Eggplant B.L.T.

Yesterday was nothing special- but it was definitely a better day than ones I’ve had of late. It wasn’t exceptionally good or anything, but it was a solid day where everything sort of just went right. As I was saying on Tuesday, you can’t force good days to happen and you can’t predict them. They happen organically and they tend to happen more when you just stop trying so hard to make things perfect. Enter my Wednesday.

It started with an email from Whole Foods telling me of their one-day only special BOGO sale on KIND bars. I got this email literally right after I was thinking hmmm I should pick up some Kind bars to take with me on the long plane ride to Russia. Whole Foods can read minds apparently. Side note- today they emailed me telling me that I could enter their little giveaway contest to win FIVE pounds of cherries. Regular readers know my recent woes with cherries and so again, that email was another weird telepathic connection between Whole Foods and I. I don’t even know how I’d handle five pounds of cherries. Oh wait. Yes I do. I’d eat them all. Okay glad that’s settled.

ANYWAY. Work was good yesterday- I was productive and efficient. I squeezed in a blog post where I got to get some excitement about Russia off my chest. And I was even able to talk to my sister briefly on my lunch break.

I didn’t really want to go to the gym after work. But I did. I planned to go to yoga at 6pm, but first do a quick thirty minute treadmill run. I like to run and then go to yoga because I feel like its a really good stretch for me post running.. I would normally run and then go home and stretch anyway so I might as well have someone lead me in a better stretch than I would get by myself.  Plus my body is warmed up very well to get all those yoga benefits

I was kind of in a negative mindset though when I got to the gym and almost talked myself of doing everything. Somehow I managed to stay and ended up not only tackling this challenging run (that I stole from Tina)…

  • {set incline to 1%}
  • 00:00 – 05:00: 6.3 mph
  • 05:00 – 07:00: 6.5 mph
  • 07:00 – 09:00: 6.6 mph
  • 09:00 – 11:00: 6.7 mph
  • 11:00 – 16:00: 6.8 mph
  • 16:00 – 21:00: 6.5 mph
  • 21:00 – 22:00: 6.7 mph
  • 22:00 – 23:00: 7.5 mph
  • 23:00 – 24:00: 6.5 mph
  • 24:00 – 25:00: 7.5 mph
  • 25:00 – 26:00: 6.5 mph
  • 26:00 – 27:00: 7.5 mph
  • 27:00 – 29:00: 6.5 mph
  • 29:00 – 30:00: 6.3 mph

…but also then at yoga, despite being thrown off slightly by 1) a girl passing out at the beginning of class (wah!) and 2) this guy with awful balance standing in front of me and wobbling all over the place- I was able to concentrate, focus, and have a really really good practice. I think it was the best I’ve ever seen my crow {which made me smile like a huge idiot}.

I wasn’t expecting a good workout AT ALL but I beasted out a run that I had seen a couple months ago and thought was borderline impossible AND held poses at yoga that usually are the hardest ones for me to handle.

Moral of the story: always attempt a workout even if you want to throw in the towel.

Second moral of the story: be patient with the fitness progress you want to make- keep working hard and one day you’ll be able to do things you never thought you’d be able to do.

The rain promised by the weather man held off till later in the evening so I was able to call my Mom on my walk back from the gym. Man I miss her {and home in general}.

And then- while my day might not have been exceptionally good for any reason- my dinner certainly was. I didn’t think it would be anything special- but oh- it was.

I used to love when my Mom would make BLTs at home. Love. The smell of bacon that would loft through our house was intoxicating. I just could never understand how such a simple sandwich could be so delicious. Toasted bread, mayonnaise, tomato, lettuce, and of course- bacon. I have distinct memories of licking my fingers and devouring a BLT at my kitchen table.

I upped the ante last night and concocted one of the best sandwiches I’ve had in a while. A lot of you know- I love eggplant {a fairly recent discovery}. I usually buy it every week and roast it to have on hand to add to sandwiches or salads. So when I decided that I wanted BLTs this week (mainly because they’re cheap and easy) and was thinking of ways to “beef up” the sandwich… my mind went to that roasted eggplant.

P1010418

I already had the eggplant sliced and roasted in the fridge so all I had to basically do last night was cook the bacon. Mmmm bacon.

While cooking the bacon (to which I added some garlic so it would get all roasted and whatnot in the pan yummm), I toasted some ezekiel bread in my toaster oven- and melted pepperjack cheese on one piece of the bread. You can use whatever bread you would like. Maybe try and make it whole grain to cancel out whatever “unhealthy” feelings you have about bacon. I put it in quotes because bacon isn’t unhealthy. Get outta here.

Speaking of “unhealthy,” I only put the cheese on one slice of bread so that I could spread a small amount of mayonnaise on the other slice. Say what you want about mayo- but I’ve always loved it. And to me- it’s just as critical to a good BLT as the bacon itself. Yep I said it. I rarely eat mayo as I’ve turned to other spreads that are yogurt or avocado based- but it’s a must on my BLT. I just made sure to not go crazy with it.

P1010438

I used the gooey cheese to hold down a small handful of spinach and then added the tomato, slices of roasted eggplant, and bacon.

P1010439

P1010442

Served with a side of cucumber “chips” and Trader Joe’s reduced guilt guacamole {it’s made with greek yogurt in addition to the regular guac ingredients}. I was introduced to this magical concoction by my Aunt and Cousin at home.

P1010440

I took this pic pre-cutting the sandwich into triangles. My favorite way to enjoy a sandwich.

Filling, comforting, and just as good as I remembered it as a kid. BLTs man. They are great. Even when you try and health-ify them a little bit. Extra added bonus- I made TWO sandwiches, resisted the slight urge to eat them both ;), and packed one up for lunch today. Needless to say… I’m excited for lunch.

And the Red Sox won yesterday. Obviously making the day better all around. Although, the Red Sox winning these days is certainly not a rarity. I love all Boston sports, but the Red Sox are my number one true love SO  their recent success has made me a happy gal. Baseball is my thang. With all the Patriots drama happening {see: murder charges} and the Bruins losing the cup {so sad}… can we all just take a minute to recognize that the Red Sox are absolutely AMAZING right now?! I feel like they’re not getting the credit they deserve. I’ll just continue to sit over here and be their number one cheerleader. It’s fine everyone. BUT someone needs to cover me when I go to Russia… damn I’m going to miss my guys…

sox

Anyhoo- TODAY is my Friday! Yes! And TODAY is pay day! Yes! And we’re having a party today at work for my boss aka free cake. Yes!.AND TODAY is my last day of work until Monday, July 15th. YES YES. YES. Oh and I leave for Russia in four days. No biggie.

This weekend is going to be filled with lots of time with Will {I haven’t seen him in two weeks and miss him like a crazy person}, trying to make sure I have everything figured out for my trip, and celebrating Will’s 23rd birthday SO I’m not sure how much I’ll be around or when you’ll hear from me next.

I can promise at least one more post pre-Russia so stay tuned. It’s weird to say, but you guys are going to have to get used to hearing from me less though because I’m about to go on a two week hiatus- eep! Can’t say I’ll be blogging from the Motherland.

Hopefully everyone is having a solid Thursday thus far. If not and you’re riding the struggle bus- just keep in mind that your life is at least better than THIS lady at the moment…

Did anyone else watch Paula Deen’s interview with Matt Lauer yesterday… holy awkward uncomfortable mess.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “Eggplant B.L.T.

  1. I don’t really like sandwiches normally (I know. Weird.) but that sounds aaaaamazing and I too have always liked mayo on sandwiches even if it is weird. I just ate breakfast but now you got me wanting a blte!

  2. OMG! That sandwich looks and sound so delicious! Why didn’t I think of that? You know what else is good; an egg on the BLT cooked over easy so the yolk oozes through the sandwich I call it a BELT; guess you could call it the same with the eggplant! So excited for you so many things happening for you! Loved talking with you today(and the other day)! Love you!

  3. Pingback: Blogging for Hope: Sandwiches | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

