Change of Plans

I feel like I haven’t blogged in forever! [Insert blogger guilt here] My life really isn’t that interesting, but I feel like a lot has happened in this between-blog-post-interim.

Hopefully you weren’t expecting to open this post and see a bunch of pictures of my visit with my friend from home. Long story short- it didn‘t happen. Thanks to snow in Boston and a plethora of other plane/airport issues, Kelly didn’t make it here this weekend [Insert giant sad face here]. After cancellations and delays, she wouldn’t have been able to get here till late in the day Saturday so we both agreed it would have been silly for her to pay to come down here for a day and a half.

Good news is- she’ll just be coming a weekend in April now! SO at least I have that to look forward to. We were both majorly bummed but forced each other to see the positives in the situation.We talked ourselves out of our misery by listing all the reasons why our weekend in April will be better anyway.

The real casualties of the travel problems on friday were the surprises we had gotten each other. I had gotten her a cakelove cupcake to welcome her to my apartment and she had gotten me a bag of milkyway marylous coffee grounds. As a little random act of kindness, I ended up giving the cupcake to the front desk guy (which TOTALLY made his day)… so I guess it wasn’t a loss after all. Don’t worry- I had gotten myself one too and enjoyed that before bed Friday night. Kelly is going to enjoy the marylous she bought for me- lucky duck… so jealous. I miss marylous like crazy! Good thing I go home in a couple weeks for Easter… he he 😉

Friday afternoon post Kelly’s travel shenanigans, I found myself with a wide open weekend filled with the promise of sun and spring weather. To prepare for Kelly’s arrival, I had gotten done all my to-do list-y things and completely cleared my schedule so I literally had ZERO plans.I even told all of you that I wasn’t going to blog all weekend. I thought about posting something Friday but then just decided to give myself a little break. One of my favorite things to do is drop off the grid for a couple days and stay offline. Computers are overrated. The grand outdoors are where its at!

Seeing as I don’t really get to spend that much time with Will, it ended up being nice to have nothing to do and to just embrace the weekend and its gorgeous weather as a little stay-cation. We decided to not completely change all my original weekend plans of being wicked touristy, walking around, seeing the sights, and eating lots of local DC food and just do those things together.

For some reason, this weekend ended up being really mentally hard on me. Despite the beautiful weather and all the free time I found on my hands, I felt really bogged down with life in general. There was a lot of self loathing, feeling lost, questioning life and what I want from it, and this overwhelming heaviness of the complexity of the world that would just not get off my shoulders. All of my food and weight issues seemed to have been magnified by a bajillion and it was impossible for me not to think about them a lot. Don’t get me wrong- the weekend had its highlights, which I’ll share with you in a moment, but I would be lying if I said that this weekend was all around amazing. Overall it just bummed me out that I didn’t feel very happy for most of the weekend despite the good weather and all the reasons I have on paper to be content. Such is life.

I found myself still in this haze of melancholy when I woke up today (or maybe that’s just my body not being used to daylight savings time…) and I’m hoping I can shake it off soon. Perhaps looking at the best parts of the weekend will remind me of the joys in life. 

Shall we?

1. The Best Margarita

marg

Now, I don’t drink that often and I usually don’t do tequila but Will and I went out to El Centro on Friday night and um… this was the best margarita I’ve ever had. Hell, it was one of the best alcohol induced beverages I’ve ever had. The secret is, simple ingredients. It’s just agave, lime, and tequila. Amazing. If you haven’t been… they have Margarita Mondays where their classic drink is only four bucks all night long. That’s all I’m going to say.

The food was also SO good. I was a big fan of their guac. They have a happy hour every single day where their guac is only six dollars (again, just saying). Dangerous! The pork carnitas I ordered were totally drool worthy. Will’s carne asada was delicious as well. For fancier Mexican food- the price was right too. Will and I definitely felt like we got a significant “bang for our buck.”  We did NAHT feel this way about Tortilla Coast where we went on Sunday for lunch- so disappointing.

Anyway, the best margarita ever was the beginning of our good evening. Will and I to then hit up the Drafting Table where one of my best friends just started working and then to Sign of the Whale (shudder) to meet some friends (and watch the Celtics win in over time- awwww yeahhh!)

2. Bootcamp with the Usuals

Saturday I woke up after having trouble sleeping and felt pretty grumpy. No, I wasn’t hungover from my Friday night adventures- but for some reason I just felt stressed out by how to spend my wide open day.

As I walked to the gym, I questioned whether or not I really wanted to be going but stayed committed on my path to get there. I was reminded of why I love my gym when I got up to the room where we have bootcamp and saw all the usual attendees that I’ve grown to become gym friends with. They were quick to make me smile, laugh, and get pumped about our workout. Plus, it was a good workout (hooray for burpee tabatas! who doesn’t love those?). We practiced our pull-ups for part of the class which I haven’t done since the summer time!

The post workout endorphins I was feeling when I stepped out of the gym and into the 55 degree weather were awesome. The saying “no one ever regretted a workout” couldn’t be more accurate. There was a definite kick in my step.

3. Sweet Potato Pancakes

After leaving the gym, I headed up to the street to my favorite restaurant, Busboys and Poets, for brunch with Will. I haven’t ordered pancakes at a restaurant in ages and so it was awesome to dive into a big plate of their sweet potato pancakes- SO GOOD. I just had to make up for all those carbs I burned off in bootcamp 😉 They get extra bonus points for having the best and fresh fruit in their fruit side- pineapple, blueberries, and strawberries- yummy! I hate when you go somewhere and get fruit and it’s like all melon/cantaloupe and one strawberry that have clearly been sitting a little bowl for a couple hours. I always judge.

4. Walking Around

monument

waterYou should all know by now that Will and I love walking around the city and doing some urban hiking. While we spent a lot of time walking around our own neighborhood, we also ventured more downtown and hammed it up with all the tourists. We have definitely entered into tourist season here in DC. The spring weather and the promise of cherry blossoms brings all the big school groups and buses and crowds out of the woodwork. I hadn’t actually been at the Lincoln monument in years so it was fun to revisit it for a little while.

We walked (many many miles), talked, creeped on tourists (I love overhearing conversations). We even helped out a couple trying to win a contest for a $100,000 dream wedding. There were a lot of people dressed in orange because of the Syracuse vs. Georgetown basketball game on Saturday (which Will and I didn’t figure out until Sunday… we’re clearly HUGE college basketball fans).

I also got to tour many of the city’s bathrooms as per usual. I drink a lot of water and always have to go when I’m out in the city. Thus, I have become a pro at locating and utilizing DC’s public bathroom facilities. Starbucks is 99% likely to always have a bathroom and not make you feel awkward about using it without buying anything (I would say 100% but this weekend I discovered my FIRST starbucks that DIDN’T have a bathroom- RUDE). Will jokes that I could have an entire blog dedicated to all my bathroom experiences throughout the city. I think you guys are fine without that, right?

Plus- like I’ve said already a million times- it was so nice outside. I looked at Will on Saturday and said, I’m outside and I’m not wearing a jacket and I’m not cold! YES! It was an exciting time. It was nice to just see so many people outside loving life and enjoying the sunshine. I think I even got a minor sunburn on my face… I’m not complaining whatsoever.

5. Cozy Pizza Date

pizza

On Saturday night Will and I tried out a pizza place nearby that I’ve been really wanting to go to as I’ve heard good things. We went to Red Rocks and devoured some really good pizza. Their pizza is neapolitan style (aka legit) and I got a mushroom, chicken, garlic, and fontina cheese creation. The crust was really good and the pizza was tasty but it was pretty standard- nothing too exciting. I mean… pizza is one of my favorite foods so I’m always going to love it but in comparison to my favorite neopolitan style pizza place, Pizzeria Paradiso, I think paradiso is the winner. The pizza overall could have used a bigger punch of flavor (I added red pepper flakes to try and do this myself). My favorite part about the place actually was the location. It was small and cozy and just very comfortable. I felt like I was in a little hole in the wall with Will the whole time we were there. It felt very removed from the loud city.

6. Roasted Pears

Saturday night, post dinner, Will headed off to a party with friends and I decided to stay in. I tackled a little recipe from my Grandmother for roasted pears.

All you have to do is preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut a pear in half and scoop out the small seedy/core area in the middle leaving a little hole that you then fill with 1 tsp. of butter and 1 tsp. of brown sugar. Then you just sprinkle the tops with cinnamon and put in the oven for twenty minutes. Simple as that!

P1000579

P1000580

P1000584It was an awesome late night dessert/snack to accompany…

7. JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE ON SNL

P1000582

HE was the real reason I stayed in Saturday night. I cannot lie. I don’t think I could love him more. There’s just something about his smile that gets me every single time. In the opening skit he imitated Elton John and sang a funeral song to Candle in the Wind for Huge Chavez and it was hilarious. SNL of course brought in some of their classic hosts and revisited some popular sketch characters that Timberlake has played in the past. I actually stayed up for the WHOLE show. I haven’t done that in a while.

If you missed the show or watched it and want to revisit the highlights, check out this post: “The 21 Best Moments of Justin Timberlake on Saturday Night Live.”

8. Ipsy March Bag

P1000576P1000577Ipsy’s March “Glam Bag” was awesome to get on Saturday as well. I loved the nautical themed bag and the theme of “escape.” It got me even more excited for my vacation to Miami next month. I know I pay ten bucks a month for this stuff to be sent to me, but it always feels like a free gift each time. If anything, the surprise of what I’m going to get each month always makes my day when the package arrives. This one had makeup remover wipes, a hydrating mist (which will definitely be good for miami!), eye shadows, and a really good mirror/compact.

9. Oatmeal Breakfasts

P1000586In the midst of my bad moods and the endless questions I kept asking myself about life, it was nice to have one constant: oatmeal for breakfast. Overnight oats have grown to be something I really look forward to every single morning. It’s a consistency that makes me feel comfortable and a routine I’ve fallen into that I enjoy. Waking up and taking my breakfast out of the fridge with the knowledge that it’s full of all the things my body needs (and yummy goodness of course) has been a real mind relaxer for me. And no, it doesn’t get redundant because as I’ve explained before, I love trying different combinations of milks, fruits, nuts, and nut butters! Food experimentation is fun.

This weekend I made a bowl of peach oats for Saturday (peaches, banana, vanilla almond milk, and almond butter) and on Sunday I had one of my favorite bowls as of late- cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter, extra raisins, and walnuts. I bought this mixed medley of raisins from Trader Joes recently and have been LOVING them. They’re not dry at all and are super plump and juicy- so good! I even threw in some dried cherries (also from TJs) for good measure.

Starting my day off with oatmeal this morning was my best attempt at having a good day today. I even made myself my favorite raisin combo. While I’m not really in the best mood [Insert blah face here], I still have high hopes the day will turn around. If not, Yoga later in Stroga’s beautiful ballroom will give me the chance to reflect on life and reset my brain.

I hope YOU all have happy Mondays and that this week turns out to be a good one for all of us!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo 

15 thoughts on “Change of Plans

  1. I’m sorry your weekend didn’t go as planned but you definitely made the best of it!! Walking around DC is the best- that’s one thing I love about this area although walking in Boston is just as fun for me. And all of your meals look delicious and you just had an overall fantastic weekend from the looks of it, even if it wasn’t the original plan.

  2. This is the second time in 24 hours that I’ve heard someone mention Marylou’s coffee! I’m hoping to take a weekend trip to Boston sometime this year- I will HAVE to try it. I went on the website… some of those flavors look insane.

    • Oh my gosh girl- it is so good. If you’re not worrying about being healthy- get the girl scout cookie iced coffee! If slightly worried about being healthy- get the creamy chocolate coconut iced coffee (so so so good!) aka the almond joy. You will not be disappointed.

  3. I’ve been feeling blue lately myself. I definitely can blame seasonal depression. Thank goodness for daylight savings time, which equals more daylight. Did Yoga help to lift your spirits? Have a great week.

  4. First of all, you are all kinds of adorable!

    I always feel guilty when I don’t blog for a couple of days as well, but the truth is that it’s good to unplug every once in a while.

    That pizza looks awesome, as do those roasted pears! I love pears- I’ll have to try it.

  5. I have definitely been feeling a little out of it as well lately 😦 I think it is because holiday season is over and spring/summer aren’t quite here yet! Things seem to almost be too routine for me and i find myself getting kind of bored with my life! What works for me is hanging out with a close friend or family member, watching one of my favorite tv shows, getting a nice long workout in and doing some good stretching after, making a delicious meal, and thinking about how much i have to be thankful for in my life! hope your week starts to turn around…i am trying to keep my positivity high and power through my rut as well, so know you aren’t alone!

    • Girl- this was a comment I really needed. I obviously feel bad that you’re in the same blah-tastic boat that I’m in- but it is comforting to know I’m not alone. Let’s paddle through all this nonsense together! Thanks for all the advice on cheering myself up- Lord knows I always need it.

      • haha seriously! reading this post was so refreshing because i literally had the same type of weeekend…i did a lot, yet my mood and attitude was way down! it reminded me a lot of when i used to isolate myself in college due to ed and that scared me a lot! trying to stay positive is hard, but hopefully we can help motviate each other to stay strong!!! so glad i found your blog and seriously i am always here if you ever need to talk to someone or just want a west coast friend 🙂 haha anyways hope you have a good rest of your day, look forward to talking soon!

      • I share all the same sentiments- I absolutely LOVE the idea behind your blog and find that your voice mirrors so many of my thoughts/ideas. It’s great. Thanks for all your lovin’ and support. Consider me as part of your east coast support team and I promise to never forget that you’re on my west coast support team!

  6. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Oats, Baby | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

