Detox Cookies

P1030510

Did you ever think you would see those two words together? Quite the paradox, eh? Or is it an oxymoron? I still don’t even know. I just asked Will and he tried to explain to me the technicalities and my brain immediately shut down. I don’t have time for that.

Back to the cookies.

When I was home for Christmas, I was averaging about five cookies a day. My Mom had made these amazing chewy ginger/molasses cookies and then my sisters had baked sugar cookies with frosting… I was obsessed. I was all about that holiday indulgence.

So what was a girl to do when she came home, back to DC, cookie-less and without a holiday crutch to blame her sugar addiction on? 

Well this girl went ahead and made relatively healthy cookies. They’re not health food, but they sure are better than me going to the store, buying store bought cookie dough, and falling face first into the stuff till my stomach hurts.

These are Vegan Cranberry Thumbprint Cookies.

I think what sold me was cranberry jam {made only with cranberries, dates, water, orange zest, and chia seeds}. You know I love me some cranberries.

But I also LOVE cookies with jam in them. Like, they’re some of my favorite. Cookies with raspberry, orange, apricot, or apple filling in them? I want them all. I’m looking at you hamantaschen cookies (yes, I was DEFINITELY Jewish in a past life). OH YEAH and my Aunt (an amazing baker) made these raspberry cottage cheese cookies for Christmas… uhhhhh so goooooood.

Moving on.

The idea of a cookie without heavy white flour or butter or milk or any dairy or eggs or white sugar- it sounded pretty fantastic after eating myself sick over Christmas.

These were the perfect cookies to relinquish my sweet tooth but also end my holiday sweets bender. These were just the thing I needed.

One of my mini-goals for 2014 is to bake once a month. I’m not much of a baker but I’d like to become better at it. I think it will be good for my inner domestic goddess.

Vegan Cranberry Thumbprints– you were number one for the new year.

Am I the only person out there who is detoxing their holiday eats with cookies? Who needs a juice cleanse when you have these bad boys- am I right or am I right?

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

2 thoughts on “Detox Cookies

  1. Pingback: Make Bake Share | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Stretch and Strengthen | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

