Thursday Treasures

Most of you know this by now, but Thursday is a good day for me. Never working on Fridays seriously has its perks. During the week my early wake up call is sometimes quite alarming, but come Friday, I am so thankful for the 7-5 workdays that I do Mon-Thurs.

As part of my blog revitalization quest, I’ve decided to do a post every Thursday dubbed: Thursday Treasures. The only alliteration I used to be concerned with regarding Thursdays in my college days was “thirsty” (I’m only slightly joking here). With full time employment, Thursdays have become the end of my week and the time to usher in the weekend. I usually find myself on Thursdays in high spirits and feelin’ good vibes about the upcoming days off from work. Every Thursday from now on I’ll discuss with you ten things that I loved about the week or that I’m looking forward to in the weekend as a way to end my work week in a positive way. These favorites will be little things, big things, food related, friends related, exercise related, and all the items in between.

So without further ado, I bring you the first in a series of many, my Thursday Treasures:

1. Lunch time workouts

Today and on Tuesday I was able to pull off making it to a 45-minute workout class in the middle of the day. It’s a little weird leaving work to workout and then coming back (and being a sweaty/slightly gross human being) to work, but the pros make it so worth it. I would never do a lunch time workout if it was going to impact my work performance that day in a negative way, but on the days I can make it work, I’m really digging this option.

Not only do I go home at 5pm and have so much more free time because I don’t have to go to the gym, but I feel so much more energized for the rest of the day at work. I also think I sleep better because I don’t rev my body up late at night. Plus, our bodies like unexpected changes when it comes to working out. I was so sore after Tuesday’s class… damn tricep dips were a killer.

The class I’ve been taking is called “Cardio and Tone.” It really is my favorite way to workout- combining strength and cardio. It’s why I love bootcamp classes so much.

To prepare for lunch time workouts, I plan on wearing loose clothing that day to work or things that breathe well so that when I come back to work after the gym, I don’t have to pull on tights or a sweater over my sweaty self. I bring a couple of beauty products like eyeliner, Q-Tips, deodorant, and body spray to pull myself together as well. I also pack my snack to eat an hour before the class in the late morning (usually an apple and some PB) and my lunch for post-workout when I’m ravenous.

P1000219

I’ve just been eating my lunch at my desk. My lunch today was shrimp and a wholly guacamole packet in a flatout wrap, blueberries mixed in a greek yogurt, and one of my veggie snack packs that I prep on Sundays.

2. Making the time to cook

Last Friday I told you all how excited I was to pay more attention to actually putting some love into my food this past week. It was really nice- especially on those days I did lunch time workouts- to come home and take the time to try new recipes and prepare dinner (instead of my usual quick method of throwing things together). Meal planning and lunch time workouts allowed me to finally try coconut-ginger carrots!

I already have plans for this weekend and upcoming week to again, make the time to try new recipes. It was a part of my 2012 Bucket List to try 3 new recipes a week and I definitely fell off that horse. I’m a lady of routine and I get stuck in food ruts. BUT this upcoming week is looking like a good one. I’m going to try:

3. Nails Being Painted

P1000218

Last night as a way to de-stress I painted my nails with the polish I got Tuesday from Ipsy. I had to do like a million coats because of the nude color but it was worth it. I absolutely love having my nails painted. It’s one of those small things that just makes me feel so much better and so much more lady like.

4. Long Weekend and Everyone Visiting

We got out of work early because of some snow warnings so my long MLK Day weekend began at 2pm today! So great- so much time off. I didn’t know what to do with myself when I first got home… I even found myself reading this beautiful Martha Stewart magazine. P1000222

I love Martha, but I don’t pay for this to be delivered to my apartment. The person who lived here before Will and I never changed her address on her subscription- I believe this belongs to her. Whoops.

More about this weekend- there are a lot of people visiting D.C. to take advantage of inauguration activities so I’m amped to get to see some long lost friends! It’ll be great to catch up. I’ve been so busy this week and haven’t really even seen my fellow D.C. friends. Even though I’m not going to the inauguration, D.C. will be a fun place to be this weekend because of the inaugural frenzy.

5. The New England Patriots

D.C. will probably NAHT be a fun place on Sunday for a Patriots fan, however, because of the Ravens vs. Pats game. There are definitely some serious Ravens fans around here. Thus, to escape the potential annoying Ravens crowd, Will and I have plans to spend the day in Old Town Alexandria and then watch the game/hangout at a hardcore Patriots bar that’s there on the main strip. I’m excited to eat some game day food and be with my people. People have been telling me that things get a little rowdy there during games and to be careful… I’ve been telling those people in response- perfect. That’s exactly what I want.

6. My R.D. appointment

FINALLY at long last, my first ever appointment with a registered dietitian is tomorrow. I have been wanting this for a long time and can’t wait to finally talk to someone about how I’m taking care of myself. Having professional advice on my eating habits and how they should change in the future is going to be invaluable to me.

7. Smoked Salmon

This has definitely been the star ingredient of my week. I cannot get enough of it. It was amazing in a frittata that I made a few days ago and it’s been amazing to have on hand for salads. The combination of smoked salmon and avocado for me is just one to kill for. Yum.

8. Silver Lining’s Playbook

Another perk of my lunch time workouts was me having the time to meet Will for a movie date on Tuesday. We’ve both been wanting to see Silver Lining’s Playbook so we took advantage of my free time and checked it out. The movie was humorous but more importantly, it was so interesting in how it handled mental illness. I definitely can say that I’ve seen no movie like it. It wasn’t what I expected- but it definitely made me cry at one point and any movie that rattles an emotional response from me is a keeper.

Now that we’re in award season and all these movies and celebrities are getting nominated for various things, it was also nice to see this film because of how frequently I’ve seen it on different nominee lists. Most importantly, an Academy Award nomination for Best Picture. Maybe someday I’ll fulfill one of my goals of seeing every movie nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. Someday.

9. NBC Comedy Block

Tonight post dinner is going to be one of ultimate relaxation. I rarely spend the time to just sit and watch TV. I’m always getting up, finding stuff to do, cleaning, cooking, planning, etc. The NBC comedy block, however, gives me the time to relax and just watch TV. Tonight there is two solid hours of new material for me to laugh at- 30 Rock, Parks and Rec, The Office, and 1600 Penn. 1600 Penn is a new one for NBC and I’m trying it out currently. So far I like it- not obsessed or anything- but it’s good.

Screen shot 2013-01-17 at 5.45.29 PM

Laughter is the best medicine and after a long stressful week, these two hours of quality programming will be much needed.

10. Julianne Hough and the Kind Campaign

Earlier today, actress and artist Julianne Hough tweeted this picture and brought my attention to the Kind Campaign:

Screen shot 2013-01-17 at 5.24.04 PMI was moved by this image and the words it shares. I think it’s all a part of a really significant message that I wish I could embrace more and that every girl out there could hold on to. I was told by my counselor a few weeks ago to remember to “be kind to myself” and I couldn’t help but connect this to that thought. Loving yourself and giving yourself the love you deserve not only benefits you as an individual, but it gives you a greater appreciation for every other girl out there.

The Kind Campaign has as their mission statement:

Kind Campaign is an internationally recognized movement, documentary and school program based upon the powerful belief in KINDness that brings awareness and healing to the negative and lasting effects of girl-against-girl “crime.”

The phrase girl-against-girl crime reminds me of the scene in Mean Girls where Ms. Norbury asks the Junior girls to raise their hand if they’ve ever had a girl say something bad about them behind their back- and then to raise their hand if they’ve ever said anything bad about friend behind their back (pretty much everyone raises their hand). She brings their attention to the persistant girl-on-girl crime. In fact, that’s one of the main themes of the movie. A really really really great movie I must add.

But I’m getting off track. I’m a big fan of campaigns that don’t seek perfection, but are just trying to make a difference in the happiness and well being of others. The Kind Campaign states:

Look, we know it’s hard to be a girl sometimes. We aren’t asking for everyone to become best friends…that’s simply unrealistic. However, we are suggesting something very simple: to STOP the competition, STOP the cattiness, STOP the hate, and to BE KIND.

Be sure to check out their website to learn more if you’re curious in the work they do to affect body image and female bullying.

And that concludes my first ever Thursday Treasures roundup! Hopefully you guys like this concept… please share with me your thoughts.

I think I’m done talking typing now. Fellow DC-ers, stay warm and dry tonight! And everyone reading my blog- have fabulous Friday’s tomorrow! Wish me luck at my R.D. appointment. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on my life this weekend as much as I can. With lots of plans with friends, football watching, and inaugural celebrating though- I can’t make any promises 😉

Thursday Trivia: Ronald Reagan was inaugurated on the coldest recorded temperature in inauguration history- 7 degrees fahrenheit at noon in 1985! Not only that, Reagan was inaugurated on the warmest recorded temperature in inauguration history- 55 degrees fahrenheit at noon in 1981. I learned this from my local newscasters on NBC Washington. 

4 thoughts on “Thursday Treasures

  1. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  2. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

