days 20-22 {frozen, on track, and number}

Woah woah woah- how did THIS frozen treat end up in my freezer.

P1020750

Oh right, I was suckered into buying it when I stopped by a little grocery store nearby. Mmmm locally made ice cream with no artificial ingredients or preservatives. The main reason why I bought it was because I needed something to serve with these bad boys…

P1020755

BROWNIES. But let me tell you guys something- the only ingredients in these brownies are: sweet potato, applesauce, dates, peanut butter, cocoa powder, eggs, and baking powder. And some dark chocolate chips.P1020748

No white sugar. No flour. How crazy is that? And they’re moist and fluffy and delicious! Perfect with some ice cream- that’s for sure.

P1020754

I followed this recipe and am still amazed at how good they came out. I was so happy to get back from my Goruck Nasty challenge yesterday to a warm, well deserved, relatively healthy brownie.

Screenshot 2013-09-22 at 12.02.23 PM

Speaking of the Goruck Nasty… I DID IT.

I stayed on track with my “training” aka continued to work out and focus more on strength training for the past month or so anddd I showed up to the mountain in McGaheysville, VA yesterday and kicked butt! Well, as much butt as a girl like me can possibly kick. But I finished the course nonetheless and have the patch to prove it!

2013-09-21 15.08.01

2013-09-21 16.48.52

It was an extremely hard experience. The incline for the running portion of the course was so steep that you couldn’t run- you had to power walk it. It was HARD. Especially after maneuvering your way through rough obstacles. But I knew that it was going to be hard going into it so I felt prepared. I wasn’t overwhelmed by it. I mean I was running a course designed by U.S. Special Forces. But still. I will emphasize- this was no walk in the park.

I will also say- I couldn’t have done it without the amazing people from my gym, my friends, instructors, and even the strangers that I got to know throughout the day. Their help and their encouraging words and unrelenting positivity + my own mental and physical strength = success. It’s so much harder to give up when you’re getting high fived and cheered on by people. Thank GAHD for my partners in crime from Balance Gym.

Out of the 27ish obstacles, there were only 6-7 that I couldn’t do either to the fact that 1) I physically just couldn’t do it or 2) the line to do the obstacle was over an hour long (!) and me and my crew didn’t want to wait that long. We completed the course in four-ish hours. And man were those hours LONG.

Screenshot 2013-09-22 at 11.14.00 AM

don’t be fooled- this is us after finishing and “getting clean.” we were a HOT MESS straight off the course. I’m amazed we even managed to look this presentable afterwards.

It was raining, it was kind of cold, it was painful, and it was just as hard stay positive as it was to physically get through everything. Mud. Rocks. Dirt. High grass. Steep hills. Crazy obstacles that made me ask, wait, why did I PAY to do this, again?

I had some flashbacks to the OutRun Adventure I did last month and some more why on earth am I doing this- I am actually crazy- no, I’m actually STUPID thoughts running through my brain- but knowing that I had come so far and already done so much- it really got me to the end.

If you don’t push yourself every once and a while to do something wicked challenging, you miss major opportunities to grow and you’ll never really know what you’re capable of. Goruck Nasty was a learning experience that’s for sure. And it was also an amazing human bonding experience with some of my favorite people.

Cadre Godfrey- proud number 0672 -reported for duty.

P1020756

And today is a big ol’ recovery day- and it’s the FIRST DAY OF AUTUMN. To celebrate, I made Will and I these pumpkin almond flour pancakes (great recipe, by the way!) and painted my sore toes and fingers a deep red color.P1020757

Ruby Slipper by Mary Kay, number CK08 to be exact.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “days 20-22 {frozen, on track, and number}

  1. Pingback: day twenty five {cozy} | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Make Bake Share | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: 23 Things I’ve Learned | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

