.ridedc

Unlike my gym (which I love but has some outdated equipment), all of the bikes are wicked new and nice. The bikes are also all linked up to a big screen at the front of the studio that tracks each riders progress (power, RPM, energy burned). Something I had never seen before! I’m not really a fan of stats being blasted for the whole class to see (I’m a self-conscious rider and get overly competitive when numbers are involved), but it did help at times to push me when I saw I was just under where the instructor wanted us to be in terms of RPM. I thought it would make me be harder on myself than I already am to perform better, but for the most part it was fine.ridedc3

I’ve only tried one class there (a 45-minute morning ride), but I’m planning on trying out an hour long class later today. It was Soul Cycle-esque in that 1) the instructor got off her bike and walked around shouting motivational things throughout the class 2) there was a electric candle in front of each bike (classes at Soul Cycle are by candle light) 3) the music was modern day top 40 remixed with club like tunes and 4) we utilized hand weights for a portion of the class.

ridedc2

I was a hot sweaty mess by the end of class. Which is always a good thing!

So clearly I’m having no problem at all breaking in my new sneakers for some new adventures. I hope these babies last me all the way to my second half marathon in September! Fingers crossed.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “New Sneaks For New Adventures

  1. I have heard of the studios with the stats! I need ot get my butt to a class. I have a feeling I don’t push as hard as I should / that I have a lot of room for improvement. Date perhaps?

  2. Pingback: Like Yesterday | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

