Summery Salads

So as you’re well aware: my pasta salad obsession hasn’t ended. The more I make and eat- the more I crave. It’s that time of year- cookouts, barbecues, parties with family and friends, eating meals outside, the beginning of summer.

When the heat is on- you want food that feels light and refreshing. I hate using the word “refreshing” to describe food but it’s the best way to get the point across that you don’t want to eat foods that are only going to make you feel grosser in the summer heat or make you feel bloated. And if you spend a lot of time outside like I do- you don’t necessarily want to be munching on hot foods while you’re dripping with sweat. Just sayin.

Prepared salads of all varieties are certainly going to make my summer delicious, nutritious, and… awesome? Yes. let’s go with awesome.

This past Memorial Day weekend I let summery pasta-y salads get the best of me and not only made a big batch of one for Will and I for two dinners:

P1010173

but I also prepped some yummy ones to have during the week. I loved two of the recipes so much that I have decided to share them with you today.

I do have a confession to make. I didn’t create these recipes and cannot take credit for them. I stole them both from Kath and made them my own in small ways. She recently compiled a good list of good picnic salads and I have been reaping the benefits of her hard work and recipe magic.

1. Strawberry Basil Pasta Salad

To read Kath’s original recipe- click here.

Ingredients I used:

  • 3 cups of cooked whole grain elbow macaronis
  • 1 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 cup pesto
  • 2 tbl. pine nuts
  • 1 can of cannellini beans
  • Hefty shakes of basil
  • 1 sliced cucumber
  • 1 cup of goat cheese
  • {I made three lunches out of this mix and served it over spinach and with 1/4 of an avocado}

P1010168

After cooking and cooling the macaroni, I just mixed all this together in a big ol’ bowl and then transferred that to some tupperware.

P1010169

P1010171

P1010170

I’ve been enjoying it outdoors on my lunch break within the park confines of various major rotaries throughout DC.

P1010182

P1010181

P1010183

2. Orangey Bean Salad

To read Kath’s original recipe- click here.

Ingredients I used:

  • 2 oranges- peeled, separated, and chopped
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 can of pinto beans
  • 2 cups of brown rice
  • 1 tbl. olive oil
  • 1 tbl. lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • {I planned to use this mix for two dinners this week}

P1010185

I served this mix over kale and with some cumin/oregano/cayenne pepper seared pork chops. But as Kath suggests in her post- you can scoop up this mix with tortilla chips!

P1010184

P1010186

My definition of what constitutes as a “salad” is ever growing and I don’t really see it stopping any time soon. Especially when I already foresee Kath’s Greek Quinoa Salad and Lemon Caper Chickpea Salad on the horizon…

And when other lovely bloggers share their pasta salad recipes like this one from the DC Girl in Pearls.

Happy Summer Eating!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

7 thoughts on “Summery Salads

  1. These look so yummy! Again good luck this weekend with the road race and have a great weekend in Williamsburg! Love you!

  2. Pingback: Frozen and Fresh Concoctions | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: Grill-less | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

