Mango Craze

2014-03-19 16.03.11

It’s snowing outside. It’s the last week of March in DC. Let’s ignore the facts and talk about mangos. They’re not weather appropriate whatsoever- making them perfect because I am in protest of all things related to winter.

My new found mango obsession has come at the perfect time. At work, we’re running a big promotion on- you guessed it- MANGOS- for the next month or so.2014-03-19 16.03.29

Dream world, much?

I couldn’t be more excited to be talking my face off about mangos, making mango recipes, and eating these bad boys.

There’s something about them that makes them SO satisfying. They’re sweet, creamy, so fruity, so summery and delicious. I’m absolutely crazy about them. I think a big part of my obsession comes from how they remind me of a tropical place. They take me FAR away from the dismal cold DC weather (that just won’t go away) and transport me somewhere warm and carefree.

I’ve been being bad and buying the pre-cut ones all ready to go at Whole Foods. Not economical. I need to start buying the actual fruits. It’s not hard to pick them for ripeness (think like how you would with an avocado- it should have a slight give to it when you squeeze it) and they’re easy to slice after you do it once of twice (youtube that ish!).P1030921

When I’m not plowing through a whole container as a snack or two- I’m throwing them in smoothies, alongside my breakfast, and eating them with whipped coconut cream and strawberries (sometimes chocolate chips, too!)P1030924

I also used them this past weekend to make a mango salsa which topped a salmon dinner! And then I used the leftover salsa on top of smoked salmon and eggs. So good!P1030928

The mango salsa salmon dinner incorporated some of my favorite foods: asparagus, meyer lemons (squeezed over the asparagus), salmon, coconut, and mango. Nom.P1030931

I used Martha’s mango salsa and salmon recipe– except I pan cooked the salmon in coconut oil. I roasted the asparagus with a bit of olive oil, meyer lemon juice, and salt. And I cooked some red quinoa in coconut milk.P1030933

And then the breakfast was… special. So special. It felt like such a treat. It was my way of getting even more excited for the lox that I plan on eating in NYC this upcoming weekend 😉P1030944

Scrambled eggs cooked in coconut oil topped with smoked salmon + mango salsa (yes, it tasted REAL GOOD). The toast with almond butter and coconut oil drizzle wasn’t bad either 😉 Neither was that juicy kiwi I shared with Will.P1030942

If you haven’t fallen in love with mangos yet, get romancing. They’re too good to be true. They can be used in savory and sweet dishes- and I promise, they’ll make you forget about the winter weather out your window. At least for a little while.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “Mango Craze

  1. LOVE mangos. I grew up eating them and then when I came to the U.S. I didn’t “trust” they’d be as good here. But, I rediscovered them and have been obsessed. Still gotta get the cutting down.

Leave a Reply

