Lazy Sunday

I cannot believe the telethon at my work has come and gone. It’s going to be so weird to go into work tomorrow and just have it be over… this thing had been my life for the past year! Craziness. I’m happy to report that overall, the whole fundraiser was a huge success. The show was a lot to handle, but it was so worth it and it was so fun to be a part of. Seriously. I met and worked with some amazing people on all of this.

Screenshot 2013-05-19 at 6.15.54 PM

Will took this screenshot of my show on the web last night. You guessed it- I’m the one female in the shot.

Will met me at my work at about one in the morning and when we got home, I opened the door to a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a card, and a big congratulations balloon. We’ve been together for three and a half years but he still manages to surprise me. It was very thoughtful of him and another reminder of all the shit I’ve done lately at work to make that show a success. I took pictures of the flowers in the daylight today.

P1010123

After standing for twelve hours yesterday and running around like a crazy person (organizing and operating a Masonic telethon is tough work, guys), it has been very nice to just be a little lazy today. Even though I slept late and even took a nap earlier (sorry for falling asleep on you, Will), I still feel exhausted. Lucky for me, I get Wednesday and Thursday off of this week to compensate for the weekend work I put in. You all know I get Fridays off as it is. And we’ll have Monday off because of Memorial Day. Sooooo six days off of work in a row? Hell yeah. I cannot wait till the close of business on Tuesday for my week off.

But in the meantime, like I was saying, today was a day for laziness. I left my apartment once today thus far. To buy toilet paper. Win.

It was a morning for pancakes, bacon, coffee, and watching the SNL season finale with Ben Affleck and Kanye West from last night. It makes me so sad that Bill Hader and Fred Armisen are going to be leaving wahhh. There were a couple of wicked good skits (including the Iranian Argo remake- Bengo #@&* Yourself) but the final Stefan bit with Hader and Seth Myers (feat. Anderson Cooper and Affleck) was definitely the winner.

For the pancakes, I used a recipe from Sara at Nourish and Flourish. It called for: 4 oz. of greek yogurt, 1/4 cup almond flour, 1 tbl. coconut flour, and 1/4 tsp. baking powder. I topped my four pancakes with mashed banana.

P1010120

P1010121

For the greek yogurt I used one of Chobani’s new “bite” sized containers. They are conveniently four ounces, which was perfect for the recipe. Just what the doctor ordered.

P1010125

I’ve wanted to try out the new Chobani bites for a while but didn’t want to fork over the cash for them. They found me in a weak moment on Friday and I totally bought them though. The orange zest is SO good and it tasted even better in the pancakes. Like seriously. They’re a little small for me for a snack on their own- but add some nuts, fruit, or other healthy fixings and they would make a deeee-licious treat. I think I’m going to use one in my overnight oats tomorrow. And by think I mean- I am. And I’m already excited about it.

The rest of the day has been pretty lackluster- I managed to make a big salad for lunch and in the process did some meal planning and prep for the week. And then as I told you already, I fell asleep watching the Bruins game and flipping back and forth with the Blues Brothers.

P1010127

I woke up to watch the Bruins win, paint my toes, and eat a mug of greek yogurt, blueberries, mango, and a couple of crushed chocolate cat cookies (sorry I broke you into pieces, cats).

P1010126

P1010128

The rest of my day includes more rest and dinner with my friend Nick.

The work week beginning tomorrow is a lot less intimidating knowing that it will only last till Tuesday. Score. Try not to hate me too much. I haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to fill out all those days off- but it will probably include a lot of food adventures, fitness adventures, and friend adventures (oh and season four of arrested development).

Enjoy the rest of your Sundays! And because I’m sure the title of this post and my talk of SNL made a lot of you think of the SNL Lazy Sunday skit… I probably should just put that here for good measure..

and Lazy Sunday 2 (of course)

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

7 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday

  1. Again congratulations on the telethon! Awww Will’s flowers are so beautiful, his thoughtfulness even better! Sometimes a lazy Sunday is where it’s at and definitely needed. Have a great 2 day work week! Love you!

  2. You did it!!! I bet it feels so freaking good to be done with that and now you can enjoy six days offff – still so envious 😉 I vote you watch every single episode of Arrested Development in preparation for the new season, but that’s just me!

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Mess | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

