Crazy About Cherry [Blossoms]

Have you ever wanted to see a bajillion people lose their minds over flowers? If so- get to Washington D.C. STAT! But seriously… saying its tourist season in the District would be an understatement. Will and I were walking around the tidal basin region today and holy crap, man. PEOPLE. EVERYWHERE. Why you may ask? Flowers. Cherry blossoms. They’re still not really fully in bloom yet. I think I saw more buds than I did flowers. This doesn’t stop the tourists, though. Let me tell you- these trees are BIG celebrities.

I love the cherry blossoms, don’t get me wrong, but when you think about it- it’s humorous that all the buzz in D.C. is over beautiful trees. Also humorous? People assuming every tree with pink flowers is a cherry blossom tree. I can’t tell you how many people were taking pictures of magnolia trees. The city also has a bunch of magnolia trees everywhere and lets just say they confuse the tourists. When I was walking in Georgetown I saw people crowded around this one magnolia tree- taking family photos- gasping at it’s beauty- excitedly going on and on about how they found cherry blossoms- I didn’t have the heart to tap them all on the shoulder and say… hey, just so you know THOSE ARE NOT CHERRY BLOSSOMS. Why ruin their joy?

Screenshot 2013-04-06 at 6.01.25 PM

This was said magnolia tree in Georgetown. Gorgeous- but not a cherry blossom tree.

2013-04-06 12.59.56

More magnolia trees downtown. I personally think they are WAY prettier than cherry blossoms.

The tidal basin area was so crowded that I didn’t even try to take pictures of the cherry blossoms. You can enjoy the magnolia trees photos instead he he. Maybe sometime during the week I’ll make a trek back down there and snap some quality blossom pictures. Will and I just weaved through the crowds and ended up walking the length of Hains Point because it was way less crowded.

I think the best way to celebrate the blossoms is to indulge in all the cherry themed goodies that I’ve been seeing in the District. Through twitter I was notified that Luke’s Lobster has a special “Cherry Blossom Ice Cream Sandwich” and KNEW Will and I had to get on that. So today after an awesome bootcamp workout together at our gym (I love when Will and I get to workout together!) and after some lunch, we skipped on over to Luke’s. The HUGE ice cream sandwich that we split was cherry ice cream sandwiched between two chocolate chip cookies. Holy yum. It’s there till April 14th so you better get there asap and try it out while you can.

2013-04-06 12.56.07

Screenshot 2013-04-06 at 6.13.36 PM

Will and I had a love affair with this ice cream sandwich. I think anytime ice cream sandwiches are involved in my life I will have to reference Arrested Development.

I literally cannot WAIT for May 26th when they release the new season! Only ten years after the end of the last season… That Sunday is going to be a marathon viewing day full of hot ham water, ice cream sandwiches, and frozen bananas dipped in chocolate.

I’m a HUGE fan of cherries (of all varieties) and so I was amped to walk into Trader Joes on Friday and see a giant display of cherry foods being pushed in honor of the blossoms. While my favorite kind of cherries are the big, juicy, fresh ones- those are more of a summer food so for now I am content with the other options TJs has available. I couldn’t resist buying these dark chocolate covered cherries. Semi-healthy, right? Yeah totally.

P1000792

Although, I must say, one of my favorite things at TJs is their unsulfured and unsweetened dried cherries. They are so plump and delicious. I highly recommend them. My favorite way to enjoy those guys is in one of my favorite combos of overnight oats (go figure).

If you’re a cherry lover like me, you’ll love this bowl of overnight oats too. I mix together and let sit in the fridge overnight: 1/3 cup oats, 1 banana all mashed up, 2 tbl. flax, 3/4 cup almond milk (or whatever milk you prefer), 1/2 cup greek yogurt, and 2 heaping tbl. of the dried cherries. Then in the morning I stir in a big spoonful of almond butter or sunflower seed butter and 1/4 cup of granola (preferably the sour cherry flavor by grohnola– DC residents- check out this granola, seriously. It’s sold at Pleasant Pops).

There is something about the tartness of the greek yogurt with the cherries that just works so well. But then the bananas and the almond milk bring in some sweetness. And the nut butter and flax make it all thick and creamy. The granola adds that necessary crunch. It really is a perfect bowl of overnight oats if I do say so myself.

Okay enough cherry talk. It’s almost dinner time and Will and I have dinner plans out- wahoo! I hope you’re all having great weekends, by the way. If you were curious, I am feeling MUCH better. A solid combination of rest, lots of sleep, good weather, good vibes and good food must have helped me make a speedy recovery from the sickness that attacked me this past week. I’m crossing my fingers I wake up tomorrow without a single trace of sore throat shenanigans.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

8 thoughts on “Crazy About Cherry [Blossoms]

  1. Ahhh I’ve never seen the cherry blossoms before but I’m coming to DC tomorrow so I’ll definitely be sure to check them out! Have a great night!

  2. Hilarious!! I’m so happy that my horticultural awareness has rubbed off on you. I also seem to remember on one of our trips to DC thinking similar thoughts when I overheard people oohing and aahing over a magnolia thinking it was a cherry tree. Alas, they are both beautiful. So glad to hear you’re feeling better!
    Good to hear your your voice last night! Love you!

    • When I was younger, I remember stealing flower blossoms from the magnolia tree on the side lawn of the Carfardo’s house on my way to and from the bus stop he he. I’ve always loved magnolia trees and only know what they’re called because of you! Thank you for my horticultural awareness ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have been super into cherry flavored everything right now too! I am going to have those trader joes dried cherries asap! i just got a bag of frozen and pitted cherries from target (frozen section wadup!) and they are delicious! i recommend trying them because they are sweet enough to be a dessert option…maybe put them on some greek yogurt and add some chocolate chips?! haha anyways glad you are gettin your cherry on too..oh and hope you are feeling better missy! my sister had really bad digestive issues…so if you ever need advice or any help at all let me know! i have an abundance of knowledge on many digestive issues! hope you are having a nice wednesday and i will talk to you soon!!

    • Omg those frozen cherries sound awesome! I’ve been dying for cherries ever since I had a couple in that ice cream.

      Thank you for offering up your wealth of knowledge to help me out. I will definitely take you up on that down the road. As I update the world on my blog, feel free to message me anything you think might be relevant or helpful for me to know. I really appreciate it.

      Hope you’re surviving huMP Day just fine ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

