Last First and New

NYE

It’s officially 2014! Happy New Year, everyone! I ended 2013 and started 2014 on a high note- I hope all of you did as well!

Here were my “lasts” of 2013:

  • Workout: 60 min. spin class
  • Eats: Lamb, Sweet Potato, and Dinosaur Kale at the restaurant District Commons. Although… technically dessert was the last part of 2013 and I had a cherry ice cream sundae with hot fudge, roasted peanuts, and whipped cream! Yes.
  • Photo taken on my phone: {see below}

2013-12-31 19.28.40

Here were my “firsts” of 2014:

  • Workout: 5.8 run with Will and a mini strength circuit
  • Eats: Again, TECHNICALLY it was banana and peanut butter pre-run, but my first legit meal was brunch at DGS Delicatessan.
  • Photo taken on my phone: Snapshot of my new foodie kitchen calendar! Look at those bright chanterelle mushrooms being greeted by new year sunshine! So lovely.

P1030490

And here is what is new:

  • Recipes: People are constantly requesting a “recipe index” on my blog. Problem is- I don’t make up a majority of my recipes- I follow other people’s recipes. And when I do make up my own recipes, I rarely measure anything out or take note of how to replicate the dish again. SO I have created a new pinterest board called “what I’ve made in 2014 and I will pin every recipe that I make this year. That way, you can just go to that board, check out what I’ve been cooking, and make any of the things I share here on my blog.
  • Blog Post Style: As part of my goal to keep things simple, every post this year (after this one of course) is going to start with one picture and then be followed by text. Hooray for simplicity! Hooray for a focus on quality and not quantity. My plan is to have one picture every day for the 365 days in 2014. I think it will be fun at the end of the year to go back and see each day encapsulated in one photo. It will also push me to be more creative with my pictures and stress less about photographing all the things. We’ll see how this goes!

What better time to start my “one photo a day for 365 days” experiment than by sharing the one photo that I would choose to represent yesterday. On the first day of the year, I had a pretty laid back day with Will. I slept in till 9 (!!!), we worked out together, headed to DGS Delicatessan for brunch/lunch, walked to Georgetown to see American Hustle (Jennifer Lawrence can do no wrong), went grocery shopping, and had a lounge-y evening in.

It was cozy and uncomplicated. Just like the mini skillet of shakshouka I had at DGS.2014-01-01 12.38.54

Warm tomato and roasted red pepper stew with poached eggs, grilled bread, and ALL the parsley from one of my favorite DC restaurants? It couldn’t have been more perfect.

Photo numero uno in the books.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

8 thoughts on “Last First and New

  1. I did project 365/one photo a year for 2011. I still look back at it and it’s so nice to relive the year, and fun to get creative each day.
    Happy New Year!! Glad you had a good one my dear!

  2. I always refer back to your blog to double check a recipe. I don’t have a pinterest account, but this will be a reason to start one. I love the bangs. They suit you so nicely.

    Happy 2014!

  3. Happy New Year!! I am glad you are in such a good place as you head into the new year! I am excited to keep reading your blog and enjoying your photo a day! Such a good idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

