Coffee Talk

coffetalkLet’s have a morning chat over coffee.

And like another foot of snow. Seriously, winter? Seriously?

Because there is currently like a white out going on out my window right now, I’m blogging to you from my apartment because I’ll be working from home today. In my full makeup-less, oversized long sleeve, yoga pant wearing glory.

And because Will is also working from home, he just watched me awkwardly pose and take that picture above like five times. His girlfriend is the coolest.

I’m actually pretty bummed about the weather because 1) I had a lot of stuff I wanted to do at work today that I need to be literally at the store to do and 2) half marathon training.

About that half marathon training… this weather is really testing me. I’ll just say that. This is the second to last week of training for me- which is insane because I feel like I was just announcing my participation in the race- and that means the height of my weekly miles. 28 miles in total this week (last week was 23 miles). It would be SO MUCH better if the majority of those miles could be done outside. But alas- in steps winter and snow and cold weather and less than ideal conditions.

While the weather may be testing me, it’s certainly not stopping me. You gotta find a way to make happen what you want to have happen and if that means more treadmill runs, that’s just what needs to be done.

I’m trying to remind myself that this is the last like legit week of training because next week includes relatively low mileage and cross-training in order to taper off for the race on that Saturday (March 15). And that I got lucky with the nice weather for my long run last week and my long run this past Saturday. {My ten miles on Saturday weren’t as glorious as my eight miles the weekend before- but they still felt really strong and I felt good about them. I think I’m ready for this thing.} SO I’m just sucking it up and getting through this week in one piece. And also praying to the heavens for good enough weather for the twelve miles (!!!) I’ll be running this upcoming Saturday.

Thank GAHD for interval treadmill workout runs, good music, podcasts, and a little bit of Bravo TV going on in the background to make the miles go by faster.

Shout out to Tina and Julie for giving me a great mix of running/walking treadmill workouts that incorporate hills and speed changes and all that good stuff. I’ve noticed that my knees and hips really start to bother me if I just run straight through whatever miles I have planned on the treadmill with sprints and whatnot- so I’ve been gravitating toward treadmill workouts that utilize power walking with running. I know I have the cardio endurance to run 13.1 miles- I just need to be smart about ye old joints, ya know?

After ten miles on Sunday- this was a good one from Tina for my five miles scheduled today. This was a hard slow run on an incline workout that I did last week. And I’ll be doing this run and this one from Julie at some point this week.

I updated my iPod running playlist this weekend and here are some of the newbies to the crew that are killing it:

I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight- U2

The Impression That I Get- The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

I Melt With You- Modern English

Besides taking my workouts indoors to the treadmill, I’ve also been keeping myself entertained by trying out new studios here in the area.

Last Friday I was invited to CenterPointe in Adams Morgan by its founder, May. I attended a body weight bootcamp class and it was awesome! It was pretty low impact and low on the intensity level, but I felt like it was a great workout that focused on getting stronger and functional exercises.centerpointe2

We did a lot with jump ropes- which at first I was very frustrated with- I’m so bad with the jump rope. BUT with every jump, I got better at it and it became less annoying. I wouldn’t do it without a class like this, so I was glad May pushed me to just go for it and to master the rope! I didn’t manage to hit double unders- but I was proud I got to the speed I did on the regular jumping. We also did a lotta squats. And some crazy wall crawls. I was a fan of the squatting and while the wall crawls were hard, they did show me that I really need to work on my shoulder strength.centerpointe

AND I unexpectedly got to take the class with Mary and Meaghan! It was awesome to see two other crazies up with me to take a 6am bootcamp class on a freezing cold morning. Read Mary’s more in depth review of the class here. I stole the pictures above from her 🙂

If you’re looking for a crossfit-like place to workout (community oriented, functional training focused, and an emphasis on strength/skill building), you would probably love CenterPointe.

I’m also really looking forward to the Spring and warmer weather (duh) and all the fun fitness things I’ll be doing when the season changes! I’m signed up for the cherry blossom ten miler in April AND I’m participating in the event, DC Fit (which I’ve told you guys about).

Early bird tickets are currently on sale for DC Fit on Saturday, April 5th! AND with my discount code “WickedHealthyDC” you get an additional 15% off.

The event will be at the Long View Gallery in Mount Vernon Square and will be a place to get to know the District’s best gyms, trainers, nutritionists, and more. At the event, you can give the trendiest fitness classes a spin, learn from healthy lifestyle expert panelists, and roam the expotique to see what’s next in the world of fitness. AND you’ll get to see me be hella awkward on a panel of speakers. You know you want to come!

Okay. I think I’m done talking your face off about fitness things. And I have work to attend to. Until next time…

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “Coffee Talk

  1. i still have trouble believing it is snowing. working from home as well and thank goodness like you said for some ways to get through tough treadmill runs. this morning I conquered a book. at least you have someone to spend your snow day with!

    • ohhhh the treadmill. not happy I have to utilize it- but happy that it exists nonetheless.

      and yes- his work is so different from mine (i.e. important phone calls and excel spreadsheets) but it’s fun pretending like we’re in a little office together haha.

  2. I wish I was working from home! In today’s day and age I could get everything done that I need to on my laptop and the walk through the snow to work was pretty treacherous this morning. I lol’ed at the comment about the Will seeing you take pics over and over…I get weird looks like that allllll the time. We’re a strange breed!

Leave a Reply

