First Weekend Eats

This is the first weekend in a long time where I’ve had to actually wear my sunglasses every day. It’s been so sunny here in the District and I’m naht complaining. I had grown accustomed to cloudy, rainy, foggy weekends. Thanks for the change of pace, DC! Must be a 2013 thang.

The weather is definitely reflective of my mood this first weekend of 2013. It was an all around relaxing one… full of good food of course.

P1000058

Friday night I used up some of the rainbow chard I purchased to make a side salad. I couldn’t get over how pretty the chard is. Brightly colored food is so fun.P1000059

I read some tips on how to cut swiss chard and decided on a “chard ribbons” method. You basically cut the leaves off the thick stem in the middle, stack the leaves on top of each other, and roll them together horizontally as show below.P1000060

While holding the rolled chard together, you then slice with a knife like so…
P1000061

Now. I apologize for a lack of further pictures of this process as my camera died during the process. I saw that it was dying and it was a race against the clock to get as many pictures as possible. You should have seen me- I was freaking out a little bit.

SO you’ll have to take my word for it that this “chard ribbon” technique produced cut chard perfect for a salad.

2013-01-04 18.43.44

My phone camera just doesn’t do the rainbow chard ribbon salad justice but it did it’s best. I was bummed my camera died because I made such a good dinner too.

Alongside the yummy rainbow chard salad (chard, cucumbers, grape tomatoes, onion, and green peppers), I made Raviolis Covered in a Sausage and Brussel Sprouts SauceI don’t know what the original recipe necessarily was as it was something I saw when I was home in my Mom’s Cooking Light magazine- but I think I got the main ingredients the original recipe called for. I just made it up as I went along.

The bare bones of what I cooked was first a “sauce” of sliced brussel sprouts, sliced chicken sausage, garlic, olive oil, and chicken broth (seasoned with some sage, thyme, salt, pepper, and garlic salt). I then poured this over some cooked up spinach and cheese whole wheat raviolis.

2013-01-04 19.25.23

Again. I am so sad my camera died and this was the only picture my camera could muster. BUT I charged my camera overnight and pictures of breakfast on Saturday morning definitely make up for what Friday night’s dinner lacked…

P1000062

I was going to go to bootcamp at 10am, but after a night of solid sleep, I woke up pretty early and wanted to run. So I went out bright and early and ran a little over 3 miles and then did a mini-circuit of 20 squats, 20 cruches, and 20 bird dogs (repeated three times). Plus I did some plank holds.

By 9am I was back in my apartment and ready for FOOD.

P1000063

I scrambled eggs with zucchini and grape tomatoes. This was then topped with some avocado. And served alongside a lovely little fruit plate of clementine wedges and blueberries.P1000064

Of course sriracha found it’s way into my eggs somehow…P1000065

Later that day for lunch I had a cooked sweet potato to use up in the fridge and decided to use the masher my sister got me for Christmas! Thanks again, Jess 🙂 New kitchen equipment is always weirdly exciting.P1000066

I also used the steaming pot my grandmother got me a little while back to cook up some carrots, peas, and brussel sprouts. I ended up mixing up the mashed sweet potato, the veggies, and some leftover chicken breast. It was random and just a bunch of leftovers really but reminded me of shepherds pie in a way.P1000067

Dinner Saturday night was at “The Little Fountain Cafe” which is like a ten minute walk from Will and I’s apartment. For Christmas, Will’s Mom got me a gift certificate to this place! Good thing too because I probably would have never even walked in the door of this place. It’s kind of hidden and it’s in between a bunch of other restaurants.

20130105_201118

When I read reviews online, I was told this place was wicked romantic, cozy, quaint, and delicious. Romantic? Check. Cozy? Check. Quaint? Check. There were only about thirty tables in the place, the lighting was dim, and the overall atmosphere was very warm.20130105_191224

Delicious? Check. I ordered one of their specials- a buffalo steak with a red wine/mushroom sauce. Plus broccoli and asparagus on the side. Oh my word. This was the greatest steak I’ve had in AGES. It was cooked perfectly and just tasted absolutely amazing. I licked my plate clean basically.20130105_193211

We also ordered a dessert to share- but being a fail blogger, I forgot to snap a pic! Damn! But it was a dulche de leche tart with caramelized pineapple and this coconut glaze sauce on the side. Yes, it was awesome.20130105_190415

Gotta love date night 🙂 We always feel so grown up getting dressed up and going to semi-fancy restarurants. But then we show our age by taking camera pics everywhere we go 😉

Shoutout to Will’s Mom for introducing us to The Little Fountain Cafe. We’re already trying to figure out when we can go again!
20130105_191217

After dinner we met up with some friends at a place with a MASSIVE beer selection- Churchkey. Our friend Andrew celebrated a birthday recently so he had an impromptu meetup on Saturday night for friends. Always a good time.

20130105_211620

I stole this picture from my friend Katherine (in the brown leather jacket). WELL actually she shared it with Will… they both have those phones that you can touch to each other and share a picture instantly (you know, technology magic) and they both used the feature for the first time last night! Technology is crazy.196847_10152393119555125_253510886_n

This morning was welcomed with a wonderful bowl of oatmeal. I am always amazed when I finish off a jar of a certain spice. Although, with the amount of cinnamon I consume, I really shouldn’t be surprised.

It’s such a good super spice to add to your foods! 1 tsp contains just as many antioxidants as a serving of blueberries! Well… I heard that somewhere anyway. The point is- love cinnamon- it’s good for you.P1000068

Kath would be so proud of this bowl of oatmeal. It was beautiful. In the mix was Kath’s recipe for whipped banana oatmeal which was then topped with 1/2 a banana sliced up, some blackberries, a scoop of sunflower seed butter, and a little bit of my grandmother’s granola.P1000071

Hello, lovely. P1000072The sunflower seed butter I used today is a brand I’ve never had before! They didn’t have the Sunbutter version that I prefer so Will encouraged me to branch out and try this brand.. mainly because the raccoon is just so CUTE. I loved seeing him this morning.
P1000069

The story behind him being the mascot was also adorable! Who doesn’t love a tale of orphaned baby animals lovin’ on nut butters?

P1000070

Breakfast was followed by an intense food prep session in the kitchen. CHOP ALL OF THE KALE. I de-stemmed my bunches of kale and chopped it into more manageable pieces for salads this week. P1000074

I also salted some eggplant (gotta do it to remove that bitter aftertaste!), cubed it, and roasted it alongside some sliced up carrots.P1000075

Check out that fridge! Chopped cucumbers, peppers, broccoli, rainbow chard, kale, and cauliflower. Plus cooked and portioned out ground turkey and chicken for the week and roasted eggplant and carrots.P1000079

And of course some snack packs of sliced up veggies for easy access. AND all the other goodies in my fridge. Read: grapes, wholly guacamole packets, provolone cheese, greek yogurts, my new sunflower seed butter, blackberries, and all that jazz!P1000080

Eatin’ healthy never looked so good. Usually I try and get all this done in two hours- but I was able to get it done in an hour and a half today! Powered through, man. Better than that- I didn’t chip any of my nail polish or cut any of my fingers! That usually happens… I’m sloppy.

But by the time I was done I was feeling a little stir crazy. Will and I went on a nice six mile walk around the city. We are forever city climbers. With each walk we still discover so much of this place that we never even knew existed.

Both of us are pretty tired from said walk, however, and are now spending some quality time with our television. I can’t decide whether or not I want the Redskins to win the game today. I know I’m technically living in D.C. so I should at least support them, right? Except for of course when they play the Patriots. Duh. I guess I hope they win- they have a really dedicated fan base. REGARDLESS- I’m a New England Patriots girl all the way, baby. Texans- you’re going dowwwwwn.

I think that post dinner Will and I are going to attempt to watch Rachel vs. Guy Celebrity Cook Off show on Food Network. Mainly because it’s going to be absolutely ABSURD and make us laugh a lot.

Screen shot 2013-01-06 at 6.10.36 PMC’mon- Guy AND Rachel in ONE SHOW. Plus all the insane celebrities like Gilbert Gottfried and Chilli of TLC fame?! It’ll be a good time I’m sure.

Okay. I gotta go start cooking dinner. Dinner tonight is a shared projected- Will’s tackling the protein and I’m on veggie duty. I’ll be sure to share our eats another time 😉

I’m send everyone good vibes for this upcoming week. Don’t let the magic of your 2013 resolutions or new promises to yourself wear off- keep all the positive changes you’re making in your life strong. Keep on keepin’ on, readers.

Enjoy the last moments of your weekend xoxo

Leave a Reply

