CrossFit and More Capers

In this phase of my life, I am definitely more open to saying “yes” to interesting opportunities when they present themselves to me. Even if they scare me a little bit. The quote is overused all over the place, but I point to Eleanor Roosevelt who said, “do one thing every day that scares you.” I cover this challenge each time I choose to ride my bike from one place another in the city {truth}. But I also respond to Roosevelt’s dare in other ways.

For as much working out as I do and all the bootcamp style exercises/classes I take part in, CrossFit will always be slightly intimidating to me. Thus when the business development director of the training company Fitness Efx, Dawn, reached out to me to let me try out their group of CrossFit boxes, half of me was a little hesitant. But the other half of me wanted in. So in it was for me.

fitness efx

The only other CrossFit class I have taken was back when I first joined my gym in September. Other than that, my experience with CrossFit is limited to my bootcamp classes (that are led by some CrossFit athletes and incorporate a lot of the lingo, style, and moves into our classes), talks about the phenomenon with my Group Aerobic Fitness instructor back when I was at American, and my own perusings of CrossFit games and going to events at CrossFit boxes in the area.

The reason why I say that I’m slightly intimidated by CrossFit is twofold. One, CrossFit boxes tend to be really tight knit (and relatively small) communities of people. It is very clear when an “outsider” is present. I’ve never once had a bad experience where I was treated like an “outsider” (and in fact- every box I’ve been to has been filled with ridiculously nice and welcoming people), but I hate that feeling of sticking out like a sore thumb. Not really a fan of attention. I’m too awkward for that.

Second, CrossFit is intense and its movements and training regime reflect that- we are talking a high intensity focus here. It is technique driven, has an emphasis on variety, and is all about increasing your functional mobility. People who get involved with CrossFit usually get really involved. It doesn’t have to take over your whole life- but it definitely becomes a huge part of it when you join a box. CrossFitters tend to be dedicated and very passionate about their way of exercise. Which is totally cool! But for someone like me, where fitness plays less of a overarching role in guiding my life- and for someone like me where I’m just admittedly not that committed to achieving big fitness goals, it’s kind of… a lot. As I said earlier- intimidating.

All those shenanigans aside, I’ve loved every CrossFit workout I’ve ever done. So I don’t know what that says about me.

Something GREAT about CrossFit is that its exercises are adaptable and can be adjusted as needed. Just another reason why it shouldn’t be intimidating. CrossFit stresses that the fitness needs of the average person and top athlete are the same- the intensity is the only thing that should varies. Thus, modifications are offered on almost every exercise they have you doing.

I had a great experience over at CrossFit Metro Center! The coaches were wicked warm and nice. They not only offered me modifications, but they helped me correct my form and explained well to me what I should be doing and why I should be doing it. Being someone who takes everything way too seriously, having one of the coaches (Judd) tell me that it helps to smile- was much needed. And did in fact make me smile.

The workout wasn’t long but it was intense. It involved squat cleans (which is a very weird movement for my brain to comprehend) and push-ups. It felt good- I was a fan.

If you’re seriously looking into getting involved in CrossFit, I would recommend having this place on your list of boxes to check out. Like I said, everything was explained really well, I felt really safe, I felt like the coaches “had my back,” and the people were cool!

{Thanks again for letting me stop by, Dawn! It was great to meet you and all the other badass people over at CrossFit Metro Center}

Now to address the other half of this blog titleas I said yesterday, when meal planning for this week I was looking for ways to use the capers I bought for the Greek Quinoa Salad of last week. I also was looking for ways to use up the quinoa.

Enter: Lemon Caper Chickpea Salad (served over quinoa) from Kath. It is a delicious salad with a tasty dressing that can all be served over your choice of whole grain. I made what I whipped up last for three separate meals.

P1010315

In my salad:

  • 1 can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup of halved grape tomatoes
  • 2 persian cucumbers sliced
  • 2 cups of baby spinach chopped up
  • 1/4 cup of crumbled feta
  • 2 tbl. walnuts

P1010314

In my dressing mix:

  • Zest of one lemon
  • Juice of half of the lemon
  • 2 tsp. e.v.o.o.
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 tbl. capers
  • 1 tbl. mayonnaise

P1010312

P1010313

Served over:

  • Quinoa, quinoa, and more quinoa

I’ve had this meal heated up and hot outta the microwave AND I’ve also had it cold outta some tupperware in the fridge. It tastes good either way. I’ve found that it travels well as a grab and go healthy lunch.

Before I go, I must provide some sports commentary. Which lately has become a regular thing around here. I guess that’s what happens when interesting stuff is going down!

  1. BRUINS vs. Blackhawks Game One TONIGHT. EEP.
  2. Dear Red Sox, Let’s try and win this series against the Rays- okay? Love, me.
  3. Bwhahaha Miami Heat. I really hope you lose it all.
  4. Bill Belichick is the man and I love him. His response to Tebow questions at the press conference held yesterday were classic: “We’ve already talked enough about him. I think I’ve covered it. Anything else?” 

Oh and RUSSIA TRIP UPDATE! I received a more detailed email regarding what to bring and expect from the professor leading the trip. Needless to say, I was ridiculously excited this morning to hear more specifics about stuff. In the section about apparel, it was noted:  “bring business attire for a concert at the Mariinsky Theater in St. Petersburg.” I died and went to heaven for a moment. I cannot believe I’m actually going to sit in this place:

And now I’m done. Tonight before the Bruins game (BECAUSE ITS THE CUP) I shall make my valiant return to the evil roof that cut my foot last week. Hopefully no injuries will take place later tonight and I can show that roof who’s boss.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “CrossFit and More Capers

  1. I love how excited about New England sports teams you are! I loosely follow the Red Sox and obviously am a fan but I’ve never gotten super into watching sports. Crossfit intimidates me too. I feel like its kind of cultish but I think it has to do with that small community. And i cant get into the paleo lifestyle… but thats fine, People probably say the same thing about me and running. To each his own I guess!

  2. There are so many crossfit boxes in DC it blows my mind. I have gone to two free classes both at different places. And they were both so different which was even cooler. It def isn’t for me, in the long term, but like you said I did like it.

  3. Pingback: Push It | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

