All These Things and More

{I apologize for the pictures being weird in this post… my computer was giving me a hard time today unfortunately}

What does the holiday season and Christmas mean to you? To Stevie Wonder it means- candles burning low and lots of mistletoe (all these things and MORE!)

That has to be one of my favorite Christmas songs. Hands down. I have memories decorating my house for Christmas with my sister while we BLASTED that song.

I love it not only for it’s sick beat and because Stevie Wonder is the man, but because he rattles off all these holiday-y things that make me so happy.

December is great because of the epic buildup till Christmas day. It’s so fun. The month may as well be 25 days long because really, what are those other six days afterwards for anyway? They’re just a buffer to New Years.

Christmas and December are all about the little things. It’s easy to get caught up in stressing over the gifts and the cards and balancing celebrating the season with your regular everyday life. BUT we all, myself included for sure, need to remember to take a step back and just appreciate all the cheer and festivities around us.

P1030251

December is a beautiful month. People try to give more and embrace joy. People try to be more kind and surround themselves with love. Remember to take it all in and get in the holiday spirit in the midst of the workouts and the healthy eats.

I apologize if this post is reading as too cutesy, lovey dovey, world peace, fa-la-la-la-la, tie life in a big red bow. I’ve been genuinely digging the whole holiday spirit thang so much more this year than I did last year. I think this comes from being all around happier as a person. My health is so much better and I have a job that I love.

I also came home to the ultimate Christmas surprise on Sunday night after work which just put me in a very seasonal mood. I came home after a long weekend day of work to a beautifully decorated apartment, a tree with lights, and a boyfriend who was quite pleased with himself.

P1030247P1030263P1030265P1030266P1030270P1030268

I had wanted to decorate with him on Saturday but we sort of just ran out of minutes in the day. As we went to bed on Saturday, I complained about how sad I was that we hadn’t decorated yet.

He took it upon himself to make me happy and covered our apartment in Christmas cheer while I was away at work. I was so surprised and of course I started crying when I walked in the door. Of course.

P1030252

Then when I got home, we decorated our tree with all our lil ornaments that we acquired last year.

P1030261P1030260P1030259P1030258P1030257

I made him a delicious pizza to say thank you {roasted fall vegetables, ricotta, olive oil, garlic, and fresh rosemary}. I even cut it into squares instead of triangles (his preferred way to eat thin crust- feel free to judge him… lord knows I do. weirdo Chicagoans).

P1030239P1030240

All I’m trying to say here in this rambling mess is- appreciate the little things that happen in your life this month and appreciate all that makes up what Christmas and the holidays mean to you.

P1030253

Everything from a winter sunrise-

P1030233

to splurging on seasonal flowers for yourself (I built the bouquet myself, stem by stem!)

P1030231P1030232P1030234

to dinner dates with old friends and lunch dates with new friends-

to phone calls and voice mails from best friends-

to something SO small as a new calendar page

P1030249

to cinnamon vanilla tea

P1030214

to little cute texts from Will

to the chocolate in a 99 cent advent calendar

P1030215

to fresh baked cookies {pumpkin cookies using THIS recipe}

P1030221P1030222P1030224

to children’s choirs caroling {my work is fun}

2013-12-01 14.59.17

to bundling up for an after dinner walk on a still and quiet December night

2013-11-29 17.30.45

to Christmas crafting {again, my work is fun}

2013-12-01 14.48.43

to cozying up in a Caribou Coffee with an Americano and overnight oats to catch up on emails and blog stuff

2013-12-03 08.25.47

to being obnoxious and writing in chalk what I’m wishing for from Santa on Caribou’s big ol’ community board

2013-12-02 09.22.00

to having my inbox filled with holiday themed emails from my favorite websites and blogs cough cough Martha Stewart, How Sweet It Is, and Trader Joes cough cough

Just do me a favor and love on all that Christmas means to you and-

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

2 thoughts on “All These Things and More

Leave a Reply

