Memorial Day Weekend Highlights

Hey everyone- I hope you all had enjoyable weekends! I was expecting lame weather because that’s what the news people told me all last week, but it proved to be quite lovely here in DC (minus the overcast-ness that took over yesterday). I watch the news and hear the weather reports everyday but I still feel so unprepared for what is actually going to happen in real life…

Anyway, I’m back to work today after having six days off and lets just say the transition back to normal times is naht so easy. I’m not complaining- I feel very lucky to have had six days off. But man… you certainly get used to living on vacation time after a while. Half of me is happy to have some routine/consistency back but the other half of me definitely would have liked to stay in bed this morning when the 5:45am alarm went off.

As I am still rubbing the sleepiness out of my eyes and don’t really have the brain space to write a thoughtful, dedicated post about something interesting, I thought it best that I just share with you some of my favorite things this weekend. There was a lot of time spent outdoors, a lot of time spent eating, and a lot of time spent watching Arrested Development season four. For all of you not up on Arrested Development developments (if you will), Netflix released all 15 episodes of the long awaited season four on Sunday- commence Arrested Development marathon.

P1010178

a luscious bowl of overnight oats accompanied by Lindsay Bluth’s Arrested Development.

Memorial Day Weekend Highlights:

1. I’m hesitant to be so bold as to say that I had the BEST run of MY LIFE on Saturday morning… but I’m pretty sure that’s the only way I can describe the 6.3 miles I ran. Yes you read that correctly- 6.3 miles. For some people that’s nothing but me that figure is absolutely INSANE. I’ve never run that long. Ever.

I set out around 8am with nothing but the Missy Elliot pandora station I had going on my phone that was nestled into my armband. My last handful of runs had been kind of awful so I wasn’t expecting much. My stomach all last week had been giving me so much trouble too which also just made exercising that much harder. All I wanted to do on Saturday was run ~five miles in order to semi-prepare for the 8k I’m running this upcoming weekend.

Apparently I should have low expectations more often because I felt like I could have ran a marathon. The weather was absolutely beautiful. It was in the high 50s, no humidity, light breeze (just enough to keep me cool but not enough to push me around). There was the perfect balance of sunshine and cloud coverage. I didn’t plan my course but I ended up running down toward the White House, around the World War II Memorial, around the reflecting pool, and then back up to my neck of the woods. I had no idea how long I was running… I was just running and listening to my music. There was great scenery, not too many annoying tourists, and lots of cute dogs, ducks, and ducklings (!) to look at along the way.

I knew I must have run longer than five miles because I returned home a few minutes before 9am but it wasn’t until I mapped my run upon my return that I knew the true mileage. It was one of those rare, beautiful runs where it definitely didn’t feel like I was running for that long and running felt easy and fun. It put me in such a good mood for the rest of Saturday. I was just so happy.

After this run- I think it’s safe to say I’m more than ready for the 8k this weekend. This trial run was just what I needed to boost my confidence heading into the “Run for the Dream” in Williamsburg.

2. On Saturday night I made a jambalaya and the BRUINS beat the Rangers to go on to Round 3 of the Stanley Cup playoffs. I called home immediately following the game to yell into our answering machine about the Bs and their sweet win. While I was sort of expecting the Bruins to win (I mean, they had been killing it on the ice and they were back at home), I was not expecting to enjoy the random jambalaya I threw together as much as I did.

P1010164

In a pan I sauteed a few chopped stalks of celery, green and red pepper, onion, garlic, diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and a plethora of spices (shown in a photo below). I served that over brown rice and browned chicken sausage (of a roasted red pepper and asiago cheese variety). It was spicy but in a good way! I don’t know if it deserves to be called jambalaya but that’s the only thing I can think to call it! But I think the whole point of a jambalaya is that its random vegetables and meat/seafood mixed together in a thickish sauce and with rice- and its cajun inspired. If I’m wrong- my apologies- that’s how jambalaya sits in my memory at least.

P1010165

P1010166

3. This weekend I was a bona fide cat sitter. Say hello to my friend’s cats- Ruby and Fluffy.

2013-05-25 11.31.10

2013-05-25 11.31.58

4. Will and I spent a lot of time outside in the park behind our apartment building. We lounged, we napped, we read, we worked out, and we played catch.

baseball

totally stole this picture from Will. I look so enthused out there, don’t I?

Our Memorial Day workout in the park looked a little something like this:

  • Warm up: stretching and stair runs (up and down the big flight ten times)
  • 4 lap jog around the big field. We guesstimate that one time around is probably about a quarter mile.
  • 15 tricep dips (off park bench), 15 “box jumps” (jumping onto a short half wall), 15 squats {x3)
  • 20 shoulder tap claps (instead tapping our shoulders- we high fived each other), 20 skaters, 20 walking lunges {x3}
  • 15 pushups (off park bench), 30 jumping jacks, 60 second plank {x3)
  • Cool down walk around the big field

Will is officially enrolled in Bootcamp by Allison 😉

5. Will and I also rode our bikes all over the place. On Sunday we rode down and around Hains Point (it was so beautiful by the water!) and then on yesterday we rode to Nats Park. We were hoping to score some last minute tickets to the first game in the “Battle of the Beltway” series between the Nats and Orioles but it was sold out when we got there. Womp. At least it was a nice ride there and back- right?

6. And Arrested Development shenanigans ensued. Our friends threw a themed party for the show on Saturday night and throughout the weekend Will and I managed to watch 10 out of the 15 new episodes.

2013-05-25 21.38.55

they really went all out- I was so impressed.

2013-05-25 21.30.45

show quotes posted everywhere.

2013-05-25 21.38.13

blue drinks were a must.

7. My obsession with pasta salads continued and I made a variation of the Roasted Vegetable Pasta Salad (click through for the original recipe). And thanks to the nice weather, balcony eating was a thing.

P1010172

P1010173

P1010174

P1010175

P1010176

I mean… if there is ever the perfect time for pasta salads its Memorial Day weekend- yes? Yes. It’s only rivalved by the Fourth of July and Labor Day weekend. These three holidays alone probably contribute to 99% of pasta salad consumption in America. Oh and of course my recent pasta salad craze of course he he.

8. Really good desserts happened every single day of this long weekend. On Friday is was Tiramisu from Piola on 14th, Saturday was chocolate covered frozen bananas at the Arrested Development themed party, Sunday was a Maple Blueberry cupcake from Bake House, and last night was a rhubarb pie from Whisked (purchased at Pleasant Pops). Sweet tooth satisfied. All were so so so delicious.

2013-05-25 22.40.38

P1010167

P1010177

9. OH and Will and I FINALLY got sandwiches from SundevichIt’s down this cool little alley off of 9th street in between N and O Streets. I can’t believe it took us this long to go there… what have we been doing?!

20130525_132204

All their sandwiches are named after major world cities and incorporate ingredients accordingly.I got the “Kingston” which had jerk chicken, pineapple, garlic mayo, and some spicy slaw. It was wicked good and only made me want to travel the world via the rest of their sandwiches. It should also be noted that on our way there we were interrupted by a local Memorial Day parade- it was awesome.

All in all, it was an amazingly well rounded weekend full of good eats, good workouts, time outside, time inside, time with friends, and time with will. I love weekends like this past one and I love feeling like I hit my ever lasting goal of “balance” right on the head without even trying. That’s how it’s supposed to be.

Here’s to a good (and shortened) work week!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

9 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend Highlights

  1. Oh my gosh girl congrats on the long run!!! That’s seriously SO incredible and you should be so proud of yourself! I love runs like that, where they could just go on forever and ever. Your weekend sounds absolutely perfect. When the weather is nice I could spend hours sitting in a park. I definitely think you found that balance. It’s difficult but when it does happen, it seems effortless at that’s how you know you reached it.

  2. I am glad i have found someone so in love with arrested development as much as I am. I have yet to watch the new season but will soon. I have to say that I watched every season of it in one summer when I had no cable and was stuck in my college town working there. still remember that summer because of all the arrested development watching

  3. Congrats on that run! Your weekend sounds so “perfect”, Isn’t that refreshing when everything just works? Love you! Talk to you soon!

  4. Pingback: Summery Salads | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

