What a Year

2013 went by in a flash. I’ve never experienced a quicker year. For a hot second I thought, huh well this year was relatively uneventful. And then I literally laughed out loud. Because THAT is the most preposterous thought of all time.

2013 was CRAZY. Looking back- I can’t even believe everything that happened.

Not only did I do a lot of stuff- but I grew and changed and evolved in a bajillion ways. I hadn’t even met my beloved R.D. at this time last year. Now that’s weird. My disordered eating and mental struggles seem like something from the long, distant past. But they really weren’t that far back. I’m still getting stronger and recovering every day. But holy crap- I’m so far from where I was.

In 2013:

I admitted my struggles and sought out professional health.

I ended up gaining back my mental sanity and clarity + happiness and joy.20133

I also happily gained ten much needed pounds (which was almost harder than losing the initial weight I lost).

I started to figure out how to balance all the major food groups that I love/need (including dessert and sweets).

I went through a colonoscopy.20131

I fell for cashew butter.20132

I wore a bikini for the first time in my life.20135

I saw CitiField and Marlins Park for the first time (2 more to cross off on my baseball stadium tour list!)2013620134

I traveled to Miami, New York, Chicago, and Massachusetts.201392013820137

201322201323

And most importantly, I traveled to RUSSIA.201310201311201312

I successfully ran a webathon that raised $700,000 at my old job.201313

I reassessed my passions and started looking for a new job.

I started and fell in love with a new job where I get to do what I really want to do every day.

I turned 23 and relinquished my ability to sing Taylor Swift’s 22 at the top of my lungs.

I had major down moments, but I also had major up moments. The good outweighed the bad.

I saw the Red Sox become WORLD SERIES CHAMPIONS.201314

I fell in love with DC all over again.

My sisters turned 15, 16, and 21. Woah. We’re all getting old.

I really became a runner. I went from occasionally running 5k distances to running my first ever 8k, running on a regular basis (4 times a week), and increasing my doable mileage to 10 miles! Double digits baby!201315

I completed the Goruck Nasty– I true test of my mental and physical strength.201316

I saw Paul McCartney live in concert. And died of happiness.

I listened to both Nick Offerman and Jillian Michaels share their thoughts on life.

I completely fell in love with chickpeas. And mushrooms. And olives.201317201319201318

And I continued to fall deeper in love with brussels sprouts.201320

I relied on overnight oats to fuel most of my breakfasts.

I became less closed off and open to being much more of a social butterfly.

I participated in more workouts here in DC than I can even remember. From Crossfit boxes to spin studios to new gyms to everything in between.20132120132

The other day I was looking at my goals for this year that I wrote up- just to see where my head was at back then and also to see if I did what I said I wanted to do. Here’s some snippets from what I wrote:

I MADE MY FIRST APPOINTMENT YESTERDAY FOR MID-JANUARY! Sorry for the all caps but I’m so excited- you have no idea… I can’t wait to feel like I’m solidly on track with eating what is best for my body and what it really needs at this point in my life.

Well THAT one certainly went well.

..other food goals I have for 2013 are to keep continuing to try at least one new fruit or vegetable a week, trying three new recipes a week, and no longer calorie counting.

I didn’t keep track of new things I was trying- but let me tell you- that list is never ending. I cooked A LOT in 2013. Also- calorie counting? I don’t even know what that means anymore 😉 I joke- but seriously. That is most certainly something I have kicked to the curb.

And of course, clean eating will be ever important in my day to day life. As will eating breakfast every single day (hopefully always with a banana involved).

Yup. This definitely remained true. I probably loosened the reigns on my clean control a little but I think that was for the best. And I still eat banana. Pretty much everyday.

In terms of fitness goals- I don’t want to sit here and bite off more than I can chew. My greatest fear is to put TOO much pressure on myself to do TOO much only to burn out and feel overwhelmed. SO my main goal is to continue my habit of working out on a regular basis (simple, right?) My ideal week will include me getting my sweat on five times a week with two rest days in there.

This plan seemed to turn out well- I ended up doing A LOT in 2013 in regards to fitness. I became stronger, faster, and all around fitter. Win.

Three mini goals I have for myself are to strengthen my ability to do pushups, maintain my ability to hold planks for at least three minutes, and improve my 3-mile running time.

Pushups- definitely. Plank- eh I haven’t done a long one in a while so I’m not sure on that… but I know my core is all around stronger so I’m sure I could pull it out with a couple week’s practice. 3-mile time- the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving officially proved that I did this one!

There will definitely be changes to how I workout on a weekly basis. I’m going to make sure I hit up body pump two days a week (I already love the results and the way its been making me feel), run once a week, spin once a week, and then either do a bootcamp/circuit type workout or yoga once a week.

SO clearly I wasn’t anticipating running as much as I did in 2013! Woah baby. I also gave up on body pump in favor of more functional exercises (like in bootcamp and my own circuit workouts and yoga).

But you know what- that plan above really focuses on cross-training and I think overall- that’s really what I did in 2013. I did a good balance of strength based training, spin, running, and yoga.

WHEW OKAY. So in 2013 I did a lot of things I know I’d do- exercise and eat and cook.

But I also did things I had NO IDEA I’d ever do. From big fitness goals crushed and made in the moment throughout the year- to kicking bad bad bad habits to the curb- to maintaining my “normal” weight for a woman my age/height- to GOING TO RUSSIA (sorry, still not over that one)- to starting a new job in a totally different career path.

So that’s why, for 2014, I’m applying my principles of not setting crazy lofty goals for myself and simply setting broad, positive ones {as I shared with you all yesterday}.

2013 was a long road and I’m so thankful for everything that happened in the past year. And that includes having all of you follow along with the ebb and flow of my life.

Thank YOU for reading.

Let’s go 2014.

2014

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

3 thoughts on “What a Year

  1. its hard because I hate setting goals – so more so I do this ok how did last year go and what could improve this year. I have some pretty lofty ideas of what i want 2014 to shape up to be but I think I have the challenge in me. You have had a stellar 2013, in so many ways. Although I started following you mid to late 2013, I can’t wait to continue to see your growth this year.

Leave a Reply

