Bright When Cloudy

It’s amazing how much happier I’ve been these days. Only further motivation to continue on with my new eating plan. It’s overcast and rainy and cold outside but today is even brighter than the sunniest days DC has provided in the past couple of months. Having a clearer head and clearer heart and fuller belly is a truly wonderful thing. Again, I’m taking one day at a time but seeing as today has been a good day, I feel as if I should shout it from the rooftops. Good days are important to remember and love on.

Although, I was a totally dummy this morning and injured my tailbone slightly. Blargh! I went to a bootcamp class earlier at my gym and when I went to sit at the rowing machine, I scootched back and missed the seat- sitting directly on the very hard 4 inch bar of metal behind me. Wahhh. My tailbone and lower back are already pretty sensitive so I was a sad kid when I did this. When I was asked to do sit-ups right after the rowing machine, I was like… you’ve got to be kidding me. Luckily it’s not a major injury or anything like that but it is definitely sore and definitely annoying.

I stopped by Dunkin Donuts when leaving the gym though and that brightened my spirits

Today has been spent paddling my own canoe: working on blog stuff, grocery shopping, watching Sex and the City like the obsessed gal I am, and just hanging out. I love my Fridays off, man.

Anddd I have to share my excitement over what I saw at my local Harris Teeter… the two new Chobani flavors! AHHHHH! I’ve been looking for them everywhere and waiting to see them so I could pounce. I am so AMPED to try these. They just sound sooooo good!

P1000486

0% Pear and 2% Banana! Words cannot describe my happiness.

This week will also be a fishy one as I picked up some smoked salmon for lunch wraps (smoked salmon + avocado + swiss + dill + whole grain wrap = amazing) and some cheap tilapia fillets for dinners.

P1000485

Seafood & Allison, forever in love.

I would also like to share some good news with you all. So the NBC Health and Fitness Expo is coming to the DC Convention Center from March 16th-17th. I was contacted by a company to be a advocate for healthy lifestyles in one of their booths. Diet-to-Go (@diettogo on Twitter) reached out to me because of my “common-sense healthy” philosophy that I live by now and that I used to lose all the weight I did.

Now before people get all uppidy about me “working with” a company like this- I am not in any way shape or form promoting their company or endorsing themI am just working on their team of people who share the same belief that sustainable weight loss and healthier lifestyle come about through simple and non-extreme changes in our everyday lives.

And while I love making my own food and can’t imagine having someone else deliver meals to me (what diet-to-go offers)- to each their own man! I’m lucky enough to have the time to cook for myself- I understand that some people really don’t or they hate cooking. If having healthy meals delivered to them helps them to eat a balanced diet or achieve their weight loss goals, power to them!

I am so grateful for this company reaching out to me and asking me to be a part of this. Thank you again, Diet-to-Go, I feel SO blessed and lucky and flattered. They seem like a cool company, but what it comes down to is- our philosophies align.

Any one who advocates for setting realistic and attainable goals for ourselves that will either help us lose weight or achieve a healthier lifestyle for the long haul is alright with me. They, like me, are advocates for people making small changes that make sense in their lives, that are affordable, accessible, sustainable, and easy to integrate into existing lifestyles. They, also like me, are strongly opposed to extreme diets and ideas toward nutrition, regimens that disrupt your already existing lifestyle in a major way that would make you unhappy (or your relationships, work performance, etc. suffer), diet pills, untasty food, fasting, cleansing, self-punishment, and as they say, “other strategies that lack common-sense.”

Plus, any way that I can share my life with others and help people trying to navigate their own path toward being healthier- I’m all in. My favorite thing in life is helping people and being their for people and this will allow me to do that in a big way.

Agreeing to be a part of the Expo with them will allow me to talk with people- share my story- and share my beliefs on health, nutrition, eating right, exercising, and having an all around healthy lifestyle. It will give me a platform to talk about how living healthy isn’t a race or a competition (with a specific endpoint or a goal) but it’s about the individual choices we make everyday to better our lives. Because at the end of the day- it’s just you- it’s just you trying to make a difference in the health of your body in mind. There’s no need to feel overwhelmed or like you need to do something crazy to lose weight (i.e. fad diets, clenses, over-exercising, under eating, etc.). It is truly possible over a period of time to lose weight through eating better and exercising more. More importantly, living healthy and staying healthy is an attainable goal if you make changes in your life that you believe in and put in the effort day in and day out to give your body what it deserves.

So yes! If you want to MEET ME or come visit me (for those of you who know me already), I will keep you updated on the times in which I’ll be at the Expo! You can ask me about my blog, what living healthy means to me, take pics, and all that jazz. I’m there to answer any food/exercise questions you may have to to talk about my life as an everyday gal working hard in Washington D.C. Hopefully I’ll see you there 🙂

Here are some basic Expo deets:

  • March 16th and March 17th (Friday and Saturday)
  • 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Location: Washington Convention Center
  • It’s the largest health and fitness expo in the country and will have free activities (rock climbing, virtual skiing, etc.) health tests and screenings, other cool representatives on healthy shenanigans, opportunities to test new and fun exercise equipment being created, exercise demos, cooking demos, the list goes on!
  • Click here to go to the event page 🙂

Speaking of common sense healthy lifestyles, one of the things I think people struggle with the most is eating out and making good decisions. I swear to you- it doesn’t have to be so hard. I make most of my own food because I enjoy doing that but I love eating out and I love being social with friends at local places. DC is like a healthy eaters dream world. There is something “healthy” you can get just about anywhere.

Tonight I’m going to BGR: The Burger Joint with a couple of my friends (well actually it’s my sorority family). Their burgers are delicious. BUT if you’re looking to keep it a little lighter- they have a solid turkey burger and veggie burger. BUT if you’re looking to keep it a little lighter AND eat something that tastes like it fell straight out of heaven… get the ahi tuna burger. Tuna, grilled pineapple, pickled ginger, teriyaki sauce, and their mojo sauce on a bun? Words cannot describe it’s goodness. Andddd right now it’s $2 off in honor of Lent! For some reason this just cracks me up…

ahituna

I saw the sign and just had to take a picture when I was there last time.

Not to mention, BGR has regular fries, sweet potato fries, AND grilled asparagus! So now who was saying that eating out while trying to be healthy (and not feel like you’re depriving yourself of foodie bliss) was hard? Send them my way. I’ll show em’ around.

Okay, that’s all I have to report for now. I’m pretty sure there are ice pellets falling from the sky currently… not quite hail but it’s looking nasty. To channel warmer weather and pretend this mess isn’t happening- I’m heading up to Target to get a bathing suit for Miami in April! WAHOO. It hasn’t really hit me yet that I’m going buttttt… I figure I better start getting ready. I have zero spring or summer apparel that fits me. Rough.

So much for that shopping ban I put on myself. Maybe I’ll do better in March? Eh. I’m a shopaholic. I need to just accept it. Well, I think I accept it. It’s my bank account that doesn’t.

Happy weekend everybody- I hope you’re Friday’s have been sweet thus far 🙂

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

13 thoughts on “Bright When Cloudy

  1. Wait so I’m totally going to stop by if you’re working it on Saturday. I’m in DC for the rock n roll that weekend (hanging out, not running sadly) but it would be so fun to meet up with some more bloggers!!! I need to get on the SATC train. I’ve never watched the show but I love the movies and I feel like it would be awesome. Also, really want to try BRGR.

  2. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: Riding into March | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: Winner Winner (Salmon) Dinner | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: Keep on Surviving | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

