Blogging for Hope: Kid Friendly

This blog post is a part of the series, Blogging for Hope which benefits the Taste of Hope event sponsored by the American Cancer Society (ACS). It’s all about sharing food ideas that are helpful in cancer prevention and for those undergoing cancer treatment. And it’s all suggested with the ACS nutritional guidelines in mind (click here to view those guidelines).  Just as a reminder- you will see a Blogging for Hope post from me every Tuesday till the event on September 24th.

Here are the past blog posts from this series:

The theme for week FIVE is kid friendly!

Now. I don’t have kids.Thus, you could say that maybe I’m not the best person to write about this kind of stuff. While it is true that I am child-less at the moment, I would argue that being the oldest sister of three, the oldest cousin of a handful, and all around maternal instinct driven kind of person- that I know a thing or two about making kids happy. And actually, I cannot wait to have a family of my own. I am definitely happy to wait till a more appropriate time to have children, but I often get excited thinking about raising my own kids and being a Mom. Yup. I’m one of those people. I’m pretty sure I’ve always wanted to be a Mom first and foremost in life. Say what you will- but family is what makes me happy.

Anyway, I was having this conversation the other day with someone about how I can’t wait to expose my kids to a lot of different types of foods at a very young age. I was anti so many foods in my life up until a couple years ago and it seriously bums me out that I missed out on so many amazing eats and foodie opportunities because I was hesitant to eat things that seemed strange to me.

So even though I think its important to cater meals and foods to be more appropriate for children, early on, I want to make sure that they’re developing a broad palette that will inspire them to want to try everything as they get older and not be so close minded when it comes to eating. So get ready future kids of mine, you’re going to be exposed to a lot of good stuff.

So what is this future kids of Allison jargon all about? Its a preface to a kid friendly recipe that I want to share with you all today for Blogging for Hope.

Shrimp Rolls

Inspired by my love of all things seafood {yes, I am a New England girl through and through} and this recipe that I found from Martha Stewart, I got to work on a healthier version of shrimp rolls that kids and adults alike would enjoy. When you say “kid friendly” and “shrimp rolls” together… it doesn’t really seem like the two go hand in hand. Shrimp rolls for some reason just sound a little too fancy schmancy for kids. But I promise they’re not. They’re a wonderful addition to any cute little summer meal that I can picture kids getting on board with. Most likely because of the hot dog bun, bright colored corn, and mild but yummy taste.

I mean, who doesn’t want an easy meal that pleases both the grownups and the children? EXTRA added bonus- as summer is coming to a close, this is a great summer meal to squeeze in before autumn strikes.

Now, I only made two servings of this recipe, so I made a small amount and scaled it down a lot. Feel free to scale up in order to fit your family’s needs.

Ingredients I used:

  • 2 whole wheat hot dog buns
  • 1/2 lb. frozen, medium sized shrimp
  • 1 small avocado
  • 1 stalk celery chopped
  • 1/2 cup corn (mine was from a can)
  • 1 green onion sliced thinly
  • 2-3 tbl. greek yogurt
  • Zest from a lemon
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • 1/2 tbl. tarragon
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sprouts (optional)

P1020431

Side note: I was making this in advance to take to work, but if you’re cooking these up at home and serving right away- I would recommend patting a little bit of butter on the rolls and toasting them if possible! It will bring your shrimp rolls to another level (it will be reminiscent of a New England favorite- lobstah rolls).

P1020456

I used frozen shrimp and defrosted them in a colander over night. I removed the tails and peeled these bad boys.

P1020457

I sauteed the shrimp till cooked through on the stove- lightly seasoned with salt.

P1020458

While the shrimp were cooking, I assembled the corn, lemon zest, lemon juice, tarragon, green onion, S&P and greek yogurt into a bowl (tupperware container)

P1020459

P1020460

I then chopped the celery and the shrimp up when the shrimp were done cooking.

P1020461

I added the celery and the shrimp to the other ingredients and mixed it all together!

P1020468

With the shrimp mixture taken care of, I got to work on the hot dog rolls. If you want to use sprouts, I added a small handful into the bottom of my bun. I also sliced up my avocado so that I could add it to the roll.

P1020469

I stuffed the roll with the shrimp mixture and added some thin slices of avocado.

P1020470

I served my shrimp roll with a side of the shrimp roll mixture and packed it up to take for lunch the next day.

It’s not a heavy recipe at all and is meant to be served with your favorite sides. I paired mine with a piece of fruit and a greek yogurt at lunches- but I could easily see it being served with your favorite summer sides at a cookout or backyard/patio/porch summer dinner.

Why this recipe is a knock out:

  • Whole wheat hot dog buns: I know growing up that I hated multigrain bread and “brown breads” because they tended to have actually grains or seeds in them (and the texture threw me off big time). If you were to hand me a whole wheat hot dog bun… I would have had no idea. It’s an easy way to get kids to unknowingly be making a healthy choice.
  • PLUS hot dog buns are just fun. They’re appealing to kids and kid friendly mainly because of their “hold-ability.” Little fingers can easily hold a hot dog bun. 
  • Not to mention, the ingredients in the roll are bite sized so if they fall out and onto the plate, they’re easy and not wicked messy for kids to pick up and eat.
  • Good source of protein: healthier than your typical processed hot dog, shrimp are a delicious seafood treat to feed your family. I know they’re one of my favorite things and even growing up- I could not get my hands on enough shrimp cocktail.
  • Greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise: by making the simple swap of greek yogurt for the mayo that could be used in this recipe, you’re not only saving calories and grams of fat, but you’re giving your kids more protein and a healthy “sauce” alternative.
  • Avocado: even with kids- you cannot discount the importance of healthy fats! This is a sneaky way to get in some avocado to your kids diets.
  • Veggies: corn is usually one of the easier vegetables for kids to go for. It’s sweet and a bright, vibrant color. Stuffing veggies in a hot dog bun is a stealth way to make vegetable consumption more fun.
  • Optional sprouts: Maybe you’ll leave these out for the kids, but for adults, adding a small handful of sprouts into your bun is an easy way to add more veggies into YOUR diet. They add some crunch and a health bonus punch.

And if you’re like me and don’t really eat celery all too often… you might be wondering how to use up the leftover stalks you have in your fridge.  I have the perfect answer for you- another kid friendly recipe that occasionally even fuels me after work before hitting up the gym- ants on a log. A twist on my usual fruit and nut snacks 😉

P1020532

More Information about Taste of Hope
(which Blogging for Hope is in conjunction with)

Taste of Hope is the American Cancer Society’s signature culinary, wine and spirits event featuring more than 50 of Washington DC’s most popular chefs, restaurants and beverage vendors. Guests enjoy a walk around tasting format where they can sample signature dishes, premier wines and spirits and inventive cocktails. Hosted by the American Cancer Society and Chef Honoree Mike Isabella, all proceeds from Taste of Hope go toward our goal of eliminating cancer as a major health problem. This year the American Cancer Society celebrates their 100th birthday!  Together, we save lives and create a world with more birthdays by helping you stay well, helping you get well, finding cures and fighting back.

Taste of Hope will be held on September 24, 2013 at the Carnegie Library.

  • Tickets can be purchased here.
  • Donations to can be made here.

tasteofhope

Disclaimer: Blogging for Hope is a group of DC area bloggers promoting Taste of Hope through healthy recipes. I am not a doctor, dietician, or nutritionist.  I am not a trained health care provider.  I do not claim that my food will cure any cause, condition, or disease.  Consult your primary physician or oncologist before starting any new diet.

I am in direct ability and use of conversation under following articles.

  • (9) A person who does not hold himself out to be a dietitian or nutritionist when that person furnishes nutrition information on food, food materials, or dietary supplements. This Article does not prohibit that person from making explanations to customers about foods or food products in connection with the marketing and distribution of these products.
  • (10) An herbalist or other person who does not hold himself out to be a dietitian or nutritionist when the person furnishes nonfraudulent specific nutritional information and counseling about the reported or historical use of herbs, vitamins, minerals, amino acids, carbohydrates, sugars, enzymes, food concentrates, or other foods. (1991, c. 668, s. 1; 1995, c. 509, s. 135.2(s).)

Again, you are not on the website of a doctor, nutritionist, or dietitian. If you wish to do so please contact a board certified professional in your state.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

7 thoughts on “Blogging for Hope: Kid Friendly

  1. i’ve been dying for a lobster roll but it just isn’t happening at my current locale. i can’t be that mad about it but now i’m definitely going to have to make these to try them! i have some whole wheat hamburger buns and some fennel stalks that need using so i’ll mix it up but i’m pumped to see how it all tastes. thanks for an awesome idea!

  2. Pingback: Three Things | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

