Charity Miles App & Breakfast

Good morning, world! I hope you all had great Fridays and are stoked that it’s the weekend. The sun is out here currently in Washington D.C. and I really hope it stays that way- yesterday was gross with its rain shenanigans. I am worried a little bit about friends and family up in Massachusetts after seeing a lot of status updates about power outages and whatnot from the big blizzard Nemo (don’t even get me started on the ridiculousness of that name)… so cross all your fingers for me that everything is alright!

P1000401

Before I give you the low down on the delicious breakfast I just consumed, I want to take some time to talk about a little app called Charity MilesI’m sure PLENTY of you have heard of it or better yet, use it on a regular basis (I’ll admit I’m a little late to the game here). BUT I figured I should give it a shout out just in case you tend to hangout underneath the same rock that I do.

The concept of the phone app is pretty simple- for every mile you run or walk Charity Miles will donate 25 cents to a charity that you get to select (10 cents for every mile you bike). When you download the app to your smart phone, you will find that you get to choose from a solid handful of amazing charities. You’ll see organizations from the ASPCA, to the Wounded Warrior Project, to Habitat for Humanity.

One of the bloggers I catch up on regularly, Katie Heddleston (Healthy Heddleston) gave the app a full review last month and since then I’ve been meaning to download it to my phone. Well, last night I FINALLY did. I just feel bad that I wasted so many miles running and walking around this damn city that could have been doing some good for others (and not just for my health).

P1000407

BUT this month is extra special for Charity Miles because they recently partnered with the United Nations Foundation who has launched a special Valentines Day campaign:  #VDay10k. Their goal is to raise $10,000 this month for the three charities they now have featured with Charity Miles. This is the first ever campaign of it’s type! Pretty cool! And as an extra added bonus, they’ll even feature the person who takes on the most miles for the #VDay10k campaign on their website and their Facebook page.

Charity Miles founder, Gene Gurkoff, has been quoted saying:

“Charity Miles is excited to partner with the UN Foundation and its campaigns to encourage even more people to take small steps to make a big impact.”
[source]

Get it? Small steps- I appreciated the pun.

The three charities that the United Nations Foundation is working to support are: Shot@LifeGirl Up, and Nothing But Nets. All three do AMAZING work so you should definitely consider dedicating your miles to them- check out their sites to learn more.

February is the month of love so why not spread that love and help out those in need? If you’re working out already and clocking in the miles, what reason do you have NOT to support a good cause while supporting your healthy habits? You don’t need to swipe your debit card, search for change in the bottom of your bag, or open your wallet at all. Just download the app and move those feet!

Before I get to utilizing the app for the first time, I needed to fuel up with breakfast. Usually my sweet tooth reigns supreme at breakfast and I go for oatmeal, greek yogurt, healthified pancakes, fresh fruit, etc. BUT this morning I switched things up on my taste buds.

I turned leftovers into a Mexican inspired egg scramble.

P1000400

In a large pan over medium-high heat, I threw in a cup of spaghetti squash, 1/2 cup of black beans, and some grape tomatoes that I was too lazy to slice up. If you don’t have leftover spaghetti squash in your fridge like I did, you could just as easily use zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, etc. I sprinkled this veggie/bean mix with some garlic, cumin, oregano, and salt.

P1000403

I then added in some spinach because I like to add in this super food when I can. I consider spinach to be a “zero calorie” food because you can add SO much of it, do your body so much good, and for like barely any calories at all.

P1000405

After heating all the veggies and wilting the spinach (about 8 minutes), I pushed the veggies/beans to the side of the pan and added two whisked eggs. I scrambled them on the other half of the pan and then combined them with the veggies/beans. You can pour the eggs on top of everything, but you’ll get less chunks of scrambled egg and more veggies coated in cooked egg. I prefer chunks of scrambled.

P1000404

The final bowl was topped with 1/3 of an avocado and a spoonful of salsa. Yum! Are you surprised I didn’t immediately put Sriracha all over this bowl? Me too. Oh but no worries because….

P1000406

Sriracha is always lurking! (I had a good laugh staging this photo this morning… the things I do alone in my kitchen) Somehow it found a way into my bowl… hmm that’s weird. Don’t know how that happened.

It’s always nice to not only use up leftovers (I hate wasting food) but also to break away from the usual routine. I hope you all have wonderful Saturdays. After the food settles in my belly a littlle bit more, I’m hitting up my lil apartment gym for a quick circuit routine. And then later I am more than excited to go to The Hamilton with Will for my second 2013 Restaurant Week experience! Eeeee!

Keep it wicked healthy xoxo

One thought on “Charity Miles App & Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

