September Blog Break

I was inspired a couple of weeks ago by this idea from photographer Susannah Conway called The August Break and have been thinking about it ever since. The whole idea behind it is to share/take more photos and to be more present in your every day life. To take in your surroundings and appreciate the moments that really mean something to you- instead of just taking pictures to take pictures and sharing thoughts just to say something.

All too often I get caught up in taking pictures of stuff for the blog and over thinking what I’m doing for the sake of being able to write about it and share it here on Wicked Healthy Washingtonian. I love blogging, I really really do. When I go days without it, I feel weird and I miss it. But I also love living in the moment and not forcing things when I know I’m tired, overwhelmed, and in need of a break.

And being real with myself- I need a blogging break. Not a big one, but I need a change of pace for a little while that will bring less stress in my life. My month of September needs this break more than August did. The work madness of last week and all the being sick shenanigans only made it more evident that I had to do something.

Thus, tomorrow I’m enacting The September Break. This photo break is based off of Susannah’s idea and I even searched the web to see if there were September-ish photo blog things that I could apply to my own blog break. Basically, I stole a bunch of la-dee-dah words from various blogging challenges and 30-day photo things to create my own list of word themes to base picture posts off of.

September BreakI will post at least thirty photos in September and each photo (or mini set of photos) will correspond to the themes above. Sometimes I’ll say a little blurb, sometimes I’ll write something more substantial than that, and sometimes it will just be the photo(s). Sometimes I won’t post over the weekend and will give you the accompanying photos all in one post to catch up. Basically- there are no rules except for the fact that there will be thirty photos (well at least thirty photos- sometimes I’ll share more than one if I feel like it). Rules are fun when you get to control them.

You’ll still here from me frequently, but it will just be in a photo-centric way for the next month. It’s going to be a busy one for me full of trips to other cities, fitness adventures, and the transition from summer to fall. Promise to stick with me? You’ve all seen me change things up in the past year or so of my blogging so hopefully you’ll be a-ok with this change to fit my current needs and lifestyle.

It’s something I need to do to take off a little bit of the pressure I have sitting on my shoulders. It’s something I need to do to take a step back, breathe, and tap into my creativity.

Other bloggers- feel free to steal my idea and the pathetic graphic I made for it (in paint lolz no shame) above. I would love for you to join me if you feel so inclined!

They always say that pictures are worth a thousand words. I’ll do my best to capture the next thirty days of my life in wonderful photos.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

10 thoughts on “September Blog Break

  1. Pingback: day one {breakfast} | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: days 26 and 27 {upside down + powerful} | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: May Blogging Challenge | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

