Beyond Ready

Thursdays always rule. Primarily because they are my Fridays. But this one was extra great. Here’s why:

  1. I woke up to a sweet breakfast scramble with sweet potato (meals with sweet potato and banana are my favorites) and a giant scoop of chunky almond butter.2012-12-20 06.27.58
  2. I also woke up knowing it was Thursday and was so happy to finally reach the end of my work week before Christmas.
  3. And then Dunkin Donuts ice coffee happened.
  4. I experienced my first ever lunch time workout where I discovered how much I hate jump squats (and how awkward it is to put back on work clothes without showering… yikes). But it was a kickass workout nonetheless.
  5. The mega-salad lunch at my desk (look at all those layers!) post workout was the bomb dot com.2012-12-20 13.34.34
  6. Work was busy thus it went by fast (thank God) and everyone was in good spirits.
  7. When work ended, I felt like I could REALLY start celebrating Christmas- I’m officially on vacation!
  8. And it was great knowing I had already gotten in my workout and could just go home (and stay there!) when work ended.
  9. But first, I stopped to purchase a “nut nog” made by a new start-up called Gouter that specializes in hand-crafted raw, vegan, and organic treats and tonic! It tasted just like egg nog- I literally could not believe there was no dairy in the beverage!2012-12-20 17.25.36The ingredients listed were: alkaline water, organic cashews, dates, coconut water, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and sea salt (and love). IT WAS SO GOOD. I actually can’t get over it. Happy Christmas vacation to me indeed.2012-12-20 17.53.44
  10. When I got home, I felt like I had all the time in the world to tackle my final “before leaving for Massachusetts to do list” thus I felt no stress whatsoever.
  11. I felt welcome to just chill, drink my “nut nog” and watch the Festivus episode of Seinfeld.
  12. But I eventually got to packing (which some people hate- but I love) which was accompanied by a cool special on NBC about Christmas at the White House.2012-12-20 19.16.06
  13. I was able to clean out my fridge and my counters- I shall be leaving my kitchen pretty empty (it looks so sad right now) but oh so very clean.
  14. And last but not least, I always feel so much better when my nails are painted.
  15. Oh- and all day I have been reveling in the fact that I go home to see my family tomorrow! YAY! That’s the best thing on this list!

So am I ready to go home? Beyond ready. Besides having everything packed and my mind already in Massachusetts, I’m also beyond ready in other ways.

At my counseling appointment last week, I told my counselor I’d send her my
“holiday game plan” for when I go home (because we won’t be able to meet like we usually do this Friday). She didn’t want me to feel overwhelmed by the holidays, healthy eating, exercising, being home, breaking my routines, being out of my element and around people who eat a lot differently than me etc. etc. So here is a little bit of the highlights of where my head’s at (I’m happy to report that it’s in a great place).

  • If exercise can happen- awesome, ideal, great. But if not- such is life. I’m not going to let it interfere with precious family time. This is the ONE week I get to spend with these people- I can’t let exercise take priority because my family is priority numero uno. I have the rest of the year to workout.
  • When I get home, I’m going grocery shopping with my Mom so that I can pick up a few things like oatmeal, bananas, eggs, whole grain bread, etc. This way I can make my own breakfasts and have some food I’m used to eating on a regular basis.
  • Plus, my Mom has been wicked understanding of the fact that our kitchens run differently and told me to be totally open and honest with how I’m feeling about what we’re eating and whatnot.
  • That being said, I’m planning on eating as much of the same food as possible as everyone else and just making whatever they’re eating work for what I need/want to eat.
  • December is going to be over in less than two weeks. I just want to relax, enjoy the rest of the year, loosen the pressure of stress on my shoulders, and not worry so much.
  • That being said, I would really like to finish one of the books I’ve started in the past couple of months. I would like to take the time to just sit and read and rest.
  • I plan on stepping away from social media as much as possible. I need a real break from being constantly plugged into twitter, facebook, and my email (and I’m sorry readers, but this includes my blog. I will post when I have time occassionally ;))
  • And finally- I’m taking the vow to be kind to myself very seriously. 2012 has been an immense year of change for me. This is the time to celebrate and reflect on it all.

With that last bullet point in mind of being kind to myself and appreciating all the good I do for myself, one of the things I’m looking forward to the most this year is taking pictures! My sister Jess and I love being goons and taking ridiculous amounts of photos together.

Last year, however, with my weight on my mind in a serious way- I hated every picture of myself to be honest. I remember deleting photo after photo on my camera because I just couldn’t take how out of hand I let my weight get. There are hardly any pictures of me from last Christmas because I avoided being in them like the plague. It was a pretty sad time. I was unhappy with how I looked but more importantly, how my weight made me feel. I was not in a good place mentally or physically. Sigh.

Here are a few pictures of me and my sisters from our past two Christmases:

christmas1

My sister Jess is the closest to me in age (now 20). In the photo below, my sister Angie is the one wearing glasses (she’s now 15) and Rachel is the youngest (she’s now 13).

meandsisters

Instead of dwelling on the past though- let’s celebrate now and the future! The holidays are the perfect time to celebrate this new body of mine and the new life I’ve made for myself. So where’s the camera at? TAKE MY PICTURE PLEASE!

These photos are a reminder of how far I’ve come and to be proud of what I have managed to do in a year. I need to give myself more credit and be kind to myself. Hell. I worked my ass off. I rarely admit that- but I worked really damn hard and it was a long journey to where I am right now. It’s so easy to forget all I’ve pushed myself through. My counselor told me that I’m too humble. I’m trying my best to acknowledge all the good I’ve done and that I do for me. I’d give myself a double hi-five right now if I could.

These photos are also a reminder of how much I love and miss my sisters! I GET TO BE WITH THEM TOMORROW. Through thick and thin (literally) they are my best friends and being with them is my favorite thing in the world.

So tomorrow. YES. I’m so so so happy right now. Usually I can’t sleep because I’m worrying but tonight I feel like I won’t be able to sleep because I’m too damn excited!

Cross your fingers for me that none of the crazy weather shenanigans across the country will affect my flight home. I have plans to be with my Mom by noon and would like to keep it that way, thank you very much Mother Nature (and Jet Blue).

Okay. I’m a sleepy girl. It’s time to turn off all my Christmas lights and sleep.

The one thing I’m not ready for? How cold it will be in good old New England xoxo

One thought on “Beyond Ready

  1. Pingback: Riding into March | Wicked Healthy Washingtonian

Leave a Reply

