Grammys, Grapefruit, and Goop

Say hello to a very sleepy girl on Monday morning. I didn’t even stay up late to watch all the Grammys (they well till 11:30pm… woof) but Monday + rain in the District = tiredness.

Speaking of the Grammys… what a weird award show. I think they should take it away from CBS. Pretty sure CBS filled half the award presenter spots with the b-list actors and actresses from their own sitcoms. Host LL Cool J wasn’t all that great, but his transitions were at least funny (not actually funny but like… wow I’m uncomfortable funny). I believe at one point he started what he was saying by quoting “we hold these truths to be self evident.” Alright man, give it a rest- just bring out the real celebrities and musicians okay? And was anyone else just as confused as I was about the award categories? I feel like I had no idea what they were talking about most of the time. My sister tweeted at me last night: “I guess R&B is now urban contemporary.” I’m glad someone else felt like the categories were whack.

But for all the awkward moments that the Grammys brought last night- what is important is that the offered up some killer performances in return. When they had Ellen and Beyonce come out to introduce Justin Timberlake’s performance- SWOON.

I love him. So talented. So beautiful.

I loved how they made his performance look like it was in black and white for at home viewers. And I also love how Jay-Z just casually strolled up on stage during Suit and Tie to perform his part of the song. Such a boss. Love them both!

Power duo right here.

And don’t kill me, but I’m not a big fan of Rihanna. BUT (I’m about to redeem myself here) I absolutely loved her performance of her jam “Stay” last night. I thought she looked so classy and beautiful. She sounded amazing and totally rocked it.

After staring at the beautiful faces of the entertainment industry last night, it was good to know that one element of my breakfast this morning was chockful of Vitamin A (which promotes skin health and appearance). What was this element you may ask?

Grapefruit! I bought some grapefruits to switch things up last week and I loved having them so much that I bought them again this week. Citrus is in season right now so on the plus side, they’re a lot cheaper than my usual apples that I buy.

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about them. Most of my past experiences with them have been pretty bleak. I mean, they’re tart, bitter, and not the easiest things to eat. Not so convenient for a girl with a sweet tooth and not a lot of time on her hands. But as my tastes have evolved (I just lifted my pinky as I typed that) I figured it was worth giving them another shot.

I certainly don’t agree with everything on this XKCD cartoon (like- excuse me- lemons and bananas are tasty thank you very much), BUT for most of my life- this was pretty much how I felt about grapefruit.

The verdict: still hard to get at, but actually delicious! I’ve been adding grapefruit and almonds to greek yogurt to enjoy in the morning for breakfast. I got in a rut of just going to bananas for my breakfast fruit and so it’s been nice to do something different. I used this website to learn how to cut a grapefruit into segments so that I could add the grapefruit to my greek yogurt bowls. Note: you can’t just cut a grapefruit like an orange (some of you might be thinking… well duh Allison. but hey- I didn’t know that!).

P1000439

Say hello to Monday’s breakfast! I also had some simple scrambled eggs with spinach alongside.

Now. I’m very well aware that grapefruits have the connotation of being a diet food. Maybe that’s also why I have been ignoring them for years? I’m here to say: grapefruit doesn’t magically burn fat or anything… it’s just a nutrient rich food worth adding onto your list of fruits that you partake in. There is no need to go on a “grapefruit diet” or use them in an extreme way to lose weight.

Ohhhh how ridiculous this seems.

From what I learned about grapefruit diets from WebMd (so reliable, I know) and reading some other blog posts about them online- the whole thing is absurd. Most of them put women on a 800-1,000 calories a day regimen… eek! Yeah well obviously you’re going to lose weight with grapefruit if you’re on one of those diets eating that much a day. Yikes! That’s just bad for your body in so many ways. Apparently they are short diets (like 2 weeks) and they promise around 10 pounds of weight loss. Again. When you cut that many calories out of your daily intake- yeah you’re going to lose weight (especially when you’re eating low carb/high protein and losing a lot of pure water weight). But there is zero sustainability in that situation. Who could honestly eat like that for life and center their life around grapefruit? You would lose weight for certain but you would never really keep it off. I might have had my mind changed recently about the taste of grapefruit but it’s not that good.

I hope that people can eliminate the notion of grapefruit as an “almighty diet food” and see it for what it is: an awesome citrus fruit that is packed with antioxidants (like Vitamin C and A) and full of fiber (which keeps you full and happy)! They’re great for you, as are all fruits, and are linked to preventing cancer, preventing kidney stones, and lowering cholesterol. Plus, they’re bright and pretty! They’re a fun way to wake up in the morning. They can be considered helpful in your weight loss efforts, but add them into your balanced eating routine everyday- don’t do anything crazy. Please 🙂

I just feel bad that I’ve been cheating on bananas with grapefruits for breakfast. Don’t worry bananas, you’ll always be my number one.

Wait though… how cute is this picture. I wish I could say I took it.

The “goop” of the post title refers to my Ipsy February beauty package that I got over the weekend! Hooray for new makeup. I love getting new “goop” to experiment with. I’m not going to lie though, I was expecting a Valentines Day themed package and was kind of looking forward to that. But they went the “award night” route which totally surprised me. They do have a point- there are a lot of red carpets to pay attention to this month.

If Ipsy wants to help me recreate all those red carpet looks, I’m not going to say no 😉

P1000432

P1000433

They sent all the beauty items in this shiny patent leather hand bag (with red on the inside- ooh la la)

P1000434

Black mascara, black eye liner, face primer, eye shadow, and mascara shields! Yes you read that last part right…

P1000435

I thought these were pretty neat! I would never actually fork over the cash (or least pay full price) for something like this so it was cool to have them forced upon me.

I was definitely most excited about the eyeliner. I recently ran out of what I had been using and was avoiding buying more. Sometimes I feel like Ipsy can read my mind. Also, as I’ve been trying not to spend silly money at CVS on beauty products, it was nice to get five quality new ones all for the ten bucks I pay a month to participate in Ipsy deliveries. Score. I’m currently testing out the eyeliner and new mascara- so far so good.

Despite the rain, I’m hoping today will be a good one. Usually on Monday’s I go to Body Pump but tonight I’m in for something verrrrry different. BIKRAM YOGA. I’ve wanted to try bikram ever since my best friend Kate fell in love with it around this time last year. She even did a 30-day hot yoga challenge. I just never got around to it though to be honest. Plus, being really hot kind of freaks me out so I’ve been nervous about it.

If you have never heard of bikram, here is the description of the practice from the site of the place I’m going later (Bikram Yoga Dupont):

The Bikram Yoga Series is a challenging, 90-minute workout that improves physical strength, flexibility, and balance while enhancing mental clarity and focus. The practice is a sequence of 26 postures and two breathing exercise performed in a heated environment.

I think I’m less intimidated by the class now that I’m at least well versed in the practice of yoga itself and have a lot of the signature moves down. Also, after reading more about bikram and why it got started, I felt like there was an ever greater reason why I should try it out:

The Bikram Series was tailored for the Western person and specifically for our cultural problems of job stress, overeating, bad posture, and aggressive lifestyles. Bikram scientifically formulated and demonstrated yog’s ability to regenerate tissue and cure chronic ailments. With an exact technique and a series of fixed poses, the class will bring health and peace to anyone.

Stress and aggressive lifestyles you say? Hmmm… can’t say I can relate 😉 At any rate, I’m excited and nervous all at the same time. BUT luckily I’ll have my fitness partner in crime with me, Nick. Nick has done bikram before so that makes me feel a little better.

I’m not going to lie- I’ve read up on how to prepare for your first class to calm my nerves. Let’s just say that today I will be EXTRA sure that I’m drinking plenty of water.

If you are a bikram lover or have gone before- I’d love to hear what you have to say about it! I’m taking advice and comments of all kinds, people.

Wish me luck!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

5 thoughts on “Grammys, Grapefruit, and Goop

  1. i’m obsessed with hot yoga! You’ll love it!!!! and grapefruit is AMAZING, i eat a half every day cuz it’s just that yummy 🙂

  2. I heard the Grammy’s this year was dull, although I didn’t watch myself. Grapefruit and cottage cheese were the ultimate “diet” foods I remember my aunts and mom eating when they wanted to lose weight.

  3. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

