Ignorant Bliss

DC hasn’t been much fun as of late. Government shutdown shenanigans have turned the city on its head and don’t even get me started on the hot summer weather. Get your act together, mother nature. Get you act together, congress.

XKCD

Or maybe it’s all my fault seeing as I work for the freemasons and obviously they are secretly in control of the U.S. Goverment. My bad.

This weekend I pretended it was fall and lived in my own little world of sweet ignorant bliss.

I enjoyed October baseball (and the Red Sox kicking SERIOUS butt and takin’ names- Will Myers’ name in particular. that poor Rays player… Boston fans and their taunts are going to haunt him for the REST of his life).

Game three at the trop tonight! GO SOX.

P1020804

wearing my lucky Varitek jersey. and shorts- I promise I wasn’t pantless in this photo. It’s just a big jersey.

What I’m eating in that photo above was a yummy acorn squash bake that I whipped up Saturday night. It was based of THIS recipe.

I sauteed brown rice, onion, apple, chicken/apple sausage, spinach, roasted acorn squash, roasted carrots, sage, chicken broth, and some white wine- threw this in my square baking dish and topped the whole thing with parmesan cheese. It went in the oven at 350 degrees for thirty minutes (cheese on top for only the last ten).

P1020792

 

My apartment smelled good when I did vegetable roasting on Saturday.
P1020793P1020801

I forgot to take a picture until Will and I ate half the pan… whoops!P1020802

I also enjoyed apple picking (while wearing shorts mind you- normally fall behavior).

Apples1

Will and I were a little over zealous with the apples…Apples2

But they fit right in our increasingly fall-ified apartment!P1020807P1020805P1020806

I prepped some butternut squash for salads during the week. Whole Foods had a sale on frozen butternut a couple weeks ago and I stocked up. This week I sauteed it in cinnamon, cayenne, and salt. It will go on top of radicchio, apple, bleu cheese, walnut, carrot salads. Gotta use up them apples…P1020794P1020795

My ignorant bliss was interrupted by the workout I did outside on Saturday morning. WAH it was so hot and humid! So dumb. I did a three mile run and stopped at convenient places to do things like squats, pushups, tricep dips, planks, and v-sit holds. Every time I stopped all these little flies would attack my sweaty body. I was unhappy. It was gross. I was gross. And now my legs are like perma itchy…

I was able to sneak back into fall mode though after getting home, showering, eating some oatmeal with canned pumpkin and then walking over to a farmers market nearby to pre-order a Thanksgiving turkey with Will! P1020796

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

3 thoughts on “Ignorant Bliss

  1. Such a heartbreaker for all of us last night; but it really was a great game! We’ll get the Rays tonight! So glad you got to go apple picking and ignore the warm weather. It’s been weirdly muggy and warm here too! Plan to call Uncle Larry today; I’ve been really busy with pantry shenanigans and I promise I’ll make time today. Love you!

    • Ugh I know. SO frustrating. But we have tonight! It’s going to be a late one. First pitch isn’t till 8:30! It’s cold here today wahoo! And no worries on calling Uncle Larry. No rush. I know it’ll happen! Love you too- good luck with everything!

  2. Pingback: What I’m Working Towards | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

