Lunchbox as of Late

When I’m not devouring dinner leftovers for lunch, I’m usually eating some type of sandwich. I try to make one new type of sandwich each week to keep things interesting. I’m just one of those kind of people that loves trying new things and with so many food thangs that I want to try- I have to be switching things up all the time. Some people can be satisfied by eating the same lunch day in and day out- I’m not one of those people.

So please let me introduce to you the star sandwich of this week- smashed chickpea and avocado salad sandwich. P1030141

It’s brilliant.P1030139

All you have to do is mash one can of rinsed/drained chickpeas with one avocado. Then mash in some salt, pepper, cilantro, lime juice, and onion. Done. In my opinion, this mix makes enough for 2-3 sandwiches.P1030140

Throw it on a sandwich (you all know I’m a big ezekiel bread fan) with some spinach and you are ready to rock.P1030142

Usually I’d pack my sandwich with a greek yogurt and a piece of fruit… but I’m still loving on weird baby food snack purees (go ahead- judge- they’re delicious. the banana + beet + blueberry blend is out of this world) so I threw one of those in my lunch bag to squirt half of into my greek yogurt. Yum.P1030143

And of course I need an afternoon snack- honeycrisp apple + almonds. Simple and goood.

What are your favorite kinds of sandwiches? I’m always looking for more recipes.

In addition to Thanksgiving dinner leftover sandwiches (uhhhhh the best kind of sandwiches)- I’m looking forward to making this avocado beet pesto sandwich. It needs to happen soon because it looks to die for. And let’s not even TALK about how I needed THIS pumpkin reuben in my belly like… yesterday.

In other news, it’s Friday! Wahoo! I got home and ran five miles to celebrate 🙂 I had a lot of vibes and energy to get out of my system. My tried and true Nsync pandora station was on point tonight too- it didn’t play any slow songs like This I Promise You or God Must Have Spend a Little More Time on You. It was all, Genie in a Bottle, It’s Gonna Be Me, I Want it That Way, What a Girl Whats, Senorita, Toxic, and Oops! I Did it Again.
And for the first time in a handful of weeks- I don’t have work tomorrow on a Saturday. Will and I are picking up our Thanksgiving turkey (!), going to bootcamp together at our gym, and then he’s taking me to see CATCHING FIRE.
I don’t think I’ve told the blogosphere how much I love the Hunger Games series. Well. Let me put it out there. When Will said he would take me to the movies tomorrow afternoon- man oh man- I was amped! I friggen love everything Hunger Games and have been anxiously awaiting the release of this movie.
I went and saw the first one at midnight but knew I didn’t have it in me to do that again. I’d rather go in the middle of the afternoon when I’m wide awake and can actually enjoy it. Lord knows I can barely stay awake till 11, let alone midnight and then 2.5 hours after for a whole movie. YEAH RIGHT.
Happy weekend, everyone!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “Lunchbox as of Late

  1. I LOVE making homemade pesto and sticking it on a sandwich with a fried egg! Additionally, fried egg and hummus is also delicious.

    Also, thanks again for saying hi in Whole Foods! Hope to see you again soon!

    – Paige

Leave a Reply

