Fudge Babies

// Try to avoid immediately scrolling down to the actual recipe portion of this post- I know it’s tempting. Also note: there are no babies covered in or made out of fudge in this post. In fact, there are no actual babies at all //

As an all or nothing person, I am very quick to make bold statements using the word “never” (I never do this, I never eat that). When I make these remarks, in the moment, I mean them. But I’ve been getting annoyed with myself lately for thinking this way because of how close minded it is. I’m in a period of my life where I’m trying more new things than I ever have before whether its food or exercise or [other].

I used to say, I will never want to be a yogi, I will never eat mushrooms, I will never like running… (you get the picture) But just look at how much I’ve changed! I admire yogis and wish I could be one, I love mushrooms, and on some days- running is my escape.

Never is such a definitive word- I would hate to miss out on opportunities that the world offers me because I’m sticking to my guns that aren’t based on anything but speculation. Never has the power to prevent me from growing and changing with time. Growth is good- it’s human. Putting myself in structured “never” boxes just places unnecessary limits on how I’m living my life (this is part of the reason why I won’t go on a particular diet- making things “off limits” or marking certain foods as “bad” is just ridiculous).

I don’t want anything to hold me back. And as someone who is her own worst enemy, never can only stop me from trying the new and the different and stepping outside my comfort zone. SO what is the point of all this nonsense? This is my pledge to be more careful with my words and a promise to just keep trying new things.

This mini-revelation came about when I decided to tackle a new recipe. When I first started eating better, there were a lot of things I said I wouldn’t do. I didn’t want to be dubbed a “crazy health nut” and swore off things like coconut oil, almond flour, and making energy date ball snacks. I had no reason to say I would never eat or use or make these things- they just seemed kind of too intense for me.

As of last night, I can say that I have succumbed to all three of those things. Coconut oil is fairly new and I have been loving lately to saute vegetables. Almond flour was something I purchased a little while back and let me tell you- it makes GREAT pancakes.

Date balls (aka fudge babies) well… those happened Tuesday night.

Make.

Them.

STAT.

I have seen so many recipes for these little sweet wonders all over the place but thought they looked too challenging for me to attempt to make. Nope. Not the case at all. These are one of the easier “desserts/snacks” I’ve made in a long time.

I followed a recipe for the most part dubbed “Fudge Babies” from the blog Chocolate Covered Katie. I edited my process a little bit based on reading a handful of other good date ball recipes on the interwebs.

The only ingredients I used were:

  • 10 dates
  • 3/4ish cup of walnuts (the original recipe called for a full cup, but this is all I had in my bag in the kitchen)
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla
  • Small sprinkle of salt
  • 3-4 tbl. of cocoa powder
P1000762

I soaked my dates in some room temperature water for a couple hours in order to soften them and remove the pits more easily.

P1000766

I didn’t dry the dates but instead shook off the water a little bit and removed the pits. I then added them to my food processor with the walnuts, vanilla, salt, and cocoa. After a good round in the food processor- it turns into a big choco mess as seen above.

P1000767

You want to keep processing it until it’s of a consistency that is sticky and you can pull apart and roll into little balls.

P1000769

I formed all these little babies by rolling the mixture in my hands. I then proceeded to place them in some mini-tin liners I had in the kitchen.

P1000768

Don’t YOU want your hands to look like this?!

P1000770

P1000771

P1000772

I dusted the final product with some cinnamon. Because they’re sticky, you can easily roll your fudge babies in coconut, oats, or any topping you would enjoy! You could even press some dried fruit into them I suppose!

P1000773

Talk about a delicious post-work pre-workout snack!

Fudge babies are healthy and so freakin’ good. No added sugar say whaaaa?! Dates are crazy sweet! I ended up rolling out 15 fudge babies from this recipe. Each baby is around ~95 calories. Not bad, right?

I brought them into work this morning and my coworkers’ minds were BLOWN.

I never thought I’d enjoy dates and I certainly never thought I’d make date balls. Check me out now, everybody. I want to make these like, every day of my life (and eat them all nom nom nom).

Before signing off, I have to say, the one “all or nothing” statement I will continue to make that I know will NEVER change is: I will never not love the Boston Red Sox 😉 You better believe I’m slighting freaking out over how soon Opening Day is!

And it couldn’t be more perfect that I’m leaving for HOME TONIGHT and will be there FOR Opening Day! I am pumped.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

11 thoughts on “Fudge Babies

  1. I fall into the “never” trap too. Usually I’ll say I hate a food even though I have never tried it. I just make these broad assumptions and usually they have no basis behind them. I think it’s so awesome that you’re trying to branch out and do something different more frequently. It’s such a huge part of personal growth. And HAVE FUN AT HOME! I’m so jealous that you get to spend Easter in New England. It feels like that’s the way it should be.

  2. I freaking adore CCK’s blog! Seriously, it’s the best healthy dessert website ever. Those fudge babies look ridiculously tasty – perfect airplane snack? 😉 I’ve been with you about being hesitant to get on the “super healthy” food train, but I think that will end soon. Almond flour, coconut oil, and NuNaturals just seem to be calling from all the store shelves – we’ll see what happens 😉

  3. Sara- they are so good. Holy crap. No one would believe me that there was zero added sugar. And I’m glad you’re getting on board with weirdo healthy thangs too. I reallllly have no reason not to branch out and try them so why not!

  4. I totally related to this post. I never thought I’d buy coconut flour, almond flour, wheatberries and other such “health nut” items – but then I started reading healthy blogs and getting on Pinterest and got all inspired. And this weekend I bought tempeh and coconut flour from a health food market, lol.

  5. Pingback: Charging my Power Supply | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: Kitchen Needs/Wants | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

