Miles and Food

2014-03-08 13.00.36Man. I’m still exhausted. I was hoping to score some major zzz’s this weekend but it just didn’t happen. I had a great weekend full of lots of good things- but just not a lot of quality sleep unfortunately. And then to throw Daylight Saving’s into the mix? Fahgettaboudit.

It is for that reason that today’s post is going to be short and sweet. A little update on two things you read a lot about here on my blog: miles and food.

Saturday was my last long training run before the big show this upcoming Saturday! Can you believe the Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon is this weekend? I can’t. Time flies man. I know my training plan was only six weeks- but those were some quick weeks. Hopefully I’ll be just as quick during the race 😉

The twelve miles on Saturday happened and they were good! They weren’t amazing or anything, but I hustled my way through them and enjoyed the nice weather along the way. That run was the longest run of my lifetime- so I felt accomplished. And now that I know that I can run twelve miles, I am quite certain I can run 13.1.

Yesterday and today though, I’ve been feeling that run. Sunday my body hurt a bit and today my legs were still a little eh. Tomorrow will bring four miles (the longest distance I have planned until the race Saturday) so we shall see how those go. The rest of the week is relatively easy peasy with some short runs and cross training.

I’m actually starting to get really nervous about Saturday though. Not that I can’t do it- but just all the other stuff (worrying about having to pee, food, water, recovering, preparing enough, technological trouble with my iPod or something- you know, those thangs). Tell me not to worry, please? Give me any suggestions or recommendations you have, maybe? Yes? Last minute jams to add to my running playlist? Give it all to me.

Now to the food. The most important part of this post. The best thing I ate this weekend was straight out of my faux Jewish kitchen. Thanks to some hard work on my part and two amazing recipes from the Jerusalem cookbook. I was able to scavenge the interwebs and find the two recipes from the book so you too can make these ones!P1030860

I’m not going to lie, I was a little out of sync Friday night and it took me a while to pull this meal together. There may or may not have been some tears when I accidentally spilled hot oil on my foot (and onto the floor) as I quickly swirled it around in a pan. I may have lashed out at Will out of stress and frustration. It wasn’t my best night in the kitchen in terms of prep and keeping it cool.

BUT all of that was worth it because these recipes were DA BOMB. I think Will forgave me over the dinner I made…P1030862

The main part of the meal were these turkey zucchini burgers. Now- I’ve made turkey burgers with shredded zucchini in them before- but the garlic, mint, cilantro, cumin combo? Delicious. The accompanying lemony greek yogurt sauce? On point. I served them over red quinoa tossed with a little lemon and salt. So pretty. So good.P1030861

On the side I made a roasted cauliflower, hazelnut and pomegranate seed salad. Sweet and savory and yummy. The toasted hazelnuts were worth the toasting process, the parsley was worth the picking off the stems process, and the whole side was worth the time it took to pull it together.P1030864

The quality of the pomegranate arils though? Definitely going down hill. You can tell they’re falling out of season. They worked- but they weren’t the best. I want to make this recipe again in the fall/winter.

This meal was absolutely top notch (if I do say so myself) even if I was red in the face by the time I was done and my my kitchen was a hot mess.P1030863

I cooled down over food and an episode of Downton Abbey (I’m a few episodes into season three- making progress).

Okay. I can’t talk anymore. Tiredness is coming back at me strong.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

9 thoughts on “Miles and Food

  1. Long time reader, first time commenter–I also live in DC (in Adams Morgan) and I totally forgot about the Rock N Roll Marathon this weekend until I read your post! You’ll be running right by my window–good luck!!!

  2. I play “all the way” by timeflies on repeat when I run. It makes me feel like I’m in a movie haha and really motivates me. Daylight savings reaaaaally thru me off too! The extra light after work today made it worth it tho

  3. all I can say is – don’t think. yep. I do the same thing, I over think everything about the race only to make myself more nervous which actually messes with your body more (hello nervous stomach!) I think 12 before a half especially the weekend before is longer than I have ever done right before a race so be sure to rest rest rest and get those legs fresh. I know I will be taking both thursday and friday off. ready to kill the race!

  4. Hello! I just stumbled upon your blog when I started looking for DC runner blogs to get some tips on running my first marathon. First, good luck!!! I am in a similar boat, and know that I am over thinking Saturday. The Rock N Roll marathon will be my first marathon ever!?!?! Nervous and anxious do not even begin to describe how I am feeling…eeek!

  5. Pingback: Quick Confessions | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

