Appreciation Hodgepodge

P1030713I like to believe that you get what you give. The positive energy and vibes you put out into the universe always come back to you in some way. I don’t think that better things happen to good people necessarily (because bad things happen to everyone and some really great things happen to bad people all the time), but I do think that you’re more likely to reap the benefits of people’s kindness and generosity if you too express kindness and generosity. Positivity breeds positivity and well intentioned actions lead to amazing outcomes.

I’m always trying to do thoughtful things for people and if I can even make a random stranger feel special for like two seconds- I consider my day a success. And words cannot describe how appreciative I am when others feel the same way.

This post is a hodgepodge of nice things that have happened in my life thanks to some really great people and nice things that I in turn want to bestow upon you, my readers!

1. Personal Training with Haleigh

I first heard of Haleigh after a yoga class at Roam Fitness. When the instructor announced that Haleigh was a new trainer over at Roam Fitness and  was offering free consultations/sessions- I immediately took her card and got into contact with her.P1030711

She graciously offered me three free personal training sessions. The first was focused on us getting to know each other and she listened to what issues I was having and what things I wanted to work on. We picked each other’s brains and got to know each other. Then the next two sessions, she created workouts based on what I wanted to improve or learn and we did them together. I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t awesome.

She helped me fix my form and technique with various exercises and gave me some great advice/workout ideas on how to strengthen the parts of my body that I feel are lacking. Haleigh was a good listener, was super laid back, down to earth, and was all around wicked nice. She designed some kickass workouts for me and I can’t thank her enough for helping me with a couple different issues I was having. I definitely feel like I am a stronger rower, squatter, and pushup-er thanks to her.

Working out in your own little bubble is good, but it’s so important to reach out to professionals every once and a while to help you stay on the right track.

Because I had such a good experience with Haleigh and think anyone would benefit from some time with her- I wanted to give her a shout out and suggest her to anyone looking for some personal training to give her a call or shoot her an email! ALSO. If you mention me- you’ll get FIFTEEN PERCENT OFF of a set of sessions you book with her. Let me know if you have any questions- or contact Haleigh/Roam Fitness on your own! They’re great.

2. Pure Barre Giveaway

The crazy passionate people over at Pure Barre opened up their P Street location to me this past Tuesday to take a free class. They have locations in Annapolis, Bethesda, and Rockville to name a few places- and soon will be opening up a new location on Barracks Row (their second DC location).

I was hesitant to accept their offer of a free class because I really have naht enjoyed all the barre classes I’ve taken in the past. But I decided to give it another go and try it out. While the people were so so so nice and sweet and the studio was lovely (it’s so comfortable and accommodating)- I really just don’t think barre is for me. I prefer more functional exercises and ones that get me to break a sweat in a big way. Barre is more about conditioning and the little, small movements. I’m crave grittiness and extreme-ness 😉

They were convinced that if I came back for a few more sessions- that I would fall in love and have my mind changed completely about barre. Being a stubborn lady, I declined their wicked thoughtful offer and instead asked if I could give the classes away to a blog reader or twitter follower. Just because barre isn’t for me- doesn’t mean it’s not a great workout or a new form of fitness that someone out there might really enjoy! I’d rather have someone take the five classes, be excited about them, and get a lot out of them instead of me begrudgingly accepting them and going to barre classes.

SO. I announced this little giveaway on twitter yesterday. I asked you all why you’d want free barre classes and loved seeing all the feedback from followers! Screenshot 2014-02-13 at 10.03.00 AM

I fairly wrote every single person who responded to my tweet on a piece of paper, put them in a hat, and blindly pulled out a name. P1030707P1030708purebarredrawing

Anddd I am happy to declare the winner here on my blog!purebarrewinnerScreenshot 2014-02-13 at 10.03.15 AM

Congrats @MissMaya! I hope you enjoy barre and have an amazing time at Pure Barre!

3. Cocoa Bella

Okay seriously- Cocoa Bella is the coolest hot cocoa company out there. As cool as a hot chocolate company can be that is.

You brew their drinking chocolate in a french press leaving you with nothing but pure cocoa bliss. No additives. No nothing. Just pure cocoa. In liquid form. Karen makes the small batches straight out of Virginia- so it’s local too! Cocoa Bella is even sold at some Whole Foods around here.

They had sent me their product to try out last month not realizing that I didn’t have a french press. I tried to make it sans french press when I was sick last month (ugh) but got frustrated, failed, and ended up tossing the product like a grumpy little girl because it didn’t work for me. I wrote them an email feeling like an idiot apologizing and thanking them for trying.P1030694

Well. They ended up sending me more. But they included a french press with it. WHAT. A free kitchen gadget for moi?! Way too kind of them. I couldn’t believe it. I haven’t tried it out yet, but have plans to make it tonight after dinner for a sweet night cap on this snowy day.P1030693

Good companies with over the top customer service policies? Gotta love it.

Thank you so much Cocoa Bella. I cannot wait to drink your elixir of deliciousness.

4. Black & Decker

Speaking of great customer service… remember that tweet I sent out about breaking my blender like an idiot and being upset that Black & Decker had discontinued the replacement part I needed?P1030697

Well. They surprised me and sent me a brand new blender.P1030709

Like what. SERIOUSLY?! I felt so lucky. It’s an older model but I don’t even care- its a free blender! YES. Lesson learned people- complainy tweets sometimes make magic happen. No- that’s not it. Fight for your dollars! If you paid for a product, try and get your money’s worth always. Fight the man!P1030710

And don’t put metal spoons in the blender.

In all seriousness- after a month of disasters (January was the absolute worst month on earth) and me trying SO hard but everything still being terrible- it’s been so nice/refreshing to have good things come back to me in February.

Okay- I think I’m done with appreciations for now.

Time to get back to working from home. My counter top is my desk today thanks to this crazy snow. I’m hoping to be able to go into the store in a little bit- but we shall see. DC is a hot mess!P1030683

Stay warm and

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

2 thoughts on “Appreciation Hodgepodge

  1. I’m glad you shared your honest opinion about barre. Everyone makes it sound like the best thing since sliced bread, and it’s always refreshing to hear opinions from the other side. I think I’d still like to try it out just to form my own opinion, but I’m glad I now have a studio to visit. Thanks!

    • I always try and give my honest feedback about things. I think it’s okay that everything isn’t for everyone. And I’ve never enjoyed barre! I’ve tried enough classes on my own to make that fair judgement, ya know? Let me know whatcha think if you ever try it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

