Smoked

Sometimes meals are just as pretty as they are satisfying.

P1010318

Last week I bought capers for a Greek Quinoa Salad and so this week, thinking of ways to use the jar of capers in my fridge, I turned to smoked salmon. I tend to forget about smoked salmon and am always so happy to remember it exists.

You’ve seen it appear on my blog before:

When I say I forget about smoked salmon- I should say that those moments of absentmindedness are relatively short lived (as evidenced by the amount of times I do buy it and incorporate it in as many things as possible).

This week, what started out as a plan for open faced sandwiches (or tartines if you want to be fancy and french) turned into salads. I was going to have salad on the side of my sandwich and then as I was prepping dinner… decided to just throw it all together. This happens frequently. Not sorry about it.

On Sunday I prepared the salmon mixture in the photo above. In the mix is:

  • 4 oz. of smoked salmon
  • 1/2 of a red onion diced
  • 1 tbl. of capers (chopped up a bit)
  • 2 tsp. dried dill
  • 1 tbl. olive oil
  • 1/2 of a lemon juiced

Here is the original recipe that I followed

P1010319

You could easily take this mixture and drop spoonfuls on little crudites as a party appetizer and add either some cream cheese, avocado, or a small dollop of sour cream. Or you could even serve it on thick slices of cucumber as another appetizer idea. You could add this mix to a sandwich, a wrap, or throw it on top of some eggs or in an omelette. Versatility.

Or you could be like me (and who doesn’t want that) and put it on top of spinach.

P1010322

P1010323

I took half of the mixture above, put in on top of a bed of spinach, added some avocado, and some swiss cheesey croutons (I just toasted a piece of whole grain bread and smeared it with a cheese wedge- cut that up into cubes and threw it in the salad). Served with a side of orange wedges.

P1010324

P1010325

This is definitely one of the better meals I’ve made for myself lately. I think prepping the smoked salmon mixture over the weekend and letting the flavors meld together made a big difference in the taste of the final product.

In sports related news, all I have to say in regards to the Patriots latest acquisition is: In Belichick we trust. I’m intrigued by this little experiment we have embarked on.

And there was a little mini fight between the Rays and Red Sox last night which was fun. Mainly because I got to listen to the ESPN announcers talk about how the behavior of catcher Saltalamacchia reminded them of Jason Varitek (the love interest for the majority of my life, former captain of the Red Sox, and captain of my heart). Other than that… nothing actually happened in the fight- no punches thrown. Unfortunately. Ugh the Rays- how I loathe thee.

soxfight

In weather related news, is there someone I can pay to ensure that the sunshine will stick around? Because if so, I will take one for the team and fork up the cash for that.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

3 thoughts on “Smoked

  1. So good hearing your voice last night; it was the medicine I needed for missing you! This morning marks the third rainy day in a row..ugh! It is supposed to clear up this afternoon, one can only hope! Go Bruins! Love you!

  2. Pingback: CrossFit and More Capers | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

