Very New England Sunday

I guess I just shouldn’t rely on the weather- ever- because I was totally expecting some sunshine and warm temps yesterday when I woke up. Instead I opened my eyes to some intense fog and relatively chilly weather. Sigh.

The weather was very reminiscent of a coastal England or New England town on a rainy day. I don’t know why, but whenever its rainy, foggy, and cold, I’m reminded of the ocean- salty air, being by the sea, a stormy coast… maybe I’ve just watched The Perfect Storm too many times.

P1000168Breakfast definitely turned my mood around (the lame weather made me grumpy- I just want to feel some sun on my skin- is that too much to ask?! apparently…). I had an almost empty jar of crunchy almond butter. Perfect for filling with something yummy!
P1000164

Sometimes I’ll use these jars for overnight oats but I didn’t prep them the night before and was feeling something warm anyway so I filled the jar with a sweet scramble.P1000166

And a side of blueberries 🙂 So glad they were on sale this past week.P1000167

The reason why either warm oatmeal or a sweet scramble are amazing in one of these jars? The nut butter gets all schmelty and delicious.You are able to get every last bit of that nut butter out of the jar. The stuff is mildly expensive so I always feel good about not wasting a bite of it!

Will and I had planned on a long walk by the Potomac that would include a picnic. Well. This was when we thought the weather was going to be nicer. We didn’t let the bummer weather stop us though and we set out to explore the palisades of Northwest D.C. aka the trails and neighborhoods around the Potomac 

P1000175

We hit a new record for us… 9.3 miles in total we walked on Sunday! Our feet were feeling it when we got home later that day. As were our bones… the dampness of the weather just felt like it soaked all the way through us. You might be able to tell from the pictures that the conditions outdoors were a little creepy and less than ideal for walking around.P1000176The walk was enjoyable nonetheless and we were able to explore areas of the city that we didn’t even know existed (which is always sort of our goal). Plus it felt good to be by the water. It’s not home or the South Shore of Massachusetts, but getting back to a more rural environment by the water will always give me that New England feel. I lived near the ocean my whole life and there is water in the form of lakes and ponds and bogs all over my town so I always appreciate a reprise of that familiar setting.P1000178Will said that the scenery, the weather, and the eeriness of it all reminded him of a Stephen King novel.P1000179I agreed but tried not to think too much further on that as scary things and thrillers are no bueno for me. It’s really easy for me to psych myself out and be a huge scaredy cat.P1000180

For lunch we discovered a place that we can’t even believe we haven’t been before- Jetties. It’s this awesome sandwich, salad, and ice cream joint that has a few locations in the area. Let me just say… I wish there was one closer to my apartment.

P1000169

It’s all Nantucket and New England themed inside! It was wicked crowded almost the whole time we were there- apparently its a popular place. I’m so happy to be in the know now. I was a little overwhelmed by the menu choices and the people and trying to make a decision on what to get- but overall it was an awesome experience. I can’t wait to go again.P1000170

Extra bonus? The kid in the Ortiz jersey that you can see in the bottom corner of the picture above. He was sitting behind me 🙂 He knows whats up.P1000171

My favorite deli sandwich is roast beef so that’s what I ordered! Sometimes when my friends and I at home would go to the beach in high school, afterwards we would get deli sandwiches from this place around the corner from the beach we went to. I would ALWAYS get a roast beef and tomato sandwich. So again, I was feeling a lot of Massachusetts nostaglia/love.

It was such a good sandwich- I was sad as it disappeared… I wanted it to continue forever.

When you walk in to Jetties you fill out a sandwich or salad order form and drop it off at the counter. They call your name when it’s ready. Check out my winning combo below:

Multigrain bread, roast beef, havarti cheese, lettuce, tomato, red onion, and avocado.
2013-01-13 13.27.38

Oh Atlantic Ocean, how I miss thee…
P1000172

While I was happy to go on such a long walk with Will, it was the best feeling ever to get home around 4, take a hot shower, put on pajamas, and sit down for the PATRIOTS GAME. I can say that with even greater enthusiasm now in hindsight because they WON. I was so ridiculously happy (/still am ridiculously happy about it). They’ll face the Ravens next week and it’s going to be such a good game. I can’t wait. I already have plans in the works to watch the game at this bar in Old Town Alexandria full of hardcore Pats fans.

The one thing I did have to get up for during the game was dinner making. I used inspiration from Tina’s Sausage, Spinach, and Provolone pizza to make mini pizza’s on sandwich thins.

First, I preheated my oven to 350 degrees and then prepared two sandwich thins open faced on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. I just drizzled a little olive oil on these bad boys and threw some garlic on there. When the oven was heated up, I put them in for about five minutes so that they could get nice and crispy.

P1000181

While they were crisping up, I sauteed some sliced sausage and a couple handfuls of spinach in a little bit of olive oil (seasoned with basil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper).P1000182

When the sausage was cooked and the spinach was wilted down, I divided the mixture in half and chopped up the sausage a little more. Half for Will’s pizzas and half for mine.
P1000183

I put about a tbl. of crushed tomatoes on each sandwich thin and then added the sausage/spinach mixture on top of that.P1000184

Because Will likes a little more cheese than I do, I put a slice of provolone over both his pizzas. I split one slice of provolone over both of mine- I love cheese but just not a lot of it at once.P1000185

I put these back in the oven at 350 degrees for about five more minutes. I then turned the oven to broil and kept them in for about three minutes longer.P1000186

Finished! The crusts were actually perfect- I was so impressed. They were wicked crispy and didn’t fall apart at all. I didn’t need a fork or knife to eat these mini pizzas.P1000187

Our pizzas were eaten alongside a little rainbow chard/pear/goat cheese/lemon juice salad. Dinner was accompanied by the fourth quarter of the Patriots vs. Texans game.P1000188

After a great Patriots win- I didn’t have much time to celebrate as the Golden Globes were on! Hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler never cease to amaze me- they are hilarious and classy and just rock my world. The highlight of the show for me though was definitely seeing Ben Affleck win Best Director and Argo win overall for Best Picture! Love my Boston boy, Ben. I absolutely LOVED the movie Argo and I absolutely love Ben. Hopefully his wins numb the Academy Award snubs he experienced. Another win I was wicked happy about was HBO and Lena Dunham’s Girls winning best television series: drama/comedy! So impressive and so great.

I stayed up past my bedtime to finish watching the Globes so I was kind of in a sleepy daze all day today at work. Worth it? Yes. But on that note, I’m one tired kid.

Sleep sleep sleep xoxo

2 thoughts on “Very New England Sunday

  1. Ahhh I can’t believe you never went to Jettie’s or Surfside OR Something Sweet!! They’re all owned by the same group. You can get Jettie’s sandwiches at Something Sweet which is right on Macomb (walking distance from the Berks) and at Surfside on Wisconsin in Glover Park it’s REALLY good tex mex!! So glad you discovered this gem, they’re amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

