Frozen and Fresh Concoctions

How about them BRUINS. Seriously- such a good game last night. Prior to this pre-Stanley cup series, all I heard was how badly the Bs were going to get beat by the Penguins. Everyone was telling me that we didn’t stand a chance at winning this. What haters. Bwah hah hah. The Bruins haven’t even stepped foot in TD Garden yet and have already totally owned the Penguins twice. I know we have to win two more games but damn- I’m impressed thus far. What I find hilarious is that while I’m not surprised that the Bruins are dominating (we’re a great team!), the announcers are attributing our wins to the Penguins not playing well. Excuse me. No no. We’re just THAT good. Get over it.

In between the first and second period of the game, I made something absolutely delicious that I need to share with you guys. I didn’t want to leave my apartment because I was watching the game but I was craving something sweet and wanted something desserty. It was then I remembered that I had a frozen banana in the freezer. I’ve thrown a frozen banana in my food processor with some peanut butter before (so tasty, by the way) but I wanted something different.

In walks a wedge of laughing cow cinnamon cream cheese.

P1010259

Here you see frozen banana slices and a couple shakes of cinnamon in my processor pre-pulsing action.

P1010260

Oh hello there, friend.

P1010261

The result of pulsing the banana in the food processor with the added cream cheese. Solid, creamy, cold, tasty.

All you need to recreate this masterpiece:

  • 1 ripe banana- sliced up and frozen
  • 1 wedge of laughing cow cinnamon cream cheese (or regular)
  • optional additional mix ins: chocolate chips, peanut butter, coconut, etc.

Add the first two items to a food processor or blender and pulse until creamy and smooth! Feel free to add other mix ins as you go or stir them in at the end.

P1010262

I literally dragged my fingers through the processor bowl to get every last drop of the goodness. If it wasn’t so awkward shaped- I would have licked it completely clean. Face meets food processor style.

Now I’m not going to sit here and say ~*~oH My GoD tHiS iS bEtTeR tHaN iCe CrEaM~*~ and I’m not going to call it the “healthy version of ice cream.” It’s not ice cream. It’s not froyo. It’s something completely different. It’s SO GOOD and deserves its own name.

It’s whipped frozen banana and it’s sweet, cold, creamy, healthy, and yummy. Ice cream is great- don’t get me wrong- I eat ice cream and froyo on a weekly basis (especially now that its summer) but if you’re looking for an alternative, lower sugar, healthier frozen snack that you can make yourself… look no further my readers.

I ate my cup of whipped frozen banana with some chocolate cat cookies from Trader Joes. They enjoyed their whipped frozen banana bath.

P1010263

P1010265

I’m a huge fan of cream cheese and ricotta cheese in desserts- in anything from a cheese cake to a coffee cake of sorts. This blend gave me that cream cheese taste and it worked so well with the sweetness of the frozen banana. Frozen bananas already get pretty creamy on their own- but the cream cheese added to that making it even better.

If you’ve never experienced the magic that is frozen bananas- you’re missing out. They get to a ice cream like consistency when frozen and then pulsed in a food processor, mashed via fork, or mixed up in your blender. The freezability of bananas is one of the many reasons why I’m absolutely in love with bananas.

I’ve shared other frozen banana treats on here before:

Instead of using your ripe bananas to bake bread- freeze them! Such a multi-purposeful fruit. 

In addition to my frozen concoction  {which I tweeted last night was almost as magical as the Bruins game} I had a fresh concoction for dinner that I want to spread the word on! Big surprise- it was another pasta salad courtesy of Kath.

On Sunday I made a big patch of Kath’s Greek Quinoa Salad to have on hand for dinners this week. That’s right- I have dinner already made for every night this week. Productivity and efficiency at its finest.

P1010254

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 1 lb. bag of shrimp
  • 1 cup of dry quinoa, cooked
  • 1 bunch of asparagus (roasted)
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes (roasted)
  • 1 chopped zucchini (roasted)
  • 2 chopped persian cucumbers
  • 1/2 cup sliced black olives
  • 2 tbsp. capers
  • 1 lemon and its zest
  • 1 tbl. olive oil
  • 4 oz. feta cheese
  • Hefty shakes of oregano
  • Handful of chopped spinach

You can cook the shrimp or the veggies anyway you want but basically you just toss all this together once you have your ingredients in place {mise en place, if you will}. I divided what I made into four portions for grab and go (or grab and plate) meals.

P1010250

P1010251

P1010252

P1010253

P1010256

Click here for her original recipe.

What drew me to this recipe was not only the fact that it is a chilled pasta salad of sorts- but it allowed me to continue my recent food interest in olives! Olives + seafood + other veggies I love? Sold.

It also allowed me to experiment further with different types of grains. Get this- I’ve never actually made quinoa before in my kitchen. I’ve eaten it loads of times. But I’ve never made it. Verdict? Easy but messy- the little grains get all over the place and are kind of hard to control. But maybe you’re less of a slob than I am.

You know you spend too much time in the healthy/nutrition/eating well/blogger world when your jaw literally drops in front of a coworker who says- have you ever had quinoa? what’s the deal with that- I’ve heard its good for you. Because that literally happened at work yesterday. It’s like they knew what I had prepared for dinner the day before.

My initial reaction was almost WHAT. How do you know nothing about the complete protein source that is quinoa! Do you live under a rock?! But then I stopped my obnoxious self, took a step back, and discussed with them the wonderful whole grain. Situations like this remind me how much time and energy I expend researching nutrition and healthy eats. I don’t hate it. I have to remember that I used to think quinoa was weird and only for super health freaks {oh how things change}.

I digress. Try out this Greek Quinoa Salad! It’s another good meal to add to your summer rotation. You can easily swap out different veggies that you prefer, add more seasonings, add more or less cheese, change the grain you want to use or even eliminate the grains all together, serve it over more fresh greens, add avocado- it’s flexible- make it your own 😉

P1010255

{Side note: how GORGEOUS is this D.C. weather, 80s- breezy, no humidity- I’m in love}

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

15 thoughts on “Frozen and Fresh Concoctions

  1. I make my quinoa in my rice cooker. It’s basically the easiest thing ever and you can get one pretty cheap!

  2. That banana cheese froyo (i guess that’s what i’ll call it, lol) looks amazing! can’t wait till my cleanse is over so i can make it 🙂

  3. Alli can’t wait to try the whipped frozen banana dish yummy! Also that salad jumped right off the screen at me, hello gorgeous! Wasn’t the announcer so obnoxious last night? We were so annoyed with all of his comments,but he only made himself look like the biggest tool! Bruins are da bomb! Love you!

  4. Yum!!! I want that banana dessert nowwww! I feel like it would have a rich cream cheesey frosting like taste to it and I think I may be stopping at the store on the way home tonight so that I can make this haha I am in a mode for sweets right now and have been devouring everything in my path, so this healthier alternative may be just what i need!!

  5. Pingback: Things I’m Loving | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: The Best Laid Plans | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: Little Bit of Everything | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  8. Pingback: Smoked | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  9. Pingback: CrossFit and More Capers | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  10. Pingback: Blogging for Hope: Frozen Treat | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  11. Pingback: Reimagined Banana Cream Pie | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

