Day One

I write this post as I try not to cry at Logan Airport. I’m waiting to board my flight back to DC and “real life” (so to speak). Don’t get me wrong- I love DC and there are definitely things I missed, but damn- it will always be heartbreaking and so hard to leave my family and Massachusetts every single time I come here.

I didn’t take too many pictures of the weekend activities, but overall it was a great time (per usual). Of course the best part of it all was just doing normal things with my family members and feeling like a part of the crew again. I absolutely hate being so far away all the time. I love being able to catch up with everyone and trying to make up for lost time.

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.25.49 PM

I got a haircut from my sister! I wish she could do my hair and makeup every day. Damn. She’s the bomb dot com.

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.25.35 PM

We all colored eggs together. Having the hard boiled eggs around reminded me how much I love them. I really need to make them more often…

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.25.22 PM

My dog was definitely in the holiday spirit. Betsy looks preeeetttty serious about Easter in this picture.

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.25.11 PM

My sister and I embraced our townie selves and had a wicked sweet time at the “Pembroke Country Fest.” It was actually so fun! I’m so glad she took me.

bullriding

Anddddd we both rode mechanical bulls… did NAHT expect that to happen this weekend. First time for everything?! Something to cross off ye old bucket list…

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.24.55 PM

My sisters and I might be too old for full out Easter baskets buttttt my parents still know how to do us right. Allison runs on Dunkin.

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.24.41 PM

I may love Dunkin, but I man… let me tell you about Marylous and their creamy chocolate coconut coffee.

Screenshot 2013-04-01 at 7.24.25 PM

I still had overnight oats everyday I was home. What can I say- I’m addicted. They were much more enjoyable when they were eaten with the spoon I got my Mom for her birthday.

Like I said- awesome weekend. My family is the greatest. And today was RED SOX OPENING DAY WAHOO! They kicked some Yankee butt in the Bronx and beat em 8-2. Yeah buddy! Pumped. It was great to sit on my big couch with my family, have NESN on, and enjoy the game. I literally cannot believe baseball season is back, baby!

This leads to the title of my post (“Day One”). Instead of letting myself sit here all sad and depressed about leaving MA, I’m going to inject some positivity into my blog/life right now. Today was the first day of the Red Sox baseball season. It marks the FIRST official day of the 2013 spring/summer season (in Allison’s calendar anyway). It’s also April 1st. A quarter of the year has already gone by (yep… we’re three months into 2013… insane… I know). I know spring technically started a couple weeks ago but April is FAR spring-ier than March.

My Mom reminded me in the car on the way to the airport- I know you’re sad about leaving but you have so many fun things to look forward to! Agreed, Mom. Agreed. On the horizon I have various cool interviews with some interesting DC peeps, sweet fitness shenanigans all over the city, a vacation trip to Miami, and prep work for my big adventure to Russia. And all the while- baseball is back so having that to keep my mind at ease every day is HUGE. Plus, new and exciting things come my way on a weekly basis so as long as I stay tuned in, positive, and working hard- everything is going to be alright. MORE than alright- things are going to be wonderful.

So. Here we are. Day one of the new quarter of the year- bring it, spring! Bring it, April, May, and June! This is my vow to make the most out of you. And this is my vow to share my journeys with you all (the good, the bad, the ugly, and the beautiful). The Sox’s win today was definitely a great sign for a great “fresh spring start.” Like the Sox, I’ve been down and kicked around. Together we’re bringing back the good- one game and day atta time 😉

I can’t let myself be womptastic and sad. The world is my oyster and I’m taking all the pearls (is that a rap lyric somewhere? definitely sounds like a rap lyric).

On that note- my plane is about to board. Stay tuned for regularly scheduled programming to resume in the next few days. And again- family- I love you so much.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

16 thoughts on “Day One

  1. I’m sorry you’re feeling sad about leaving Mass. I cry every single time. You have so many things to look forward to and your family will always be there for you. The red sox better go far this season. I’ll be so mad if they don’t make it.

  2. Such a good weekend! I really enjoyed your visit and spending so much time together! I miss you already! But no worries, there really is a lot to look forward to right now and staying positive is where it’s at; Spring and summer are full of so much activity, good weather and flowers, it’s hard not to be happy. Oh and the Red Sox definitely add to the excitement of the season. I love you!

  3. Sounds like such a fun time! The mechanical bull sounds so funny! I completely understand living away from your family. I live in NYC and my family lives in Illinois and it’s really hard to be away from everyone!

  4. Pingback: Whirlwind | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: And Away I Go | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

