One Clutch Meal

I’ve eaten this meal four times in the past week. Overkill? Nah. I love it because it has all the things I need in my meals: carbs, veggies, protein, healthy fats, and fruit. I love it because it is absolutely delicious. I love it because its easy.

It works for breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. It’s an anytime meal that will fill you up and if you’re a foodie like me, it might just make you smile with each bite.

The base of the meal is a bed of roasted veggies. I like to roast enough for two servings so I can easily reheat them for leftovers. I figure if the oven is on and I’m taking the time to roast, I might as well get the most bang for my buck.

P1000744

For the roasted veggies you’ll need:

  • 4-6 little red new potatoes cleaned and quartered
  • 1 sweet potato (on the bigger side) cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
  • 8-10 brussel sprouts halved
  • 1 red onion peeled and quartered
  • 4 carrots halved lengthwise and cut into 1 1/2 inch lengths
  • 2 tbl. of olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic peeled and smashed
  • Salt, pepper, and any seasonings you like (I enjoy rosemary!)

You’ll want to toss all your chopped vegetables with the olive oil and seasonings. Then you roast at 450 degrees for 45 minutes (mix things around in the oven halfway through). I have a small oven so I separate the veggies onto two trays. Halfway through I also rotate the pans on the racks in my oven. Always remember not over crowd your vegetables when you’re roasting them. Be sure to spread them out evenly.

I top the roasted vegetables with two fried eggs and two pieces of bacon crumbled into the veggie mix. And for good measure I serve the dish with orange slices.

P1000678

The whole plate tastes good on its own but the addition of sriracha makes it that much better 😉 If you look closely in the picture above, you’ll see my sriracha creeping. If you’re not a fan of the heat, ketchup would be lovely too.

P1000679

I usually roast the veggies over the weekend so all I have to do come meal time is cook the eggs and bacon. Usually when I re-heat the veggies, I put a handful of spinach underneath them. The spinach wilts in the microwave and stirs in well to the veggies. Who doesn’t want extra added green power?

The roasted vegetables are like a healthier version of a diner potato hash. Breakfast food is my favorite so I really enjoy eating breakfast inspired meals at all times of the day. There was something comforting this past week about coming home to this meal.

You’re looking at my lunch for today as this is what was for dinner last night in my apartment. I can’t help but feel its perfect for this cloudy, overcast, and chilly weather we’re experiencing in the District. Yesterday was amazingly sunny so I’ll let D.C. have it’s moment of rain today… I also am going to yoga in a little bit and for some reason I really enjoy practicing on days like this. The sun inspires me to get out and move but the cloudy weather makes me want to be indoors and contemplative.

Sunday’s are meant to be a little slower and lazier than the rest of the days.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

4 thoughts on “One Clutch Meal

  1. Pingback: I Like Lists | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

