Let’s Talk About Oats, Baby

Overnight oats. At this point you’ve seen them everywhere. I mean… Buzz Feed has even done a post on them. Whole Foods has a recipe for them online. What I’m also saying here is: they’re trendy and all the rage (and have been for quite some time now- let’s be real). I really only need to direct you to Pinterest to prove this to you.

If you’re not seeing them everywhere- you at have least seen them here on my blog. I talk about them all the time because 1) I love them and 2) I make them a lot. I usually don’t go too in depth with explaining how I make them or providing you all with recipes because I make them pretty much every day and I usually don’t think to do so- they’re an old trick to me at this point.

But all this being said- I receive more questions on a daily basis about overnight oats than anything else in my repertoire. If you’re already an overnight oats fanatic- you don’t really need this post. I just wanted to include one dedicated post to them because they obviously deserve it and if you search “overnight oats” on my blog- you’re going to come up with like half of my posts (yes, I talk about them that frequently).

{I don’t think I fit all the typical stereotypes of a healthy blogger- but one I will accept and be proud of is my obsession with oatmeal and my love of taking pictures of all of the different creations I come up with. Guilty as charged}

When I first started my blog last summer, I introduced overnight oats in an August post. It was also in this post that I revealed my love of Parks and Recreation. And my strong support of breakfast.

ANYWAY. I was inspired to make overnight oats back in the day when I started to eat better last year and was looking for easy, ready to go breakfast options. The woman who started it all for me was Kath of the blog Kath Eats. She has entire pages dedicated to oatmeal, oatmeal recipes, and overnight oats. To check it out (you will not be disappointed) click here. She is the true master of all things oatmeal!

Overnight oats are cool, refreshing, sweet, satisfying, and full of every thing your body needs to start the day off right (see: carbs, protein, healthy fats) And now that summer is getting to be in full swing- they’re a great hot day breakfast that will fill you up without weighing you down.

Warm oatmeal is perfect for cold weather- it sticks to your ribs and keeps your body temperature up before bracing the freezing temps. Overnight oats, however, are the opposite. They’re essentially chilled oats made with milk and mixed with greek yogurt. The oats absorb the liquid and the combination thickens up when mixed together and allowed to sit overnight in your fridge.

A simple google search will yield you millions of overnight oats recipes. The fact of the matter is- you can do pretty much whatever you want with them. Part of the reason why I love them is because they’re so versatile and they allow me to be creative.

BUT the base of my overnight oats (and the majority of recipes you will see) remain the same:

  • Greek yogurt
  • Milk
  • Oats

Those three things are the power core of overnight oats. If you have these three things- you got yourself a breakfast (for arrested development and carl weathers’ fans, you could say “you’ve got yourself a stew.”). Grab yourself a bowl- tupperware container- mason jar- empty nut butter jar- empty big greek yogurt container- whatever holding device you want to use- mix these things together, cover, and place in the fridge overnight.

You can use whatever yogurt you want: flavored or plain (but I do recommend greek because of its amped protein and thickness). You can also use whatever milk you want: cow’s milk, almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk, flavored milks- whatever floats your boat. But for the oats- I always use standard rolled oats.

How much of each you use is a personal preference but my go to is: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup milk. That’s sort of the baseline and from there I adapt it based on whatever else I’m mixing in (for example- if I know I want to top the oats with granola for a crunch factor- I only use 1/3 cup oats)

There are also other ingredients that I always add to the bowl before putting it in the fridge overnight:

  • Either a 1/2 or a whole mashed banana (for sweetness and thickness)
  • 1-2 tbl. of chia seeds or flax meal (for extra nutrition benefits and they really affect the thickness of your oats making them creamier and less runny)
  • Spices- cinnamon is usually in there somewhere but I also sometimes use ginger, nutmeg, or cardamom

And then in the morning, before digging into the bowl, I stir in:

  • Nuts (pecans, walnuts, almonds, etc.) or nut butters (sunflower seed butter, peanut butter, cashew butter, almond butter, etc.)
  • Fruit (apples, pears, berries, orange, mango, pineapple, etc.)
  • Other options: shredded coconut, sweeteners like agave, honey, or syrup, seeds, granola, canned pumpkin, cottage cheese

To make a standard Wicked Healthy Washingtonian bowl of overnight oats:

  • Mash a banana in the bottom of a bowl
  • Add 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup milk, and a literal heaping tbl. of flax meal or chia seeds.
  • Stir in some hefty shakes of cinnamon and nutmeg
  • Mix it all up well
  • Cover and put in the fridge overnight
  • Top in the morning with 2 tbl. of some type of nut butter and 1/2 cup of sliced up fruit.

Again this post may seem redundant for you who are all up in the healthy blogging world or who are overnight oats pros- but I had to do it for those out there still looking to get inspired by something tasty and simple for breakfast.

Seriously- who doesn’t want a breakfast that kind of resembles dessert and that they don’t have to assemble in the morning?

My friend Sara recently wrote a post on Overnight Oats on the “DC Ladies” site where she shares some cool combo ideas. Check it out!

And of course- feel free to search my blog for plenty of combination ideas. But again- I don’t want to give you too much instruction on your oats because I want you to be creative with them! Take what I give you and run with it!

Here are some of my favorites and bowls I’ve made as of late:

P1000857

P1000586

P1000503

  • Raspberry lemonade (raspberries, lemon juice, lemon zest, lemon pulp)

P1010179

P1010180

P1010156

  • Strawberries and cashew butter
  • Christmas oats (candy cane, coconut, walnuts, egg nog, and banana)
  • Pineapple, coconut, and coconut peanut butter
  • Raisins and dark chocolate chips
  • Dried cherries and granola
  • Raisins, apple, and peanut butter
  • Pear and almond butter

And that’s a wrap on overnight oats.

In the words of Biggie, if you don’t know- now you know.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

11 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Oats, Baby

  1. Thanks for posting this! Can you make them further in advance than the night before? Could I make two bowls tonight — one for tomorrow and one for the next day?

    • That’s a really good question and something I’ve been wondering myself. I’ve been meaning to try it out and see what happens to be honest. I have a feeling it would be totally fine (especially just the oats/milk/yogurt/banana/chia or flax base) because I feel like the worst that could happen is that the oats would get too soggy which isn’t really that big of a problem. Definitely worth experimenting with- and if you do- let me know what happens. Like I said, I think it would be more than okay.

  2. Pingback: Blogging for Hope: Breakfast | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Mess | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: Cold Breakfast Bowls | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

