Om Nashi Me

I couldn’t think of a title for this post, so I just used the current song I’m listening to- Om Nashi Me by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. If you haven’t heard it before…

But anyway- I don’t have too much time but I do have a lot of pictures so let’s get to looking at the things that I really liked about yesterday and today. Well first actually– let me state the three things I did naht like (because life isn’t perfect)

  1. The spider that came crawling out of the grapes I bought today
  2. The wind (IT’S TOO COLD)
  3. The fact that Will is sick ūüė¶

Luckily- the past two days thus far have been filled with lots of positives and enjoyable moments so let’s check those out shall we?

2013-01-03 12.27.39

Yesterday’s lunch was awesome. I heated up a black bean burger, chopped it up, and served it over an avocado, spinach mix, carrots, peppers, onions, eggplant, mushroom, and tomato filled salad. I topped the whole salad with some salsa, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper.

Big ass salads have to be one of my favorite things in life.2013-01-03 12.29.29

All the colors make me happy.

2013-01-03 17.16.23

Yesterday I got to rock the cardigan my sister Jess got me for Christmas (thanks again homie). Wearing new clothes for the first time always makes any day better. 

P1000038

Dinner last night post bootcamp workout was two pans full of deliciousness. The first is a recipe I discovered a few weeks back and blogged about–¬†Lemon-Glazed Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Bananas. The original recipe is from Tina of Carrots N Cake.

P1000039

The other pan was just some sliced chicken sausage, red pepper slices, mushrooms, and snow peas all cooked up in some minced garlic.

P1000040

It was all so delicious and filling.

P1000043Ending the day with a good, warm dinner filled with foods I love is the way to go.

Then, before bed, I made up my breakfast to eat this morning on to go (post gym date with Nick and pre counseling appointment). While sad to see another jar of sunbutter go, I was amped to use it for breakfast today.

P1000046

I filled the jar with 1 tbl. of chia seeds, 1 6oz. container of plain 0% fat chobani, 1/2 a banana, and 1/4 cup of my grandmother’s granola. I also splashed some unsweetened vanilla almond milk into the mix. And of course the, sunbutter remnants were abound.

P1000045

It tasted delicious- alongside this tea I picked up at Au Bon Pain.

2013-01-04 08.08.04Nick pointed out to me a new addition to the block my gym is on…

2013-01-04 08.04.58

AHHHHH! THIS GIRL loves her Dunkin so I am so excited for this to open. It’s going to be so clutch having it nearby the gym. Nick and I usually go to Au Bon Pain after the gym on Fridays butttt I have a feeling this is going to change as soon as this Dunkin opens.

2013-01-04 10.14.03

On my way back from my counseling appointment, I took a little walk and decided to call my Mom. Right before I dialed the phone, I saw this fun advertisement. Can YOU do it?!

2013-01-04 12.23.12

After calling my Mom and continued my walk, I spotted these chubby brown birds. They’re all over the city and I find them to be so adorable/hilarious for some reason. SO they made me smile ūüôā The smile was needed as the wind was making me very unhappy to be outside.

2013-01-04 12.44.16

I then parked it in a Starbucks and did some reading for a while to pass the time before lunch.¬†I’ve been making a bigger point to find the time to read lately and find it’s made me a much happier girl.

2013-01-04 13.28.07

Then the highlight of today was lunch with my friends Jess, Alli, and Nick. We hit up Sweetgreen and I tried their new January salad! And OMG this salad was DEFINITELY heaven in a bowl!¬†Smoked salmon, kale/mesclun, carrots, red onion, avocado, raw seed mix, and lentils all topped with a miso sesame ginger vinaigrette.¬†Holy moly. No words. Except for I’ll be eating this salad frequently all throughout January.

2013-01-04 15.00.08

After lunch we did a little accessory shopping and I swear- I didn’t do too much damage.¬†My¬†friend Alli and I did buy the same bracelet! We both love it. Now we not only share the same name, but this piece of “friendship jewelry.”

2013-01-04 15.04.05

I felt a little guilty for buying new¬†jewelry¬†as I also purchased a new outfit earlier today. I forgot to mention that also happened along my walk this morning… you know, after the chubby brown birds made me smile. Shop-a-holic. Guilty as charged.

BUT to be fair, the two pairs of jeans I own are too big (yeah I only own two pairs of jeans) and I do need to slowly build my wardrobe up. So the jeans are very practical, the purple sweatshirt and green t-shirt weren’t necessary… but they will keep me warm and add some variety in color to my closet. Which I¬†desperately¬†need.

P1000048

Grocery shopping was a big highlight of the day as well- mainly because I branched out and bought some things I normally don’t! Like these Flatout wraps that I’ve been meaning to try! I’ve noticed lately that for lunch I’ve been eating a lot of salads, so to switch things up I bought these bad boys to make some fun wraps. I love salads- but I need a better balance in life.
P1000049

I’m definitely looking forward to melting some provolone in the wraps and stuffing in some greens, chicken, avocado, and other veggies. I’m already drooling at the thought of it. I’ll keep ya updated on how that goes ūüėČ

P1000051

Blackberries were buy one get one free- score!P1000052

This has to be one of the purchases I’m most excited about. I love guac. Especially when it’s¬†conveniently¬†packaged and easy for me to consume during the week.¬†P1000053LOOK AT ALL THAT GREENERY! You can see kale, rainbow chard, green peppers, brussels, cucumbers, cauliflower, and spinach. I have a feeling my eyes were bigger than my stomach on this grocery shopping trip… let’s see how much of this I can actually consume. It’s going to be a good challenge for the week that’s for sure.P1000054

The rainbow chard is something I’ve never bought before! But it’s so pretty and colorful. I think I’m going to use some of it in a side salad tonight- but recommendations on how to eat the rest of it are appreciated!P1000055

And my final favorite purchase was red grapes. Instead of getting apples this week- I picked up grapes. I love crunchy red grapes. P1000056

The sunset tonight was quite beautiful…P1000057

And now I’m cozy inside (getting ready to make dinner) with my new candle and candle holder that I got from my Aunt Nikki and Uncle Jason for Christmas (thank you again). It’s a Yankee Candle scented “Treehouse Memories.” It’s an obscure name, but it smells home-y and comforting. Anything Yankee Candle is lovely.

The rest of the weekend includes lots of relaxing, getting back into the swing of things to get ready for the first real week of the New Year next week, catching up with friends and family, and a dinner date with Will tomorrow night. It’s lookin’ like it’s going to be another solid couple of days.

I hope you all have wonderful weekends! Don’t forget to try and name eight vegetables that start with the letter “B.” Better yet- try and eat some of those veggies this weekend!¬†

Until next time xoxo

7 thoughts on “Om Nashi Me

  1. Broccoli,beans,bean sprouts,Brussel sprouts,beets,butternut squash,broccoli rabe,Boston lettuce. Don’t forget I am the Scategory champion! And I love all of these!!! Talk to you soon!

  2. Pingback: First Weekend Eats | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  3. Pingback: SIR-rotch-ah | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  4. Pingback: Outside the Wrap | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  5. Pingback: Jazz, Gala, Braeburn, and Fuji | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  6. Pingback: Thursday Treasures | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

  7. Pingback: Three Amigas | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

