Comfort Food Cauliflower

P1030505

One of the biggest complaints I hear against vegetables is that they just aren’t food for the soul. For emotional eaters, the idea of cozying up to a bowl of steamed broccoli just isn’t as appealing as a giant bowl of pasta. Trust me- I totally get it.

But I think the problem here lies in that people don’t know how to make vegetables more satisfying- more homey- more comfort food like. Because they totally can be. I promise. And you don’t have to add twenty vats of oil or breadcrumbs or cream sauce to them.

If you’re new to eating veggies (perhaps it was one of your new years resolutions to eat more of them), you’re going to be pretty disappointed and turned off by some raw vegetables, ones that have been simply steamed, or ones that have hardly been seasoned. I don’t even really want to eat those. And I love vegetables to the moon and back. You gotta give them some flair.

If you’re looking for an easy, light, satisfying, and crazy delicious vegetable recipe- this one if for you. Honey-Roasted Cauliflower with Crispy Sage and Pine Nuts.

I’ve talked about my love of cauliflower on the blog before- it’s so versatile and can be used to make a bajillion different things. Remember that Indian Chinese inspired cauliflower side dish I made that time? I certainly do. The ish was delish.

I recently tried a taco filling where the base was chopped cauliflower… amazing. I’m a meat eater and I didn’t even miss the meat. It was ridiculously good.

BUT this recipe just requires a little bit of honey (I used a tad less than the recipe calls for), fresh sage, salt, garlic, extra virgin olive oil, and pine nuts. Those six ingredients combined in your oven with cauliflower at 400 degrees for 30 minutes?

Holy wow.

You’ll turn something as simple, bland, and boring as cauliflower into a masterpiece. Something worth curling up to. Something worth telling your friends about.

And not only are you getting your fill of vegetables- you’re getting healthy fats from the e.v.o.o. and the pine nuts. Serve this up alongside some chicken and brown rice (or your choice of whole grain… quinoa perhaps?) and you’ve got yourself one healthy dinner.

Take the time to style up your vegetables- it doesn’t take too much effort. Fresh seasonings plus a smidgen of oil can make all the difference. Eating your vegetables shouldn’t feel like a prison sentence. Make them taste good!

Just as a reminder- you’ll also find this recipe posted on my new pinterest board: what I’ve made in 2014.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “Comfort Food Cauliflower

  1. Yummy and warm! The cauliflower, not the weather! SOO cold here 3 degrees this morning, a challenge to shovel 18+ inches of snow! But, we rocked it as you know we would; sledding and hunkering down for hot cocoa and movies! Love you!

  2. Sorry, I should have been more explicit; Mema went sledding with Marcella; we watched movies and snuggled. Can’t control that crazy Mom of mine! Love you!

Leave a Reply

