New Kind of Breakfast

While I hope you get to check out this post whenever your time allows, I always hope when I write in the morning that you’re reading with me in the morning alongside a good breakfast and a big cup of coffee or tea (or whatever tickles your fancy… whiskey perhaps?). As I write today, I’m eating my breakfast. This breakfast is different than breakfasts of the last thirteen months or so. It looks pretty normal- overnight oats with some stirred in pumpkin. But today officially starts the day in my life where I’m following the guidelines of my registered dietitian. I sort of got into it Friday and Saturday but today is the day where I start with meal one of me adding more food into my life in order to gain weight.

Because food is such a sensitive thing to everyone and what and why I’m doing it is complicated, I’m not going to go too far in depth with the specifics of what I’m eating every day. I’ll still share recipes and tips and tricks and meals that I eat with you all. None of my meals are really changing in a major way- when I say I’m adding more food into my life- I’m really just upping the caloric intake of foods I’ve been eating throughout my healthy lifestyle path. Bigger portions of food that always has been really good for me. I’ve already gotten a lot of questions about this out of peoples curiosity so I thought I would at least provide you with one example of how my meals are changing. Why not go with my favorite meal of the day?

oatmealmorning

Before today my bowl of overnight oats would look a little something like this: 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup greek yogurt, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1 sliced banana, 1 tbl. of sunflower seed butter, 1/2 tbl. chia seeds, and a couple spoonfuls of pumpkin.

Today my bowl of overnight oats looked like this: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 sliced banana, 2 tbl. of sunflower seed butter, 2 tbl. chia seeds, another add in (like 1/2 cup fresh fruit or like today, 2 tbl. dried cranberries), and a couple spoonfuls of pumpkin. AND a hard boiled egg of the side.

When we were creating the meal plan together, I cringed a bajillion times. It just seemed like so much. It’s hard to convince my brain that this is necessary right now and what my body deserves. But it is what my body deserves and needs so it shall be done! As challenging as it might be. My R.D. told me that it would be an uncomfortably filling amount of food (mentally and physically) but that I need to just do it.

If you have more questions about all this or would like to know more about everything I’m going through and working toward, please feel free to email me. I love talking to people about my life- especially if they’re going through something similar or have been through some of the same stuff I’m dealing with.

While we’re still on the subject of breakfast- let’s talk pancakes for a quick second shall we? Because the ones I made yesterday for Will on the griddle I got him for Valentine’s Day were the bomb. I followed Tina’s recipe for OMG. Pancakes! and while I didn’t yell OMG when I ate them, there were a lot of mmmmmm good noises happening in my apartment Saturday morning.

P1000459

We ate our breakfast while catching up with the NBC comedy block shows that we missed on Thursday due to Valentines Day. The perfect Saturday morning? Yes.

I highly recommend the batter recipe. It’s sort of like a beefed up two ingredient (egg and banana) pancake recipe (which I’ve mastered by now). This recipe has bananas, eggs, almond meal/flour, almond butter, baking powder, and vanilla extract.

Speaking of a beefed up two ingredient pancake recipe- my friend Zoe who blogs about her healthy eating adventures and life at “Eating Your Way From College Student to Adult” made a big batch version of the two ingredient pancake for her and her two friends. So if you’re looking for a bigger version of a simple recipe- you should check out her post.

As some of you may have seen on my twitter yesterday or remembered from my blog posts about the weekend, I went to a Zumba dance party last night. It started at 5pm and I stayed till about 7:30ish. I’m really not a Zumba person I should say. I love to dance- in my apartment, out with friends, organically just for shits and giggles- but not really as a form of exercise. It just doesn’t really do anything for me, ya know? But then again, Latin music isn’t really my thing. Maybe a choreographed workout to some top 40 hits or classic 80s and 90s jams would work out better for me.

It was run in part by VIDA Fitness- a line of gyms in DC. I was invited as a blogger to come out to the event and so was my friend Sara. If I didn’t have a friend going with me, I probably would have backed out at the last second. It was chilly and overcast yesterday afternoon and like I said, Zumba doesn’t really get me off my butt. But it succeeded in doing so yesterday and I decided to just go and make the best of it.

P1000461

The event was held at the U Street Music Hall- where I’ve never been before. Various instructors graced the stage while everyone else gathered around and tried to keep up. I could barely see the stage and could hardly follow the moves but I just made sure I was jumping around and flailing my arms all over the place. That’s how you dance, right? I didn’t really care about being perfect and followed the beat of my own drum- paddled my own canoe. Some people DID care about being perfect and were getting pretty hardcore- you could tell who frequents Zumba often that’s for sure. Power to everyone who has got the moves DOWN. I was just fine with being a big ol’ dance freak in the back of the crowd. It’s all about moving at the end of the day.

photo

We both broke out our bright colors for the dance event. Note: this is the only piece of neon workout clothes that I own.

It was also just awesome to hangout with Sara and try out something TOTALLY outside our comfort zone. Plus, a lot of the people there were VIDA gym members and knew each other. Sara and I are both Balance gym members (and proud!)

Toward the end of the Zumba-ing, the dance instructors/leaders started to get a little self indulgent… some of the guys took their shirts off and it was sort of uncomfortable (and not very fun). Sara and I laughed imagining OUR gym doing something like this aka it would never happen. We tried not to be too judgmental of VIDA and their members but it was hard when you go to Balance aka the best gym in Washington DC. Balance rocks.

All in all, I’m glad I went. I probably wouldn’t have sweat on Saturday otherwise. And like I said, I got to hang with Sara which is always awesome. Hooray for new experiences! A big thank you to VIDA and everyone who put on the Dance Party event- it was a good time. I embraced the chance of shaking my thang like a fool.

Sunday isn’t bittersweet today- it’s purely sweet because I have tomorrow off from work. Bonus day to the weekend- whoop whoop! It is chilly outside but the sun is out so I’m feeling the promise of the day. And on that note- I should probably sign off and get around to enjoying life offline.

I hope you all have had great weekends and whether or not you’re lucky to have tomorrow off, I hope you all have fabulous Sunday’s.

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

16 thoughts on “New Kind of Breakfast

  1. You have so many things to be patting yourself on the back for. First of all, the “easier” one. Trying something you aren’t necessarily sure about. Personally I love zumba but not everybody does and it’s definitely a little intimidating especially surrounded by people who go all the time. But the breakfast- that one’s even more challenging to me. I don’t find it particularly hard to gain weight physically, but mentally, oh man that takes work. I’m so glad you’re doing exactly what your RD says. It’s so much easier if you have a meal plan and you just stick to it without thinking about it. Adding little amounts of extra food to your meals is definitely the easiest way to do it. I hope it continues to work for you even if it’s scary at first!

    • Thank you for all of your amazing support 🙂 It’s so true- such a mental thing man. It’s crazy. But yes, it is helpful having a set plan that I just have to follow for now. Taking every day at a time and just doing what I know is best for me at the moment is the only way I can handle all this. Thank you again for all your love!

  2. I just want to say: You are not alone!! I have also been increasing my calories for the past few months and even though it is definitely challenging, it is so worth it! It feels uncomfortable at first but then it gets easier. If I look back 6 months ago I wouldn’t even touch nut butters. Now I am going for the 2 Tbsp!! And I can’t imagine a day without my beloved almond butter 🙂 So don’t worry, you will get used to bigger portions, I promise!! Just keep reminding yourself that being healthy is what really matters!

    • Ahhh I love hearing from someone and having them tell me it’s worth it. Rational me totally knows it is but you know how the bad times can be. Every single reminder that this is what I need and that it’s so good for me is cherished. Thank you 🙂

  3. I’m so proud of you; I know this can’t be easy for you but it will get easier. Having a meal plan for you to follow is key I’m sure. Think of all you’ve accomplished, you did it! Now you have a new challenge ahead and I know you don’t do things halfway so all will be as it should be with time. One day at a time, keep on keeping on. Be your own hero; you are one of mine! I love you!

  4. Pingback: Bittersweet | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Avocado Each Day Keeps the Brain at Play | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  8. Pingback: Change of Plans | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  9. Pingback: Fudge Babies | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  10. Pingback: Weightless | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  11. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Oats, Baby | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

